We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Friendly and helpful staff”
Review of Manly Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manly Lodge
Ranked #9 of 9 Manly B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 1, 2012

My partner and I wanted a weekend getaway in Manly and were lucky enough to find this little hotel. It has a great location, right around the corner from the beach and walking distance from the ferry connecting with Sydney CBD. We took one of their Deluxe rooms, which had a lovely spa and spacious ensuite. The overall feeling of the room was a bit old, but clean and comfortable. The chaps at reception were friendly and helpful, so the service was pleasing.
I would certainly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a nice hotel with a homely feeling.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 98 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2012

We came here for a few nights, and it was not special. Our room smelt like mould, so we told the receptionist and he told us he couldn't smell anything (impossible). He had a bad attitude and would not give us a different room as it was close to the end of his shift, so he left a note for the next day. Thankfully the next day there was a different receptionist and he was much nicer and gave us a new room. The rooms are tiny, in our first room there was hardly any air flow or light, and also our bed was two singles put together, and one was broken so it was shorter then the other bed. The only great thing about this place was the location! Was perfect! It is what kept us staying here for the few nights.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaitlinJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

These guys have debited my credit card twice for an average stay in October 2011 and still have not refunded it. Every time I call they're in meetings or "away for the day" meanwhile the interest on my CC is going up and up. They don't reply to emails, phone calls, nothing. A total palava. Steer clear unless you fancy paying a lot more than you bargained for!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 19disco82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We booked for 7 nights and left after 3 due to the poor state of accomadation.

The good points: The guys on reception where as helpful as they could be .The location is good for the beach and the Manly Ferry.

The bad points:The airconditioning was broken when we arrived and remianed so,despite promises of getting it fixed.the room was incredibly small with a tiny grimy window which only opened on one side,the heat was unbearable.The bathroom was mouldy and there was mould growing on the back of the curtains.The seating area was a small sofa wedged inbetween the bed and the wall, so you had to put your feet on the bed if you where sat on the sofa.The lights flickered on and off and the light switch in the bathroom often jammed so that you couldnt put the light on.I could go on,but the gist of it is that this place is run down,unclean and feels unsafe.The room charges are excessive for what you get,but even if it was half the price we would never stay here again.

Room Tip: Never take room 6,we didnt see any of the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JULIEIOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Having to book for a group of nine I had a terrible time finding affordable accomadation for a large group that was decent in Manly until I came across Manly Lodge. I booked the family suite 1 for 2 nights and family suite 2 for 1 night over a weekend

The goods:
1. Manly lodge is within short walking distance to the wharf, beach and corso
2. For what you get it is reasonably priced
3. The Family suite 1 is spacious, bathrooms is huge. The ktichen is a decent size too
4. Rooms were clean
5. Allowed us to check in early
6. Staff were helpful
7. Freinds commented how great the place was

The not so good:
1. Received an email confirmation of our arrival and departure date for both rooms. Upon check in the reception had a different set of dates(they had the following day) In the same sentence though they quickly fixed the problem and took us to our room...Not to sure if it would've been as easily fixed if they actually doubled book the room
2.By no means is the exterior/courtyard or hallway a boutique as renovations are clearly in progress but why would you want to walk around the hotel when you have beautiful beaches within a few short steps

Even with a feew minor hiccups I would highly recommend this place. Would definitly stay here again. What a terrific place!!!

Room Tip: Family Suite 1 is awesome for groups!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murphy1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Our son who lives nearby examined this hotel proir to booking and it was OK. However in the intervening period the hotel has changed hands. Upon arrival there is clearly renovation work taking place. And therefore no bar, or breakfast room. Each room has a small kitchen, with the bare minimum of cooking and eating. We were originally given Rm 5, but immediatly noticed that the pipes were very noisy and demanded a move. We were upgraded for that stay. The new room had a dead cochroach on the bathroom floor. The reception closes at 9pm and an arrival later than that costs $25.
We were staying for a total of 9 nights in 3 blocks. They insisted on payment up front for all the periods from day 1. The law in Oz is if you have paid a deposit thats it you have lost it so now we are stuck with it. Then as they had our credit card details they charged for an extra night, when challenged they could not find the paper work ! ! Luckily we could and the charge was refunded. But we originally has an agreemnet that as the hotel have a policy of 2 or more nights attract a reduced rate, we would get the entire 9 nights at that rate. However that never happened each period had the first night at the higher rate.
The duvet covers need a damn good wash on hot. They are stained with oil and god knows what else, despite pointing this out we were given another stained cover.
The location is excellent, but the car parking is on the street, they have a permit, but are reluctent to issue it. It will cost a $100 deposit. And then you have to search for quite time to find a place, which may be in another street. If just visiting Sydney, you do not need car, the ferry is within 200yds and will take you direct to Circular quay. Overall I do not know how this claims to be a boutique hotel. I will not stay there again.

Room Tip: Do not take room 5, check duvet covers immediatly and complain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salsboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

My husband and I spent a week in this hotel at the beginning of June. After checking out several hotels in the Manly area, we decided to spend our time in Manly here. Manly is in serious need of a newer, modern hotel. ALL of the hotels are old, run down and in need of some renovations.

We spent our first few days in the Honeymoon suite which actually quite charming and roomy, which was nice. The rooms are clean and have a full kitchenette, but are defintely a bit outdated. We ended up having to switch rooms half-way through our stay as it started raining heavily one night and the sky light in our room started leaking. There was water all over the bathroom floor and inside the glass cover in the light fixture. The next morning we were moved to a much smaller room on the first floor. This room was crowded and had a musty smell and was definitely just average.

We found the staff at the front desk to be really kind and helpful. This hotel could be quite nice with a little bit of updating and some TLC.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalgarianTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manly hotels
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Manly
The Sebel Manly Beach
Manly
Quest Manly
Quest Manly
#1 of 13 in Manly
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manly
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Manly
Manly Surfside Apartments
Manly
Manly Paradise Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manly Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manly Lodge

Address: 22 Victoria Pde, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly > Manly
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manly
Price Range: $97 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manly Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Manly Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manly Hotel Manly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing