We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Hidden Gem"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manly
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ivanhoe House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Manly B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed in the Garden Room at Ivanhoe House over the Easter weekend and feel compelled to tell others of this hidden gem. The guesthouse is tucked down a quiet leafy street and just a short walk to the cafes, restaurants, shops, the beautiful beach and the ferry terminal for the fantastic journey into the city. The rooms were spotlessly clean and have everything you need and more. It seemed all rooms had direct access from the garden, so no disturbing (or disturbance from) other guests. Roger and Julie were wonderful and they certainly made us feel at home. They were also very passionate and proud to show off their amazing part of the world. Thanks for a great stay. Ben, Anna and Libby (UK)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank benjaminscott1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie D, Owner at Ivanhoe House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Hi there. We LOVED having you all stay . Glad you saw our lovely harbour in the sun! Hope you are enjoying life in Melbourne and hope that you will visit us again.

Cheers

Julie & Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 135 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Ivanhoe House and everything was wonderful. We stayed in the verandah room. The balcony with little table was perfect for a meal and a glass of red. A quiet peaceful place at the top end of the Ivanhoe Botanic Gardens. It was a short walk down the hill to everything you needed and the Manly Ferry, which we took advantage of to go to the city. The little things like cupcakes and banana bread in the fridge made us feel at home. It was a mini break. Thank you.

Room Tip: The verandah room was the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie D, Owner at Ivanhoe House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Hi there
Thank you for your great comments and suggestions here and in our visitor book. We put another mirror in the room - great idea! Loved meeting you and hope you will visit us again.

Cheers

Julie & Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stay at Ivanhoes guesthouse for 4 nights in an verandha room and we like it very much. Roger and Julie is wonderful and helpful guesthouse owner. The place is located in an quite area. This is an oas in Sydney (Manly) We will absolutly stay here again. We will recommend the breakfast and you can enjoy it in an wonderful nature. Go thrue the park and the hill will almost disappear.
Lars and Agneta from Sweden

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 908LarsK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie D, Owner at Ivanhoe House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Hello there
Thank you so much for your lovely comments in our visitor book and on TripAdvisor. It was great to meet you both and we are so glad that you had such a good time in Manly and at Ivanhoe House. We hope you can visit us again in the future.

Cheers

Julie & Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Julie and Roger were great and extremely helpful from the start. My room was perfect and the fridge was very useful. The vehrandah was also great. Manly itself was beautiful and made all the better for my stay at Ivanhoe. I would recommend them to anyone and if and when I return I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 2014clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie D, Owner at Ivanhoe House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Hello there
It was great to meet you and hear of your life in London and of your travels. Glad you enjoyed the verandah room and hopefully Enmore was a great experience too. Do come and visit us again if you come back to Australia. Good luck with your future travel plans. Cheers Julie & Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed in the Verandah Room for a weekend, enjoying a surprising mini holiday in Manly. The location is close enough to make walking to dinner easy but removed from all the noise of Manly nightlife. Wonderful breakfasts on the verandah overlooking the treetops. Julie and Roger really do try to think of everything to make your stay perfect. We will go back.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank JBandJ O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie D, Owner at Ivanhoe House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Hello there. Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed staying in the Verandah Room. We really enjoyed meeting you and hope that you will visit us again in the not too distant future. Cheers Julie & Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Julie and Roger made us really welcome for our short break between our hectic work schedule, the room is really nice, really clean and nothing better than opening the french doors to let the early morning sunshine in.
The location is good, just a short walk down through the park and gardens into manly (watch the sprinklers coming back though, they come on about 10.30pm and make you very wet very quick!!!!!!!) We really enjoyed our stay and if we get a chance will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NeilHems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie D, Owner at Ivanhoe House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Hi there Neil
Thank you for taking the trouble to write this wonderful review, we're so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Ivanhoe House. It was so interesting to meet you both and hear about your amazing work and travel experiences. We look forward to welcoming you again the next time you visit Manly and Australia.
Regards Julie & Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

What a beautiful place to stay, an easy walk to Manly and the beaches. The Garden Room is lovely and secluded with a small private area and filled with little personal touches to make you feel welcome from the minute you walk in. Julie and Roger are wonderful hosts who deliver a great breakfast the night before for you to enjoy when you like, and the coconut cake is a delight! We would definitely like to stay here again and will be recommending it to all our friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RobynG57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie D, Owner at Ivanhoe House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Hi there Robyn
Thank you for this wonderful review, it was kind of you to take the trouble and it means so much to us that you enjoyed your stay at Ivanhoe House. It was really great meeting you and hope to welcome you again the next time you visit Sydney and Manly.

Regards Julie and Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manly
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Manly
Quest Manly
Quest Manly
#1 of 13 in Manly
776 reviews
Manly
Hotel Steyne
Hotel Steyne
#8 of 9 in Manly
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Glebe
Alishan International Guest House
Inner West
Posh Hotel
Posh Hotel
#12 of 60 in Sydney
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivanhoe House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivanhoe House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 10 Birkley Rd, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly > Manly
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manly
Price Range: $140 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique B & B is a friendly place to stay. We have been welcoming guests from around the world since 1997. Ivanhoe House is located in a quiet cul de sac facing Ivanhoe Botanic Gardens. Wake to the sound of kookaburras and enjoy breakfast on your private patio or verandah. Manly's beaches, ferries, shops and restaurants are just a five minute stroll away. You can choose the Garden Room on the ground floor or the Verandah Room on the first floor. Both are Queen sized rooms with their own private entrance. We offer a non smoking environment with...FREE Wifi FREE parking Private ensuite TV/DVD, radio, books Fridge, Tea/espresso machine and egg making machine. A breakfast basket filled with your menu choices is delivered to your fridge, the evening before so that you can have breakfast whenever you are ready. Our Menu includes:Fresh fruits in season Natural or fruit yoghurt toasts, muffins, crumpets, boiled eggs, fresh fruit juices, tea /coffee "Ivanhoe House Peaceful, Private, Perfect" Maria & John, Sheffield, UK ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing