We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly restful retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Manly
Certificate of Excellence
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Amazingly restful retreat”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I recently stayed at Q Station as part of a work conference. I was captivated by the place.

It is in a beautiful setting in Manly, away from the noise and bustle of the main strip. It has a magical atmosphere and feels quite removed from the rest of modern Sydney. The views over the water are quite incredible. There is a real sense of peace (almost like a place that time forgot) and relaxation here.

The rooms were full of character and mine had a private bathroom but I am aware that not all of them did. It was comfortable but the lack of air con might make it hot during the summer - even in late Summer, I had to have my ceiling fan on full blast. It was still warmer in the room than I normally like.

The rooms do not have great sound proofing. Many of the rooms share communal veranda space, so anyone walking these may pass through "private" space adjacent to rooms. The experience makes it clear that these were indeed designed for group or communal living for those undergoing quarantine in Sydney.

The dining was limited in choice but wasn't of bad quality. It was good but by no means spectacular. The staff were all very friendly and efficient. Check in and check out were fantastic - all done in record time and without any fuss at all.

All in all, I really enjoyed staying here - stunning to arrive by water and to enjoy the peace of this place as a place of retreat in modern Sydney.

Room Tip: Check to see if you have a private bathroom or a communal one. Rooms in the previous "First Cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien R, Manager at Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear sk_ayers,

This is great feedback from your visit to Q Station, which I'm very happy to share with my team. It's always rewarding to be able to share positive feedback throughout our staff. It seems you were able to enjoy many aspects of Q Station which is where we find our guests get the most benefit from.

Once again, thank you for taking some of your time to post this feedback - I hope we can welcome you back to Q Station on a holiday instead of for work very soon.

Regards,
Damien Riordan
Operations Manager | Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Manly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    415
    148
    66
    32
See reviews for
184
516
32
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2013

very scenic, a little hilly, bus transfer were excellent around the site.
Enjoyed the food and History
Great to visit including the great harbour views.
Very friendly and helpfull.
would recommend to come and experience any time and also check out the little museum

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank PMol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien R, Manager at Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear PMol,

Thanks for the great feedback, I'll be sure to share this with the team. I'm glad you were able to enjoy the historic features we have to offer here and really get the most out of the site - that's what we hope for all our guests.

Thank you for visiting us here, and I hope we see you back here again soon!

Regards,
Damien Riordan
Operations Manager | Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Manly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Booked a three bedroom cottage through my ACCOR Advantage Plus membership thinking this was good value etc.
I was rung up by the Hotel the day before my arrival. They explained they had double booked. They then gave me three hotel rooms for the same charge. I had no option but to accept this.
I still feel ripped off in this age of real time online computing. Double booking is inconceivable.
That aside this is a perfect place if you want somewhere in the heart of Sydney which is peaceful and would highly recommend this to any one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank miltonjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien R, Manager at Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Miltonjk,

Thank you for the providing us with this feedback, as I cannot apologise enough for the way this was handled and the inconvenience caused. We certainly want to ensure all our guests have a great experience here at Q Station, even more so for our loyal Advantage Plus members. I can only honestly say we failed to meet our own expectations for customer service when it came to your experience.

I would be happy for you to contact me directly should you wish to provide any additional feedback, or if you are returning to our area sometime in the future I'd love to welcome you back to Q Station.

Regards,
Damien Riordan
Operations Manager | Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Manly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Nice spot to stay. It's not very far, yet when you are there it's quiet and feels detached from the city life. Views of Manly and the harbour are amazing. Loads of great picnic spots. The restaurant options are limited for the evening. The menu at the Engine Room is very limited. But it's lovely to have dinner outside with the wild bandicoots!

Our room was comfortable. Beds are comfortable and clean. Be aware that when booking not all rooms have an ensuite - make sure you choose one that does!! My only complaint is it can be quite noisy. The sound proofing is poor and you can hear the kids running up and down the verandah early in the morning and hear people outside late at night.

Other than that - lovely stay :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien R, Manager at Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hi Vivian O,

We'd very much like to thank you for your feedback and we're glad you enjoyed your visit here to Q Station. With our rooms, an easy way to remember is those rooms that have the term 'Heritage' in the room title have an external bathroom. These bathrooms are still individually labelled for each guest room, and can only be opened by your room key so it is still very much a private affair, however we acknowledge that some travellers today still very much prefer an ensuite bathroom.

Once again, thanks for choosing to stay with us here at Q Station and letting us know you enjoyed it.

Damien Riordan
Operations Manager | Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Manly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2013

A most relaxing and enjoyable stay! The staff were friendly and efficient, and particularly helpful with my elderly mother. The manager was particularly considerate and our room was close to a ramp, transport and breakfast facilities. The museum added an extra dimension to our visit. We are already planning a return visit with other family members.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank mazmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Room P27 has to have one of the best views in Sydney, and the Q Station has an interesting if not slightly curious story. There are a couple of really nice staff members too. Such a shame that these are the only three positive things about staying at the Q Station.
Tiny Room, had to sleep with the doors open as the window doesn't open and the fan was noisy, bathroom separate to the room (not shared, but not attached), one measly light in the bathroom that wasn't bright enough, dead insects all over the window in the bathroom, filthy ceiling in the bathroom, no shelves in the bathroom so you have to leave your belongings on the floor, broken locks on the main bedroom door which was totally insecure, ridiculously long time to wait for food in the Boilerhouse restaurant and also the shuttle bus which you need to take each time you want to go out of the hotel, housekeeping doesn't empty the bin, wash your cups or take away your dishes, external balcony partition left leaning against the wall only fixed after 3 phone calls, shower tap falls off the wall when you turn it, holes in the sink where there used to be 2 taps and now one, bathroom very smelly, breakfast totally amateur, 2 weddings and a 40th party on a Saturday night with people in fancy dress and throwing up in reception...all for $260 a night (excl breakfast). A very disappointing experience overall given the HUGE potential of the Q Station to be something special. We also heard many other people, including corporate day guests, complaining about the standard of the rooms (again insects all over the floor). Usually, I enjoy telling people what a fabulous experience we had on our travels, but in this instance, stay here at your peril!!! OH and I forgot to mention the MASSIVE black spider (funnel web or house spider?) that inhabited our room. HONESTLY NOT WORTH THE MONEY.

Room Tip: p27 for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I have never thus far had reason to place a bad review on Tripadvisor as i have read other reviews and made my choice of hotel through those, i am disappointed to have to place a unhappy review on here so i will try to be as objective as i can.

Firstly I would like to say the views are spectacular and as long as you don't mind being a good distance from the town this is beautiful. It is the staff who as the let down here.

My partner and i decided on this hotel for our stay in Sydney as we were offered a very good price via Clever-hotels.com, we also liked the thought of being somewhere that was part of history being the old quarantine station. Also the reviews were quite good. We read these carefully having found many other Trippers who booked did not realise that some rooms did not have en-suite bathrooms, so we went out of our way to ensure we booked the sort of room that did. What a mistake it was booking in here! I have never been so disappointed.

When we arrived it was late evening and quite dark. The male receptionist on duty did not go out of his way to greet us merely looked at us in manner to acknowledge our presence. The receptionist confirmed our details then advised us where we would be staying THEN he told advised us the room was not en-suite. I said that we had gone out of our way to ensure we booked en-suite and the website had advertised this was the suite that did include this otherwise we would not have paid the extra. The receptionist told us that is we could "prove this was the case" he would see what was available. So i asked if there was internet access, and was then advised that any questions re the accomodation were in the rooms handbook - he clearly could not be bothered spending another 2mins explaining that there was no free internet. Needless to say this was not a good start.

When we were dropped at our room by the shuttle bus i crossed the hall from room 1, block P1 to the toilet block - and lets be honest here - this really is nothing more than a toilet block as if you were at a campsite, the only difference is the doors have locks which match the bedroom you are residing in. Room 1 had the first toilet door. On opening i found this was the shower room, further down the corridor and to the right along to the end was the toilet. The windows in the toilet do not close and already there was one dead spider. I am not a fan of creepy crawlies nor mosquitos so getting up in the middle of the night to cross the hall, unlock the first entry door, go to the end of the corridor, turn right, go to to the end, unlock a further door and use the toilet was not the greatest experience of my life for the 5 nights we were there!

While we were there we were up and about quite early. On returning to the retreat late afternoon we found the domestic to have "refreshed" the bedroom. This is to say she made the bed! The cups and glasses were still dirty and the bin had not been emptied. Again not a great first day.
The TV is wall mounted so we moved the sofa round so we could sit and watch it. Under the sofa we found a substantial amount of broken glass. Do the domestics actually clean these rooms, i wondered?

While out with our hire car we took advantage and bought supplies for the room, snacks, boxes of beer, wine etc. The room is a decent walk from the reception where the main car park is and we had noticed signs about for "Guest carpark" so we thought we would request we took the car in to unload then put in the guest carpark. On making this request the same surly male receptionist said no, then asked what exactly we had to unload. I would think it be more appropriate if he had asked if the items we needed to unload would fit in the shuttle bus for transport instead as i think asking exactly what we had to unload was rather impertinent. At this i would definitely suggest the staff go on a customer care course!

Whilst there we had a problem with the lock on our entrance door that being that the screws were loose which stopped the door closing and there fore securing, Bearing in mind the room did not have a safe, so already we would not be covered by insurance if anything was to go amisss whilst there, but this did not help further. We called reception and explained the problem, they again seemed disinterested and told us the carpenter would look in the morning. We arrived at the room after the carpenter had left to find he had replaced one screw but the one which kept coming out was till there causing the problem! Useless

On the en-suite issue, i can only assume the retreat was being misrepresented by the website as having made a search after arriving home, Q Station is no longer there. I suspect they may have finally realised and had this removed. While we were there we noticed other couples who were surprised they did not have en-suite

The only saving grace was the staff at the Boilerroom and Engineroom. The food on the evening menu on the one night we ate there, was great and staff were, for a change, friendly and polite. This alone was the only good experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G_Aberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manly
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Manly
Quest Manly
Quest Manly
#1 of 13 in Manly
642 reviews
Manly
The Sebel Manly Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#34 of 178 in Sydney
4,096 reviews
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Mercure Sydney
#62 of 178 in Sydney
4,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel

Property: Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Address: 1 North Head Scenic Dr, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly > Manly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manly
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Manly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on North Head at Manly, Q Station offers unparalleled sweeping views of Sydney Harbour from Manly back towards the City and South Head. With over 70 buildings spread across 33 hectares, bring your walking shoes with you. We offer a shuttle service on site as no private vehicles are given access - so leave your vehicle at our carpark, jump on board and relax. Whilst here we'd recommend that you visit our Luggage Store Visitor Centre Cafe & Museum, as well as the Boilerhouse Harbourside Restaurant & Bar - both areas are very popular here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
q Station Hotel Manly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing