We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good a shame about the noise and building works”
Review of Quest Manly

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quest Manly
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Manly
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Its is not all ba so read on for the good stuff

1. Checked in and confirmed that it was okay to receive post (advised this request was added to the system and will not be an issue) - quest sent important post back to sender which resulted in a massive delay in needing to have post re-sent with the risk of not receiving it (TFN, Medicare etc)
2. When we booked the apartment we where not advised of ongoing building works to the restaurant below which has been like living on a building site and is not likely to be complete for another 2months with the apartment and a number of others located directly above a refurbishment project
3. Building works commenced at 07:30 on a number of occasions when council planning allowance was for an 08:00 start with reception/managment advising there was nothing they could do (they where not prepared to contact the builder, the proposed new proprietary organisation or Manly council to complain about breach of working hours which affected Quest clients/residents)
4. It was not until 2nights before leaving after a 25 night stay that we where offered an alternative room despite notifying them of our inconvenience
5. At $350/night (seasonal rate) for 25 nights Quest where not prepared to to review their nightly rate for all the inconvenience of living on a building site which resulted in us leaving to alternate accommodation when we would of extended our stay by another week

My suggestion is if you want to live on a building site for the next 2months and pay +$300/night then come to Quest apartments

On the positive side and once building works are complete I would recommend Quest as it has:
1. Great location with superb travel links
2. Friendly staff
3. Good facilities
4. Excellent housekeeping

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fjjshsbsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_QuestGE, General Manager at Quest Manly, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Thank you too, for your objective appraisal of how we are going. It seems on the whole in your opinion that we are doing a pretty good job.
With relation to your first point, indeed we let you down and again I apologise. However, as you know on the same day when we received and returned your mail to sender, we contacted the local post office and were told that the batch of mail that contained your letter had been sent already to the distribution centre. The staff member responsible for sending the letter back took it upon herself to track the letter down to the distribution centre and made arrangements to collect it, at which point you informed us not to worry as you had already taken care of the matter. While it is completely fair to say that we erred in not delivering the letter to your room immediately, I also think that it was impressive work from my team in attempting to make the situation right for you.
In relation to your remaining points, there are very few rooms that are affected by the last part of the building works. Unfortunately, when you checked in we were at capacity and due to the last minute nature of your booking we couldn’t place you away from the works. That said as the building site was on a three week hiatus for Christmas, I did not see this as presenting any issue for you. The only time I received any formal complaint from you we immediately offered to move you to an apartment well away from the site, and you refused this offer, as is your right.
As far as I can see, we really tried to make your stay all it could have been, however it is equally clear to me that in your view we didn’t meet your expectations. I am always accessible to all of our guests for any reason whatsoever, so while it would have been great to make you more satisfied while you were still here staying with us, it is never too late. Please reply to me directly at mstanley@questapartments.com.au and we can work together to getting you back here and hopefully enjoying a five star experience across the board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (764)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

710 - 716 of 764 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We had to ditch our old hotel to arrive at this at 11pm by a receptionist waiting for us to direct us to our room. Nothing but friendly great service, friendly staff and conveniently placed.
Loved every minute of our stay.
Cheers

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATravelMap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_QuestGE, General Manager at Quest Manly, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thanks for your glowing review.
It is great to hear that you had an excellent experience during your recent stay with us. Obviously two essentials of any good hotel is its cleanliness and service. We pride ourselves on both of these factors, so it is great to hear that you were impressed by both.
Thanks again and hopefully we see you back here really soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Great accommodation with a beautiful outlook to Manly Ferry precinct.
Surrounded by quality restaurants, great coffee downstairs and supermarket a short walk away. Even though we were there for business felt like a holiday

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoLevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_QuestGE, General Manager at Quest Manly, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review.
Once you are in Manly it is pretty easy to switch into holiday mode no matter what you are here for. It is a special place.
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you back here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Such a nice spot overlooking the harbour and the Corso. We stayed for four nights then went back for a further five. Initially had a studio apartment overlooking the Corso but for the second part of the stay we were upgraded by the manager to a one bedroom apartment after I had requested a conversation with him because of having been placed in a studio immediately above building works to the ground floor shops, where hammer drilling from 9am was a real problem. The building works were beyond the control of the Quest, and should have been completed in the winter season; but, placing us immediately above was insensitive. (The building woks should have finished by now!) The manager's response was helpful and I would recommend the Quest at Manly as somewhere that will respond well to issues raised with them. I have stayed here before and the quality and cleanliness of the apartments can't be faulted and the staff responsiveness is excellent. The Quest is not cheap (but is value for money in Manly terms).

Room Tip: Go for a one bedroom harbour view if you can afford it. Much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jdaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_QuestGE, General Manager at Quest Manly, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review- it was great to see you back at our little property.
You make a lot of good points. The good news is that the disruptive part of the build for the new Crinitis restaurant is done, so we are getting closer to the opening date for this great new venue.
Unfortunately we were at capacity when you stayed with us, so our options were limited in terms of where we could put you initially. That said, hopefully you finished well ahead by the time you checked out!
I will pass on your compliments to my staff and we look forward to seeing you back here next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Clean rooms, v good location, parking downstairs included, service could do with improvement, little noisy, questionable value but limited supply in Manly. Monopolistic pricing amongst Manly hotels continues. Hotel rooms on lower floors so a tad noisy, not much difference between studios and one bedders.











  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plain_Truth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_QuestGE, General Manager at Quest Manly, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thanks for your review of your recent stay with us. I can see from your many other reviews that you are an experienced traveller, so your feedback is especially valuable.
Manly is a literal "paradise on earth" so with that in mind, hotels with a close proximity to all that Manly has to offer are going to be expensive to run and therefore stay at. But once you are here, you can be drinking at a fabulous bar, eating at an amazing restaurant, scuba diving or snorkelling at world famous sites, surfing, shopping or doing literally hundreds of other things without starting the car or hailing a taxi. In addition to this, we have recently spent close to half a million dollars on our property and our rooms are looking fabulous. So all that said, I would suggest that while staying here is not cheap, the value proposition is high.
We pride ourselves on our service levels. As a boutique property we are afforded a little bit of extra time to spend with all of our guests, so if you feel we have fallen short, or if you have any feedback on how we can improve, please feel free to contact me directly at mstanley@questapartments.com.au .
Otherwise, thank you again for your review and we hope to see you back here very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed at The Quest for a week while working in the local area. Very comfortable and well appointed rooms. Very helpful and welcoming staff. There are quite a number of nearby restaurants and cafes, and the ferry terminal to the city is only across the street. Can't fault The Quest.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripMember073020151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_QuestGE, General Manager at Quest Manly, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thanks very much for your glowing review, it is great to receive feedback to tell us that our hard work is paying off. We are looking forward to welcoming you back here really soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed in a studio apartment overlooking the Corso. Very spacious and comfortable. No bother with any noise. Great location for the ferry. Free underground parking. Very helpful on front desk, Thanks Matt. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_QuestGE, General Manager at Quest Manly, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent review. We are delighted that you enjoyed yourself and we look forward to welcoming you back here very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manly
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Manly
The Sebel Manly Beach
Manly
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manly
Manly Surfside Apartments
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 182 in Sydney
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Manly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Manly

Address: 54 A West Esplanade, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia (Formerly Quest Grande Esplanade)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly > Manly
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manly
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manly
Price Range: $251 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Manly 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Manly is ideally located, just a short stroll from the iconic Manly Beach. Directly opposite Manly Wharf, our property gives you the added bonus of being only 15 minutes by Fast Ferry to Sydney's CBD. There are numerous world class restaurants, bars and boutiques on our doorstep. We provide spacious serviced apartment accommodation complete with kitchens, laundry facilities, wireless internet, balconies and most apartments have harbour views. Quest Manly is a luxurious home base for all your Sydney explorations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quest Manly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Grande Esplanade Manly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing