We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unimpressed by poor standards of service and lack of comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manly Lodge Boutique Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Manly B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 13, 2008

Outwardly seemed OK over the phone but disappointment began soon after arriving.

Lack of a proper reception area was a give away. Only glass partition similar to bank counter to enable transaction exemplifies level of service to expect. Perfunctory and anonymous.

Waited over an hour and a half to see a room and even then it wasn't ready. Staff disorganised and unengaging with lack of atmosphere in place similar to hostel or elderly day care centre. The layout was poor and uncomfortable with bland and featureless corridors. Room was fairly large with balcony overlooking small tarmac carpark and concrete tower blocks - not quite the view of Manly you'd want to see at all or ever..

Bland breakfast with such poor choice that it is no surprise it was included in the price. Mildly amused by the disclaimers on display, for example "All Care, No Responsibility". Whatever that meant should have been replaced with "No Care, No Service, No Hospitality". Absolutely no nice touches on offer that justify the expense of this place.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank speedbelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manlylodge, Manager at Manly Lodge Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2008

Dear potential customers,

I have a simple response to this negative commentary: Please view our website. If you like what you see, then you can be assured that we present ourselves as we are and not differently. We love our customers and the hotel and we do our best to give everyone a great stay at great value. Anyone unhappy with their stay is welcome to approach management and receive a courteous and proper response.

We have also posted many genuine customer reviews on our own web site that I can swear with hand on heart are real and genuine feedback. I do not even know who the person is that wrote this bad review so I can't even say for sure it is a genuine customer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 100 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2008

The Manly Lodge was excellent. Clean, excellent breakfast (complimentary). excellent location, staff polite and supportive, quiet, and priced reasonably for that locale. I felt the management was most interested in making sure that the customer enjoyed their stay and assisted them in every way . Recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to the area.
L Witty

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank wit15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2008

I've stayed in a few places while travelling around Australia, but I can safely say that Manly Lodge has been my favorite so far. It's really handy for the beach and the rest of Manly, and my room was spotless and excellent value for money. Much better than the rest I'd stayed in Manly.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank UkMeltdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2008

Manly Lodge was OK but needed a damn good clean up. There were old TVs in a section of the restaurant. The ladies toilet was not in use as it was full of all manner of junk and when we arrived early and asked if we could store our cases somewhere until our room was ready we were told to put them in the ladies toilet and there was barely room for them. The courtyard was in the same state at the end of our weeks stay as it was when we arrived with cuttings on the floor, half full bags of compost on the floor and a supermarket trolley there. The driveways either side of the lodge were full of junk. This was surprising as we were, on booking in, lectured on the fact that we should respect their linen as it was new and good quality. Breakfast was OK. The sign outside said accommodation and restaurant but there was no evening meal being served. Having said all this the room although small (and we had been told this when booking) was clean and serviced every day and the lodge was full over the Christmas and New Year period. Probably this reflects the lack of accommodation in the Manly area.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SwanseaCinders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2007

This was a disappointment. Rooms are very small and expensive for the price. The bed was incredibly uncomfortable. We were unable to connect to the internet, and the Lodge's desktop was in use when we needed to use it. Had to pay for extras like washing machine, internet and coffee. The rooms were barely cleaned (floor not swept, shower not wiped out) and three times we had to ask for fresh towels. Staff attitudes ranged from efficiency to indifference. Painting work was being done (inside and outside) during our stay but this was neither mentioned beforehand or apologised for during our time there. Uncomfortbale and poor value.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Stogette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Denver, CO
319
Reviewed January 2, 2006

What a disappointment. To quote my husband, "It's a pit." Not only was our room worse than a mediocre hostel, we paid $140AU a night. What a waste of money. The bedspread looked like something from granny's basement, and the bathroom reminded me of a small prison cell. I was afraid I'd end up with bed bugs. It was decently quiet, on one bright side, and located close to the beach. However, it seemed to be run by 20 year-olds in exchange for food. Breakfast, which was included in the price, was supposed to begin serving at 8am. However, at 8:25, the milk delivery was still waiting outside the locked door and there was no one to be seen. Finally, the doors opened at 8:35 and we had toast or wheat-a-bix to choose from. I'd avoid the Manly Lodge if at all possible. In fact, I think Manly Beach itself is overrated. I'm not sure why everyone says to go there. I would've much preferred Bondi with more restaurants and more updated architecture...and certainly more lodging options to choose from.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2004

We had paid for a family suite, in fact our teenage children slept on bunk beds in the dining area and there was no room to unpack. We asked for a bigger room but the place was full!. The entire 'suite' was no bigger than our living room at home. For an extra $20 a night we had stayed in a two bedroon suite at the Esplanade in Fremantle-fantastic!

10  Thank winnie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manly
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Manly
Quest Manly
Quest Manly
#1 of 13 in Manly
761 reviews
Manly
Manly Surfside Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manly
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Manly
The Sebel Manly Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manly Lodge Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manly Lodge Boutique Hotel

Address: 22 Victoria Pde, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia (Formerly Manly Lodge)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly > Manly
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manly
Price Range: $80 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manly Lodge Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Manly Lodge Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manly Hotel Manly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing