We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heritage on the harbor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Manly
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Just inside North Head and in the North Head National park reserve, Q Station is isolated but only a few minutes from Manly beach. You leave your car outside and rely on a 15 minute shuttle bus service to get around. The accommodation is in the old quarantine houses - but we had the whole block to ourselves which was a good thing because the toilet and bathroom was shared and required a walk along the balcony to get to it -some places do have en-suite facilities. Breakfast is served in a building close by and very good too. Evening meals available at the Boilerhouse restaurant at the beach down the hill but again served by shuttle bus.

Room Tip: a room close to the breakfast room will save a walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malonely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,075)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

768 - 774 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

we spent 2 days (one night) mid week so it was lovely and peaceful with only a few guests and a number of people there attending seminars/conferences. We had bought the accomodation using a online discount voucher.

We were greeted at the receptioin and bused down to our rooms. As we drove down the views of the harbour opened up in front of us...spectacular!!!

Rooms were cozy and well presented. While the bathroom/toilet was outside it was not a problem. Great breakfast. Staff couldn't do enough for you.

The grounds are well kept. We spent our time relaxing and walking around the grounds and visiting the various cottages and other historic sites. Great museum. We also did one of the ghost tours which was very interesting and informative and a lot of fun.

Overall a great place to spend a few days.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blackzac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We spent a night here in Q Station, it was relaxing although we have to go up and down hill for seeing the old buildings and history behind it. Good exercise anyway. Though the weather was hot in the day by night it was cold and windy. We love the buffet breakfast and the bottle of wine included in our room. Glad we upgraded to ensuite which is very clean and bed was comfortable except for two pillows which smelt musty. The staffs were great and friendly. Overall, one must try it to see the place and explore it. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sushi-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

After living on the northern beaches for ten years I can hardly believe I had never been t to the q station or wharf before yesterday. What a lovely tranquil spot. Old heritage with lovely views. Perfect wedding venue and we thoroughly enjoyed the views. Toilet block could do with a spruce up. Felt a little in need of attention and if paying to stay here would have been underwhelmed by the bathrooms. Recommend a visit.















Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Brannigans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I've stayed at the q station about 5 times mostly for work conferences and I will continue to use this venue time and time again
The rooms are well appointed many are oversized and the views around the property are nothing short of spectacular
Evening drinks at sunset on the beach followed by an amazing meal in the boiler house caps off a perfect evening
Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ensure you book a room with a bathroom (some cheaper rooms have shared bathrooms due to the heritage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieBSydneyAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

A friend had purchased a gift voucher for a stay in a dxe harbour view room, breakfast and a ghost tour. The room itself was beautiful with a view across harbour to Sydney .
Unfortunately it was the very hot Sydney day when temperatures reached 38 degrees.The fan in the room was supposed to have 3 speeds but only could get the one speed from it (slowest)
The TV when we tried it for stations only had one. I rang reception to mainly report fan, as it was extremely hot in rooms as no windows for cross ventilation also reported TV.
No-one ever turned up or rang re air con or TV. We reported TV to driver of mini-bus later in night and he said he would look at it for us (which he did and fixed.)
We were later on chatting to a lady in the museum mentioning we had a ghost tour and she checked our booking and said that we had a charge on our account for the tour.As this was paid for and written on the voucher (which I had handed in on check-in up the top ) when we got back to the room I thought I had best check with reception re same.I rang and explained and he confirmed there was a charge and would have to find the voucher to check(if it had come down from the top reception). I did find this extraordinary as having worked in the industry there should have been another copy to refer to and the credit for tour should have been on account on check-in. We then had dinner in the Boilerhouse Restaurant which I would rate the meal as average.
The meal was not up to the level of expectation for what you pay.The entrees average $20 and mains around $34 .A bread roll served with dinner was actually one like you purchase in Woolworths and heat.
Overall the ghost tour was great. Bob did a great job with the history and scaring people! Value for money.
The site is magnificent and rooms are very nice no complaints there.
The service was ordinary .I did get the feeling there were not enough staff maybe to deal with issues. At least a phone call back re a room move or something re aircon would have been professional. And the account system needs reviewing so no embarrassment re charges.
If you are looking at going on a hot day check fan works before you unpack or go in cooler months.

Room Tip: Check aircon works and definitely Deluxe Harbour view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annette055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Eve S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Damien R, Manager at Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manly
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Manly
The Sebel Manly Beach
Manly
Quest Manly
Quest Manly
#1 of 13 in Manly
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 179 in Sydney
4,402 reviews
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#82 of 179 in Sydney
2,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel

Address: 1 North Head Scenic Dr, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly > Manly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Manly
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manly
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Manly
Price Range: $104 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on North Head at Manly, Q Station offers unparalleled sweeping views of Sydney Harbour from Manly back towards the City and South Head. With over 70 buildings spread across 33 hectares, bring your walking shoes with you. We offer a shuttle service on site as no private vehicles are given access - so leave your vehicle at our carpark, jump on board and relax. Whilst here we'd recommend that you visit our Luggage Store Visitor Centre Cafe & Museum, as well as the Boilerhouse Harbourside Restaurant & Bar - both areas are very popular here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
q Station Hotel Manly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing