We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but not cheap.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quest Manly

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quest Manly
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Manly
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
166 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Nice but not cheap.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Clean rooms, v good location, parking downstairs included, service could do with improvement, little noisy, questionable value but limited supply in Manly. Monopolistic pricing amongst Manly hotels continues. Hotel rooms on lower floors so a tad noisy, not much difference between studios and one bedders.











  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Plain_Truth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_QuestGE, General Manager at Quest Manly, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your review of your recent stay with us. I can see from your many other reviews that you are an experienced traveller, so your feedback is especially valuable.
Manly is a literal "paradise on earth" so with that in mind, hotels with a close proximity to all that Manly has to offer are going to be expensive to run and therefore stay at. But once you are here, you can be drinking at a fabulous bar, eating at an amazing restaurant, scuba diving or snorkelling at world famous sites, surfing, shopping or doing literally hundreds of other things without starting the car or hailing a taxi. In addition to this, we have recently spent close to half a million dollars on our property and our rooms are looking fabulous. So all that said, I would suggest that while staying here is not cheap, the value proposition is high.
We pride ourselves on our service levels. As a boutique property we are afforded a little bit of extra time to spend with all of our guests, so if you feel we have fallen short, or if you have any feedback on how we can improve, please feel free to contact me directly at mstanley@questapartments.com.au .
Otherwise, thank you again for your review and we hope to see you back here very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    192
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
198
201
26
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowral, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed at The Quest for a week while working in the local area. Very comfortable and well appointed rooms. Very helpful and welcoming staff. There are quite a number of nearby restaurants and cafes, and the ferry terminal to the city is only across the street. Can't fault The Quest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripMember073020151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_QuestGE, General Manager at Quest Manly, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks very much for your glowing review, it is great to receive feedback to tell us that our hard work is paying off. We are looking forward to welcoming you back here really soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed in a studio apartment overlooking the Corso. Very spacious and comfortable. No bother with any noise. Great location for the ferry. Free underground parking. Very helpful on front desk, Thanks Matt. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_QuestGE, General Manager at Quest Manly, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent review. We are delighted that you enjoyed yourself and we look forward to welcoming you back here very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed the weekend knowing the location was exactly going to suit our needs. It did. Car stayed in the basement security carpark until departure. Walked to ferry, restaurants, the Art Gallery, Manly and Shelley Beaches and to buy breakfast supplies across the road on the pedestrian Corso. Serviced apartment clean and functional. Tip: Request a room facing The Corso as harbour rooms can be noisy with bus terminal below.

Room Tip: Request top floor facing the Corso overlooking council chambers. Quieter and east facing so morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salma56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_QuestGE, Manager at Quest Manly, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent review. You covered a fair bit of ground in your short stay with us- nice work! I love the walk to Shelly Beach this time of year. The scenery is amazing and you never know what you might see over there. In the last little while I have seen Water Dragons, an Echidna and even a large Humpback Whale dropped in to say hi.
You are right, the morning sun in the studios is lovely, but the trade is missing the great harbour views of the one bedroom apartment. I will leave the jury to deliberate on the best choice as I like them both.
Thanks again for taking the time to post a review and we hope to see you back in Manly very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
126 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

As a regular user of this chain we found the size of the apartment to be smaller than other locations but as usual the cleaning was superior to most. Well done.

My big gripe was the noise, not from the buses outside or the traffic, but from my wife, who gave me running update of this noise through the night. When will builders of appartments on main roads use double glazing. PLEASE.

The staff were great and the underbuilding carpark perfect in this busy part of the city.

What a great location. Ferry and buses at the door. And eating heaven everywhere.
The transport and food was so good we did not use our car for three days.

Great gym in building as well.

If only less noise this would be 4 stars.

Yes we will return as we love the walks etc.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank archer66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_QuestGE, General Manager at Quest Manly, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks for taking the time to post your review, I appreciate your feedback.
I am glad to hear that you noticed the hard work of our housekeeping department. The cleanliness of our property is definitely one of the most common compliments we receive.
With regards to the noise issues you experienced, indeed Manly can be a bustling place at times, particularly on a Friday and Saturday night. Many guests who are sensitive to noise tend to prefer to opt for a one bedroom apartment if they are staying over the weekend. An added advantage of staying in this room type is that you get stunning harbour views.
There are so many walks and trails to tackle in Manly- please make sure you drop by the front desk for a chat with me next time you stay so that we can compare notes.
Hopefully we can make sure that next time you stay with us we can get a four or even five star rating from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide,
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

Just completed a long weekend stay here in a one-bedroom apartment overlooking the harbour; and was really impressed.

Stand-out points include room cleanliness and amenities and very good management at front-of-house.

The information inside the room was short and precise. (I can't bear realms of paperwork!).
Completing check-in and out procedures were prompt and efficient.

Outside noise is a problem throughout Manly but it settled down at a reasonable hour (we have a 4 year old in tow).

The parking especially was appreciated- easy to navigate and secure.

Only recommendation: skip the breakfast voucher as we found it didn't match up to what we paid for at the cafe and there are heaps of eateries very close-by.

But over Novotel nearby (where we stayed last year), this is the winner!

Room Tip: Don't be swayed too much by the harbour view rooms- the view is slightly obstructed by tall tree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flo136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_QuestGE, General Manager at Quest Manly, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your time in completing your review- my staff and I are flattered.
Shannon, our executive Housekeeper and his team pride themselves on their work and it is great that you have noticed the results of their dedication. I will certainly pass your compliment on.
I am glad that you were able to utilise our complimentary parking- for guests with cars this aspect really sets us apart from other hotels in Manly.
I agree with you on the breakfast front- the cafe in our building, Alchemy, do a great breakfast- however Manly is a great place and I always encourage our guests to get out there and see as much of it as they can, if time permits.
I will leave comparisons with other hotels in Manly for our guests to make, however, if you believe we win over the Novotel, then that is certainly a feather in our cap!
We are looking forward to welcoming you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at The Quest Grand Esplanade Manly for 3 nights during the Easter School Holidays. We were only able to stay at a one bedroom apartment as the two bedroom apartments were fully booked. However, it also had a sofa bed and it was a spotless and comfortable apartment with a fully equipped kitchen. It also had a washing machine and dryer in a clean bathroom with a bath and overhead shower. This does cause a problem with a very wet bathroom floor after showers despite a plastic shower curtain. The apartment had a harbour view as the hotel is located close to the ferry terminal as opposed to Manly Beach which is several hundred metres walk. This is not a problem as it is a pleasant walk through lots of shops and cafes via the Corso. There are lots of nice cafes and restaurants within or near the ferry terminal such as Hugo's, Manly Pavilion, Bavarian Bier Cafe, Phoenix Yum Cha, etc. Nearby there is Adriano Zumbo chocolates and for great coffee there is Barefoot Trader's Cafe and Three Beans Cafe. There are lots of things to do in Manly with wonderful beaches, shopping at the Corso, bars, cafes and restaurants, Oceanworld Manly and taking the ferry to different parts of Sydney Harbour.
The hotel parking is free and is undercover secure parking which is great. There are limited facilities in the hotel but they do have a small fitness room with cardio machines and some weights machines.
They do not servicing and cleaning on Sundays for the rooms but otherwise it is daily servicing of the rooms. They do not have a restaurant but there are lots of choices nearby. However, two restaurants that were in the ground floor of the same building as the hotel must have ceased trading recently as we saw the empty shop fronts.
Another issue may be the outside noise as it can be noisy outside from passing traffic or noisy passers by.
Overall, the apartment was very clean and comfortable and I would definitely recommend The Quest Grand Esplanade Manly.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jaykay300869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark_QuestGE, General Manager at Quest Manly, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your time in posting this review.
It sounds as though you made the most of your time in Manly- Manly Pavilion, Hugo's and Barefoot Coffee Traders are three of my favourite places to be on a day off. It took me a bit longer than three days to find them though, so well done!
Certainly the location of Manly means there is something always happening and with that comes with a little noise from time to time. If we got rid of all the noise Manly wouldn't be Manly. In any case it is rare that our guests find the atmosphere too much once they are tucked into bed.
I am glad you got to take advantage of our guaranteed free parking. If I have one criticism of this town is that parking is tough to find and it is expensive when you do, so I am glad we are in a position to provide this so our guests don't have to worry about it.
Anyway, thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manly
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Manly
The Sebel Manly Beach
Manly
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manly
Manly Surfside Apartments
Bondi Beach
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Manly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Manly

Property: Quest Manly
Address: 54 A West Esplanade, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia (Formerly Quest Grande Esplanade)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly > Manly
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manly
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Manly 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Manly is ideally located, just a short stroll from the iconic Manly Beach. Directly opposite Manly Wharf, our property gives you the added bonus of being only 15 minutes by Fast Ferry to Sydney's CBD. There are numerous world class restaurants, bars and boutiques on our doorstep. We provide spacious serviced apartment accommodation complete with kitchens, laundry facilities, wireless internet, balconies and most apartments have harbour views. Quest Manly is a luxurious home base for all your Sydney explorations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Quest Manly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Grande Esplanade Manly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing