We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sebel Manly A Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sebel Manly Beach
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Manly
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    264
    95
    51
    33
See reviews for
152
286
28
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed at the Sebel at Manly for a change from Sydney cbd hotels.
Positives:
Location - right at South Steyne beach (excellent for tourists, not so sensible for business in the cbd or North Sydney). Many restaurants within easy walking distance. Also easy walk to ferry terminal.
Room - I had a beach front room with balcony (with great view). Room was spacious with a comfortable bed. Plenty of room in bathroom and good shower pressure although the warning to keep the door closed while showering - apparently an open door meant that the fire alarm might be triggered. (Bizarre)
Staff - friendly
Negatives:
Room - no wifi in room (hey, this is the 21st Century!) and reception in lobby was patchy. TV picture fuzzy with static. Cleaning okay but not 100%.
Staff - not very knowledgeable about the area (eg couldn't really recommend places to eat, didn't really know the ferry situation).
Gym - none but having said that, the running/walking path along the beach is a wonderful place for a run at sunrise.
Pool - looked OK but too small for exercise. Again, the beach is on your doorstep.
Room rate - priced on beach location but too high for the quality of the hotel itself.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marduk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebel M, General Manager at The Sebel Manly Beach, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience and great to hear you enjoyed the location of the Hotel. Although I was disappointed to hear our team were not able to recommend somewhere to eat as Manly has a great selection of Restaurants and all very close by to the Hotel. I will make sure that our team update our information and that it is easily available for our guests. In regard to WiFi, we are in the process of finalising this and together with the traditional broadband will be available in all areas of the Hotel soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ticino
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

No WLAN in the Rooms in 2014... Hard to believe with that Price... Staff is friendly, but the Rooms Need Some investment, the Way to the Tower where my Room was, very sad - you pass by construction and Trash.. Well situated at the Ocean... But Overall: Nothing Special for the Price

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ticinotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebel M, General Manager at The Sebel Manly Beach, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and I apologise that we did not meet your expectations. We do have complimentary WiFi available in the Lobby and there is a wired internet option in the Rooms. The WiFi options for the accommodation rooms is currently being finalised and will be completed soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

My wife and I along with numerous family and friends stayed at the Sebel last weekend for our son's wedding.

Most of us were in the South Tower

Although we had to negotiate a small lane to get from reception to our room, we found the accommodation very clean and spacious. The bed was very comfortable and the room had very thing we needed.

This is not a five star hotel and doesn't pretend to be. But for a night or two (we stayed two nights) it was more than adequate. Having read the TP reviews beforehand, I was a little apprehensive....Not necessary.

The location is perfect for a break by the seaside in Manly, the staff were very helpful when required.

One note of warning. The parking in the properties is very scarce indeed. We had to leave our car in metered parking on the street on the first night.

Overall, a very pleasant experience. We'd also highly recommend the wedding venue within the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 318 in the South Tower. Had a nice view of Manly beach albeit through a gap betwee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank easy1153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I stayed here and loved the location, but was stuck in the "South Tower" that is in a different building in a side street. I thought I was booking a beach front hotel, but having to walk through the bar, out the back across the alley and into another building that is overlooked by other apartment buildings is a bit rough. The South Tower is a bit run down and in need of a re-ferb, but it was still a comfy hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manly
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Manly
Quest Manly
Quest Manly
#1 of 13 in Manly
650 reviews
Manly
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manly
Manly Surfside Apartments
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 179 in Sydney
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Manly Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Manly Beach

Property: The Sebel Manly Beach
Address: 8-13 South Steyne, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly > Manly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manly
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Manly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Manly Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over looking Sydney's famous Manly Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sebel Manly Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Manly Beach Hotel Manly
Sebel Manly Beach Sydney
Sebel Hotel Manly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing