We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aussie bush, magic harbour all in a quiet historical place to enjoy the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Manly
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Wow! Who would have thought a little bit of Australian history could house such a great place to stay. Right on the harbour at North Head nestled within the National Park with its onsite museum and only a ferry ride across the harbour to the city - from it's own wharf. Leaving your car at the front gate you are driven by minibus to your room. A history tour on the way lets you get the lay of the land. Accommodation is on the hill in renovated quarantine station rooms - amazing to think about who might have stayed there 150 years ago. Down the 200 plus stairs ( or a short minibus ride away) is the harbour, restaurant, cafe and free museum. The museum houses the history of disease control through quarantine from early 1800s until closure last century. A short walk up well defined paths is the hospital, isolation wards, more Aussie bush and a harbour view to die for. Cafe food is good and reasonably priced, restaurant fair is as you expect from an Accor facility. Highly recommended! We'll be back!

Room Tip: Ensuites are great. If you go for outside bathroom ask for one with the bathroom under the roofline...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TnT42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

880 - 886 of 1,132 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank danielr88
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Only negative about Q Station is that we didn't get to stay for a longer period. Scenic, quiet and peaceful surrounds and great historical significance. Rooms spacious and comfortable.
Great location for a quiet escape, yet only a ferry ride from the hustle and bustle of Sydney city

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank W0uldbetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The location was very beautiful and the history interesting. Enjoyed the boilerhouse resturant. there were several spots that were common areas that you could sit with friends for drinks and nibblies. One of the common rooms has a coffee/hot chocolate and a computer for internet axcess and WiFi.You can do guided tours but we walked ourselves as there is plently of signage explaining the history.
Take a drive to North Head (Or walk if you are keen) for the lookouts and the memorial walk re our ANZAC history and other wars they our troops have served in.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank karenlee53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We thought this hotel was excellent. We had a lovely room overlooking sydney harbour where we were able to sit out on the balcony and watch the water. There were only 4 rooms in the building that we were in. We also had a separate lounge area, where the tv was. Bed was very comfortable. Being old historic buildings, it reminded us of former stays at lighthouse keepers cottages. A shuttle bus drops you at your room or takes you back to reception. Breakfast was adequate for a buffet, but I am very frustrated at the lack of pancakes in Australian hotels in recent years.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Glyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The location was 5 mins from the bustling area of Manly although within the serenity of a national park. The views were unbelievable, especially at sunset and in the early morning. There is so much history and if you want to take any of the tours, you would need to stay on a weekend. The bathroom was separate from our bedroom, and was accessed from the outside and upstairs so would recommend checking when making a reservation to obtain a room with ensuite inside. Parking is outside the complex and a mini bus will take you to your accommodation, so you cannot park outside your room. All this aside, the scenery and setting make it a real experience and so handy to all the amenities of Manly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We really enjoyed our little break here. It was great to get out of Sydney for the weekend and enjoy some peace and quiet without having to drive 2.5 hours in traffic or slog it out through the airport. The rooms are a little small but comfortable with good bathrooms and heating. The grounds are lovely with great views into Manly, Middle Harbour and Sydney. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony with our friends enjoying a glass of wine and watching the sun go down. Breakfast was typical hotel fare, good quality, plenty of it and hot. Staff are friendly and seem happy to help and the shuttle service to get you around the Q Station is never far away.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SYD-LHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manly
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Manly
Quest Manly
Quest Manly
#1 of 13 in Manly
777 reviews
Manly
The Sebel Manly Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#40 of 186 in Sydney
4,594 reviews
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel

Address: 1 North Head Scenic Dr, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly > Manly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Manly
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Manly
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manly
Price Range: $97 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on North Head at Manly, Q Station offers unparalleled sweeping views of Sydney Harbour from Manly back towards the City and South Head. With over 70 buildings spread across 33 hectares, bring your walking shoes with you. We offer a shuttle service on site as no private vehicles are given access - so leave your vehicle at our carpark, jump on board and relax. Whilst here we'd recommend that you visit our Luggage Store Visitor Centre Cafe & Museum, as well as the Boilerhouse Harbourside Restaurant & Bar - both areas are very popular here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
q Station Hotel Manly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing