We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!!”
Review of Quest Manly

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quest Manly
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Manly
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great location!!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at the Quest over the Australia Day weekend. The Quest is in a great location right on the beachfront in the centre of Manly – it doesn’t get any better than that in Manly.

The ferry terminal with all its bars and restaurants are right outside and the shops and supermarkets are just around the corner which is useful if you want to use these as self catering apartments which is what they are really designed for.

Whilst we didn’t cook or eat in, all the facilities were there to do that and it also had a washing machine and dryer which is useful even if you are hotel hopping like we were.

There is an underground car park as part of the complex – if you have a car don’t book a hotel in Manly unless there is a car parking space as parking is limited and costly and it can get very busy and the wardens / rangers are apparently very efficient.

Our room (1 bed appt) was spacious with a bedroom, bathroom, sitting / dining area with a kitchen – everything you would need. There was also a balcony overlooking the beach. The bed was large and comfortable.

W-fi was $20 for 24 hours but it was quite quick. At $398 per night the Quest wasn’t cheap but I would be happy to stay again for the convenience and the facilities.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor at the front and although it was a very busy weekend the glazing was goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magpiesnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_QuestGE, General Manager at Quest Manly, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
It is great to read reviews from all of our guests, but I especially enjoy receiving feedback from Trip Advisor Senior Contributors. Getting a wonderful review from regular reviewers such as yourself is an extra big accolade in my opinion, as we are being judged across a wide range of our peers as opposed to one or two.
So thank you, your kind words mean a lot to my staff and I and we hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    207
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
224
213
29
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I live in Sydney's South so heading to Manly was still a weekend away for me and my girlfriend.

We like the Northern Beaches so it was a good chance to get away, catch up with some friends and still feel like we were on a mini holiday.

I booked the Quest Grande Esplanade which is right by where the ferry terminal is. It's also just a short walk to the main drag where you'll find some great eateries and bars which cater for everyone.

We were very impressed with the Quest itself. Mainly the friendliness of their staff. Nothing was ever a problem for them and we never had to wait for anything. It was as if they prioritised our needs above anything else.

Most places I've stayed in always have some faults in terms of the service they offer but my experience at the Quest Grande Esplanade was second to none.

I'll definitely be coming back there as it's positioned in such a great spot and my girlfriend loves the Manly way of life!

Room Tip: Gotta go for a beach facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_QuestGE, General Manager at Quest Manly, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks very much for your review. It means a great deal to my staff and I to hear your positive comments on our property and our service. We work really hard on providing friendly and efficient service to all of our guests, so we never get tired of being told that we are on the right track.
Hopefully we see you back here for another relaxing break really soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed here recently with my girlfriend. You could not ask for a better location. The hotel is directly opposite the Manly wharf which gives you direct access to the city. Then there is the iconic Manly Beach just a short stroll down the Corso. Manly really has changed over the past few years with many new places to eat or have a glass of wine or beer.

The staff at the hotel are very helpful and the rooms are very clean and comfortable.

I look forward to my next stay at the Quest.

Room Tip: The harbour view rooms are great to wake up in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snusman07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_QuestGE, General Manager at Quest Manly, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your recent review and I am glad you enjoyed your time with us in Manly.
I agree, there are so many world class venues surrounding us in Manly, and it seems there are more popping up every month. Make sure you check with us on your next visit to see if there are any exciting new places for you to check out.
We look forward to welcoming you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Its is not all ba so read on for the good stuff

1. Checked in and confirmed that it was okay to receive post (advised this request was added to the system and will not be an issue) - quest sent important post back to sender which resulted in a massive delay in needing to have post re-sent with the risk of not receiving it (TFN, Medicare etc)
2. When we booked the apartment we where not advised of ongoing building works to the restaurant below which has been like living on a building site and is not likely to be complete for another 2months with the apartment and a number of others located directly above a refurbishment project
3. Building works commenced at 07:30 on a number of occasions when council planning allowance was for an 08:00 start with reception/managment advising there was nothing they could do (they where not prepared to contact the builder, the proposed new proprietary organisation or Manly council to complain about breach of working hours which affected Quest clients/residents)
4. It was not until 2nights before leaving after a 25 night stay that we where offered an alternative room despite notifying them of our inconvenience
5. At $350/night (seasonal rate) for 25 nights Quest where not prepared to to review their nightly rate for all the inconvenience of living on a building site which resulted in us leaving to alternate accommodation when we would of extended our stay by another week

My suggestion is if you want to live on a building site for the next 2months and pay +$300/night then come to Quest apartments

On the positive side and once building works are complete I would recommend Quest as it has:
1. Great location with superb travel links
2. Friendly staff
3. Good facilities
4. Excellent housekeeping

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fjjshsbsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_QuestGE, General Manager at Quest Manly, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Thank you too, for your objective appraisal of how we are going. It seems on the whole in your opinion that we are doing a pretty good job.
With relation to your first point, indeed we let you down and again I apologise. However, as you know on the same day when we received and returned your mail to sender, we contacted the local post office and were told that the batch of mail that contained your letter had been sent already to the distribution centre. The staff member responsible for sending the letter back took it upon herself to track the letter down to the distribution centre and made arrangements to collect it, at which point you informed us not to worry as you had already taken care of the matter. While it is completely fair to say that we erred in not delivering the letter to your room immediately, I also think that it was impressive work from my team in attempting to make the situation right for you.
In relation to your remaining points, there are very few rooms that are affected by the last part of the building works. Unfortunately, when you checked in we were at capacity and due to the last minute nature of your booking we couldn’t place you away from the works. That said as the building site was on a three week hiatus for Christmas, I did not see this as presenting any issue for you. The only time I received any formal complaint from you we immediately offered to move you to an apartment well away from the site, and you refused this offer, as is your right.
As far as I can see, we really tried to make your stay all it could have been, however it is equally clear to me that in your view we didn’t meet your expectations. I am always accessible to all of our guests for any reason whatsoever, so while it would have been great to make you more satisfied while you were still here staying with us, it is never too late. Please reply to me directly at mstanley@questapartments.com.au and we can work together to getting you back here and hopefully enjoying a five star experience across the board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We had to ditch our old hotel to arrive at this at 11pm by a receptionist waiting for us to direct us to our room. Nothing but friendly great service, friendly staff and conveniently placed.
Loved every minute of our stay.
Cheers

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATravelMap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_QuestGE, General Manager at Quest Manly, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your glowing review.
It is great to hear that you had an excellent experience during your recent stay with us. Obviously two essentials of any good hotel is its cleanliness and service. We pride ourselves on both of these factors, so it is great to hear that you were impressed by both.
Thanks again and hopefully we see you back here really soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Great accommodation with a beautiful outlook to Manly Ferry precinct.
Surrounded by quality restaurants, great coffee downstairs and supermarket a short walk away. Even though we were there for business felt like a holiday

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoLevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_QuestGE, General Manager at Quest Manly, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review.
Once you are in Manly it is pretty easy to switch into holiday mode no matter what you are here for. It is a special place.
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Such a nice spot overlooking the harbour and the Corso. We stayed for four nights then went back for a further five. Initially had a studio apartment overlooking the Corso but for the second part of the stay we were upgraded by the manager to a one bedroom apartment after I had requested a conversation with him because of having been placed in a studio immediately above building works to the ground floor shops, where hammer drilling from 9am was a real problem. The building works were beyond the control of the Quest, and should have been completed in the winter season; but, placing us immediately above was insensitive. (The building woks should have finished by now!) The manager's response was helpful and I would recommend the Quest at Manly as somewhere that will respond well to issues raised with them. I have stayed here before and the quality and cleanliness of the apartments can't be faulted and the staff responsiveness is excellent. The Quest is not cheap (but is value for money in Manly terms).

Room Tip: Go for a one bedroom harbour view if you can afford it. Much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jdaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_QuestGE, General Manager at Quest Manly, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review- it was great to see you back at our little property.
You make a lot of good points. The good news is that the disruptive part of the build for the new Crinitis restaurant is done, so we are getting closer to the opening date for this great new venue.
Unfortunately we were at capacity when you stayed with us, so our options were limited in terms of where we could put you initially. That said, hopefully you finished well ahead by the time you checked out!
I will pass on your compliments to my staff and we look forward to seeing you back here next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manly
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Manly
The Sebel Manly Beach
Manly
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Surry Hills
ADGE Apartment Hotel
ADGE Apartment Hotel
#2 of 178 in Sydney
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Manly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Manly

Property: Quest Manly
Address: 54 A West Esplanade, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia (Formerly Quest Grande Esplanade)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly > Manly
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manly
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manly
#1 Best Value Hotel in Manly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Manly 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Manly is ideally located, just a short stroll from the iconic Manly Beach. Directly opposite Manly Wharf, our property gives you the added bonus of being only 15 minutes by Fast Ferry to Sydney's CBD. There are numerous world class restaurants, bars and boutiques on our doorstep. We provide spacious serviced apartment accommodation complete with kitchens, laundry facilities, wireless internet, balconies and most apartments have harbour views. Quest Manly is a luxurious home base for all your Sydney explorations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Manly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Grande Esplanade Manly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing