We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute rooms, nice feel and V V close to beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sebel Manly Beach
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Manly
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2007

Having stayed in the Sebel hotel for 3 days last week, and then come back for more, I can say that this place is lovely. The first room we stayed in was on the 3rd floor (343) in the south tower. It was nice and large with a big bed (which was twin pushed together but you wouldn't notice) and great view from the balcony through the buildings to the beach. The bed was great, the view was great and the room was lovely.
The second room (516) (that I am writing this from) is smaller, and faces onto the road at the back, there is a small glimpse of the sea, but not as good as last room. The bed is twin beds pushed together again, unfortunately they are a slightly different size which makes canoodling difficult with the bloke ;-). Avoid this room if you can I just don't like it.
The bathrooms in both were nice and spacious and they also provide conditioner which is a welcome addition and unfortunately not offered in lots of hotels.
Staff are lovely but a little useless with organising stuff (I think reception have to do it all) so I would recommend popping to the pacific and using their conceirge service.

In the middle we stayed at the Manly pacific which my boyfriend preferred, but I would say that the Sebel is nicer if only because of the lovely balconies. The manly pacific is cheaper but I don't like not being able to get outside so make sure you request a room with a balcony and view.

The Sebel is overpriced, but I thought it was slightly nicer and more 'boutiquey' - my BF liked the pacific because the room we had was huge and the beds were larger and more comfortable which makes a difference when you are over 6 ft.

The food in the Sebel is mainly fish and the in room dining is nothing special, but it has a nice bar/eating area where beautiful people hang out. The manly pacific salad (with lebanese cucumbers) was amazing... go to the pacific and try this if you stay at the Sebel.

TIP: beach towels are provided by reception to sign out next to the internet station which is 10usd (which is a cheaper alternative to the one in your room which is 20usd per day!!) If you walk to the library which is just off the corso about 5 mins away the internet is only 1.10usd.
TIP2: take advantage of your jet lag and time difference and get up to the see the sun raise over the hill at the top of shelley beach.

Stayed: February 2007
5  Thank Kelliekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (676)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

652 - 658 of 676 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2007

Having lived in Manly for years and now coming back as a visitor , have always stayed at the Manly Pacific which was the premier hotel for years. Now however, since Sebel picked up this property and renovated and refurbished all the rooms this is our choice for accom in Manly. Its in a quieter part of Manly down the south end opposite the surf club and importantly away from the pubs on the Corso.

we recently stayed in the Harbour tower and had a lovely room with lots of space, even without the view, we could still crane our necks out the side of the balcony to check the surf. the oceanfront rooms are at a premium and quite frankly the harbour view rooms are just as good if you don't care about the view or don't plan to spend any time in your room.

The restaurant is now very trendy and popular with the locals and we could not get a table both nights as reservations were necessary (but in the fickle world of Manly restaurants that could change at any time).

Breakfasts are expensive in the hotel so we just wandered along the beachfront until we found a cafe and soaked up the atmosphere and the sunshine.

Stayed: February 2007
4  Thank Indie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2006

I visited Manly in March when it was a building site. I was aware of this before I went and when I arrived the staff and manager could not do enough for me! The Bar first floor had great views from its balcony ( seats around ten people) and had some excellent cocktails and beers from around the world. Bar staff were excellent and were very attentive.
The Lesiure facilities were ok but small and the pools were also very small. The Rooms were spacious very clean and again the staff who looked after my room were also very good.
No complaints as I got what I paid for and the rates because of the building work were very reasonable.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steven b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
South Korea
211
Reviewed January 6, 2006

We hadn't reserved a room before we arrived at the hotel. Got great rates on the room. We had a room in the South Tower. No beach view, but we could walk straight into the pool. The room was nicely decorated - very modern and cleaned very well. The room also had iron, ironing board, hairdryer, flat-screen tv, internet connection, sofa. We didn't try the restaurant or bar whilst we were there. The staff were extremely friendly and we wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2005

We stayed for a week in the Raddison and our room corner suite was fabulous. Huge lounge room with modern kitchen with dishwasher, stove, kettle etc. Bathroom was enormous with washing machine and dyer. Bedroom on small size but had doors leading to balcony with awesome views. The lounge room had another balcony that lead onto this massive courtyard with deck chairs... you could have a party for 50 on it. All modern amenities colour Tv, radio, dining table, lounge with coffee table etc.etc. Tea, coffee facilities. Internet connection.

PROS: Best Position with stunning views of Manly Beach. Huge unit like an apartment. Modern facilities, underneath security parking, beach towels provided. Ask for ocean view room - try corner room as big- mention room with large courtyard. Handy to everything...Corso 2 minutes away...beach across road. Much better than Manly Pacific. Casual holiday atmosphere so just bring shorts and swimmers..no need to dress up.

CONS: Needs to be updated in foyer and also rooms. Restaurant bad but plenty around area so not really problem. Back rooms not so good. Small pool area. Windy in afternoon...so doors have to be shut. Not sure whether we just happened to get best room or others are like ours...so need to ask for corner room with courtyard and ocean views. (fourth floor)


WHAT TO DO: Oceanworld Aquarium
Manly scenic walkway to Spit Bridge coastal walk.
Learn to surf through manlysurfschool
Lunch at Le Kiosk Shelley Beach ...--------
Walk to Shelley Beach have coffee half way.
Ghost tours at Quaratine Station- North Head five minute taxi ride.
Walk to Fairlight Beach from Manly Wharf
Drinks at Manly Pacific Hotel
Lunch at Steyne Hotel upstairs overlooking ocean.
Walk promenade to Queenscliff then to Queenscliff lagoon.
Listen to music at the Boatshed
Catch ferry to city..35minutes
Catch Jetcat to city..15minutes
listen to music in the corso on weekends
Dinner at Whites...three minute walk from hotel
Dinner at Italian Restaurant...second shop upstairs beginning of Corso (Manly Wharf)

  • Stayed: March 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Ellemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2003

Fantastic location opposite Manly Beach. Unobstructed views from North Tower rooms. No views of beach from South Tower Rooms. Have stayed in both. Only stay in North Tower. Hotel is getting tatty. Furniture, carpet and fittings need replacing. Very clean. Housekeeping are diligent. Hotel administration is 'relaxed'. You don't always get what you think you have booked. The rooms/suites vary widely in size and inclusions. Overpriced, so you must be paying for a good location in the heart of Manly.

  • Stayed: June 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Philipau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Junior Suite mit seaview ist sehr gut
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Eva G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manly
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Manly
Quest Manly
Quest Manly
#1 of 13 in Manly
730 reviews
Manly
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manly
Manly Surfside Apartments
Bondi Beach
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 179 in Sydney
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Manly Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Manly Beach

Address: 8-13 South Steyne, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly > Manly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manly
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Manly
Price Range: $186 - $471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Manly Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a fantastic location at the southern end of Sydney’s famed Manly Beach, The Sebel Sydney Manly Beach is just steps away from some of the very best boutiques, restaurants and entertainment venues in the region! The hotel embodies the relaxed sophistication for which this part of the world is known for. Whether you take a stroll along Manly Beach, soak in the sun at one of our two outdoor pools, or sample the dining at Manly Wine, your next stay at The Sebel Sydney Manly Beach is sure to be memorable. Directly across from the beach, this modern oceanfront hotel is an 8-minute walk from Manly Wharf ferry terminal and an 11-minute walk from the Manly Sea Life Sanctuary. Our rooms include balconies offering views over the Manly district or the ocean, feature flat-screen TVs, individual climate control and tea and coffee making facilities. Wired and wireless broadband available in guest rooms for additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sebel Manly Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Manly Beach Hotel Manly
Sebel Manly Beach Sydney
Sebel Hotel Manly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing