We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than seafood”
Review of The Pantry Manly

The Pantry Manly
Ranked #5 of 300 Restaurants in Manly
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $34
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Manly
Description: Located on beautiful Manly Beach, this European Brasserie style eatery offers a menu to tempt all tastes. The kitchen at The Pantry Manly serves breakfast from 730am and serves lunch/dinner from 1130am to 10pm. From drinks and tapas to salads, seafood and homemade desserts, you will love everything from The Pantry Manly.
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“More than seafood”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

A great location right on the beach at Manly. Despite its proximity to the sea do not feel obliged to opt for seafood. Salamis hanging up by the kitchen should give the game away. Service was excellent and the food perfectly acceptable. Appetisers cost around A$10 while entrees mostly cost between A$ 20 to 30. Well worth a visit and enjoy the atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    238
    51
    17
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great place for a meal and what a view!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

ate both breakfast and lunch here a number of times during recent stay in Manly and could not fault it either food or service wise.
great place right on the beach front and staff particularly friendly regardless of time of day
recommend to anyone staying in Manly itself or even if staying in Central Sydney - the ferry journey is well worth the trip!.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miamispice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic Breakfast but.......”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Pantry at Manly does a fantastic breakfast, lovely cooked eggs and bacon and the pancakes with raspberry jam are outstanding. The prices are definitely up there reflective of the restaurants location and view....however not being able to provide a highchair is unacceptable and contributed to our meal with two adults and 3 kids being a bit of a shocker....also $7.90 for a little glass of apple juice (we bought 2, one for each child) that isn't even freshly squeezed is ridiculous....we were there for a special school holiday treat for us all but at those prices and without a highchair we won't be back. Shame as the food really is great....so if you are eating adults only...its great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pippa73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent evening at The Pantry”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and I went to the Pantry for the first time last night. We've walked past it many times and said - "we should go there". I am delighted we did. Outstanding evening, great food - Luke was an outstanding host, friendly, helpful and not overbearing. It was midweek so it wasn't busy.

We had mostly tapas - everything was excellent! Highlights Goats cheese stuffed peppers, bocconcini salad, chorizo, ...and the banoffi pie. Yumm.

Not cheap - $155 for the two of us including 3 glasses of wine. Will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stu_white
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
85 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“One of the best views on the Northern Beaches”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I will never understand why the hordes will happily pay $20 odd dollars for an extremely average burger at one of the myriad of sub-standard tourist joints on the Steyne (with lovely views overlooking the traffic), when for $21 you can enjoy a very good quality delicious burger in delightful surroundings right ON the beach.
The Pantry enjoys an enviable, elevated spot just 100 metres walk from the end of the Corso with nothing between you and the views of the surf. It truly has a spectacular setting with a very pleasant interior and attentive, professional, friendly staff. The menu doesn't excite us (and to be honest, my husband's grilled barramundi and chips was nothing to write home about), but my burger was delicious, the chips were first rate and some of the other dishes we saw coming out of the kitchen, especially the charcuterie looked very enticing.
I would highly recommend The Pantry to anyone looking for reasonable prices, a wide ranging menu and wine list, absolutely unbeatable front row seats overlooking the beach and surf and friendly and efficient service. Give all the pavement tourist joints a miss, cross the road and go to the Pantry.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susansthermomixup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pantry Manly also viewed

Manly, Greater Sydney
Manly, Greater Sydney
 
Manly, Greater Sydney
 

Been to The Pantry Manly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing