We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different but nice.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Manly
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Different but nice.”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed here for a Tuesday night on a recommendation from my sister who had stayed there before.

The hotel complex is in an amazing location with an interesting historical background.

The rooms are set out amongst the various wooden quarantine huts. The rooms are not what we would call luxurious (given they were the same standard as other hotels in NSW we stayed in that were standard rooms) but were nicely furnished and we had a decent sized bathroom. Some of the furnishings in our room were a little disappointing, such as the numerous white questionable stains on the bed furnishings and the curtains which were falling down from the railings. There were also a lot of cobwebs on the high ceilings. We were concerned about noise and pests given the thin walls and large gap under the front door, however we were lucky and didn't experience any disturbances.

Breakfast was nice and the shuttle bus was convenient.

It was a shame in some ways there was a union conference on at the same time we were there. This meant a lot of noise on the Tuesday evening as some of the group waited outside our room for the shuttle bus. There was also a 'smoking point' located near our room which meant the ground was littered with butts despite there being sand bins right in front of these people.

I have to mention the insane price of internet.... $10.00 for the first hour. I can not believe they can justify this price?

The wildlife here is amazing though and the little private beach where you can swim is lovely. There are plenty of areas to go walking and great view points of Sydney harbour.

The restaurant was lovely, a bit on the expensive side but we had a lovely meal there and the building is really nice inside.

We had a great time here but didn't agree the rooms were luxurious. The best part: the wildlife and location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Australia2London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    417
    152
    66
    33
See reviews for
186
525
32
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston SE, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I'll be the first to admit the Q Station was not what I expected. After calling on the phone to confirm the room types I booked a Deluxe Harbour View which in hindsight was a mistake (travelling with a 78 year old). In these rooms the toilets are out the side, in our case about 25m and two locked doors away (each room has its own dedicated toilet and shower in the ablution block), so after the first night we changed to a deluxe ensuite room (traded absolute view for convinience)

The rooms themselves are a little plain, as the Q Station must work within the heritage guidelines of the area. As such, there is NO air conditioning, though there are ceiling fans. You can't lock these rooms up at night and keep cool, counter-intuitive to many, the trick is to open up your french doors but draw the curtains, allowing a beautiful cool seabreeze in. Even with the doors wide open, there is no noise as you're in the middle of a national park. The harbour view room was small (long and narrow) however the ensuite room was very spacious.

As the site is heritage listed under some strong guidelines, guests aren't allowed to drive around site. Instead a minibus regularly runs around site in 15-20 minute intervals, taking you from recption-room-restaurant. This is a 24 hour service, although late at night it's the night manager on call. Walking through the site is testing as it's quite steep but certainly worth it, even if it's jsut down to breakfast (and bus it back up the hill).

Breakfast at the restaurant (Boilerhouse on the weekend and views up near the room on weekdays) was nice, with plenty of continental and hot choices, a Nespresso automatic coffee machine and a few nice pastries. Breakfast was included in my tariff and I'm unsure as to its cost typically.

We had quite a few friends come and visit us in the Q Station, including people who have lived on the harbour in Seaforth for 45 years and all loved the location and history of the place. The manly fast ferry stops at the Q Station wharf 5 times a day and goes to Watsons Bay, Taronga Park Zoo and the Quay ($9 each way) while the Manly ferry (which runs til late) is about a $10 cab fare from the reception.

It's certainly worth a visit and if you can get a reasonable tarriff, especially when you take into consideration the excessive parking charges that CBD hotels charge and the fact breakfast is often included in the tarriff. I am certainly planning to stay here again in the future. It's isolated but quiet and removed from the hustle and hub-bub of the city but still convinient.

Room Tip: Try to go for a deluxe ensuite room, the harbour view is great, but we just moved our chair to the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FiFoGeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a great time staying in the heritage suite, the only detraction was the bathroom outside the room. Dinner in the restaurant was delicious & we enjoyed swimming at the beach after breakfast. It was also interesting touring the site & absorbing the history.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryRedshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Perfect hotel, wonderful five star service. Only negative, the bathroom was not attached to the very small bedroom, requiring guests to walk accross a verander to their bathroom. This was unexpected when staying in an expensive motel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed here for a few days when first in Australia. A nice quiet place to recover from the journey and great historical interest. Ate in the restaurant a couple of times which was very good. Breakfast also very good and all staff friendly and helpful.
Distance into Manley walkable there and back if you are reasonably fit.
Rooms clean and pleasant. Overall very enjoyable stay and would go back.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneA823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The location is lovely but it is grossly overpriced for what you get - starting with the need to go down an outdoor corridor to get to the bathroom and toilet (which was not mentioned when we booked in). The rooms are quite spartan and that is ok but, again, for the price one expects more.
Our television did not work and it took a long time for someone to come to (unsuccessfully) fix it. Then, in the morning, we tried to get a coffee and croissant at the Boilerhouse Restaurant (the only food outlet in the hotel). Coffee - yes - but although we could see lots of croissants, we were told we could only have one as part of the total buffet breakfast - for $32 per person. We were told they could not provide one croissant because "they didn't know how much to charge"! Then, as the final insult, when we went to pay the excessive room rate we were tolf there was a surcharge for all credit cards! We've had good experiences of Accor hotels in Europe but this one lets the place down.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I have just spent 2 days at the Q Station at a conference. Magnificent views of Sydney Harbour from an historical location. Rooms are adequate but DO NOT have air conditioning. There is a ceiling fan but, with high 30 degree days, it was not adequate to cool the room and made it uncomfortable to sleep in at night. Can't leave the glass door to the room open as all can see in and you never know if a local snake (yes we sae one) will slither in in the middle of the night. YOU HAVE TO GET AIR-CON! Not all rooms have ensuites.

Room Tip: Get a room with an ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MmmM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manly
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Manly
Quest Manly
Quest Manly
#1 of 13 in Manly
655 reviews
Manly
The Sebel Manly Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 179 in Sydney
4,148 reviews
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Meriton Suites Zetland
#11 of 179 in Sydney
2,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel

Property: Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Address: 1 North Head Scenic Dr, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly > Manly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Manly
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manly
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Manly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on North Head at Manly, Q Station offers unparalleled sweeping views of Sydney Harbour from Manly back towards the City and South Head. With over 70 buildings spread across 33 hectares, bring your walking shoes with you. We offer a shuttle service on site as no private vehicles are given access - so leave your vehicle at our carpark, jump on board and relax. Whilst here we'd recommend that you visit our Luggage Store Visitor Centre Cafe & Museum, as well as the Boilerhouse Harbourside Restaurant & Bar - both areas are very popular here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
q Station Hotel Manly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing