We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique accommodation, but not the best value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Manly
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Unique accommodation, but not the best value for money”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Q Station has the novelty of being historical - the accommodation buildings that stand today are where the 'healthy' passengers lived back in the days when ship passengers were quarantined in Sydney for Spanish influenza.

It's also set within Sydney Harbour National Park, which means it's peaceful, yet at the same time it offers some lovely harbour views. Just not so much from our room though.

Having paid for a deluxe 'harbour view' room, we could see the harbour, but it wasn't as good a view as from other buildings located much closer to the coastline, which made me feel a little ripped off considering we'd paid a premium for harbour views.

The room also afforded little privacy, and our 'balcony' was more like a shared use patio - it ran the whole length of the building with only short dividers separating each room's section. This also means guests can walk straight past your 'section' of the balcony while you're sitting outside relaxing or while you're inside your own room, meaning you had to have the curtains closed while you were in your room if you wanted privacy, otherwise other guests could easily have a sneak peek at what's inside!

The room also had no air-con, just a ceiling fan which meant a not-so-comfortable night's sleep given the hot weather during our stay. I assume this has to do with the rooms being in a heritage building though, so it's understandable. Still, I'd definitely recommend you book your stay when the weather's not so hot.

It was about a 5min walk from our room to Quarantine Beach (a relatively quiet, small beach) and the Boilerhouse Bar and Restaurant (setting was lovely, service good, food was average). To get there though, we had to go down (then back up!) the biggest amount of steps I've ever seen (it used to be a funicular). We wanted the exercise so we were fine with it, but of course you can just use the free shuttle bus service if you're feeling lazy :)

The ghost tour is worth doing too... unfortunately I didn't see or feel anything paranormal when I did it... but it's worth it just for the tour of the area and the history lesson you'll get from the knowledgeable guides... and of course, you just never know your luck on the night! :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyStar81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    415
    148
    66
    32
See reviews for
184
516
32
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is not your typical hotel - but don't let this put you off. Not a place to stay if you want to be among the thick of things, the location, set in the National Park on Manly Heads was is a ten dollar cab ride from the Manly Ferry Port. On arriving and checking in you're taken to your room by minibus - a bit of an adventure in itself - reminding me of bus rides on Greek Islands on the winding dirt track that circumnavigates the property.

Saying in the P12 block, I found the room to be well appointed, the bathroom spotless, the shower wonderful and in the balcony with its balcony and easy chairs the perfect place to relax. The one downer of the room was the television wasn't working at all - after a staff member came to have a look I was offered free wifi in lieu as the establishment was full with a wedding.

The rooms have no air conditioning, but the ceiling fan was great in keeping the room at an acceptable temperature.

You don't want to be in a rush here. To get anywhere around the site you need to either take the regular courtesy bus or walk quite a distance. This is a part of the charm of the place, but newcomers should be aware of this.

The big event for me was after taking a nap with the door open in the evening, I woke to find a cat sized possum in the bathroom pinching food scraps out of my bin. Cheeky blighter sauntered out of its own accord in a few minutes after I turned the light on, but I wish there had been a "Beware of the Wildlife" warning. After the possum had gone the doors were secured and all was well.

This is a lovely place to relax and I would happily go back again - just remember - beware of the possums!

Room Tip: The more you pay for a room, the better the view - and the wildlife is cheeky - shut your doors at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PandoraBehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were warmly welcomed at Reception. Had been unaware that the car parking area at the entrance was as far as our car was to go. Shuttle bus drivers were very helpful so clients could adjust to the different organisation for moving around the grounds at Q Station.
In hot humid weather it would have been awfully uncomfortable..our room Q48 was very, very hot when we arrived so fans and open doors were welcome-thankfully the past weekend was raining and cooler.
Best part: Meals served were excellent at breakfast and lunch We commend all of those working there especially, Vicki serving us and the chef working on Sunday at lunch time.
We would appreciate the room we are staying in to be at a normally comfortable temperature when we arrive. The room was stuffy and very, very hot when we first walked in. Making us feel as if it had not been used for.......It took quite a while to cool the room down by opening the doors and switching the fans on quite strongly. Thankfully, there were no flies..mosquitoes...noticed when cooling the room..
In summary, staff and food excellent. Thank you

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Accor-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Had a fantastic time in the 1st class accommodation (as it was at the time of being a quarantine station) but, as we knew at the time of booking, our bathroom was a few staps awway in order to keep the original feel of this particular building, 'P2.' It was so quiet as no crs are allowed but, after parking the car at the check-in facility, a shuttle bus, which run 24 hrs, transported us to our room. Room was very clean with all the amenities and a few steps away was a beautiful lounge room with free coffee and the daily papers, books etc. We did a short tour of the historical buildings but, in the main, we did our own thing - lots of walking amongst the bush and enjoying the magnificent views; relaxing, eating, swimming and snorkelling, and we even sat and waited and were very lucky to see a penguin come ashore at dusk. The staff were all lovely and the food waas great - having the Advantage Plus card made it reasonably priced. All-in-all we thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay and I can't wait to go back again......

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda-of-Coogee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great escape, great view, great proximity to Sydney. Very enjoyable.
The history talk was very enlightening, so much happened on this site (if only the walls could talk).
The evening meal was perfect and breakfast by the beach was amazing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenWSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

I had wanted to stay at q station for a long time mainly due to it's unique location and the history surrounding it and i was not disappointed. We had a lovely room with a large verandah with beautiful harbour views. dinner is recommended in the boiler room. top class fine dining. the guest lounges with free tea and coffee are a nice touch and furnished in keeping with the hisory of the station. i would also highly recommend the ghost tour. Also the ensuite rooms for convenience and privacy.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manth10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in Sydney hotels a lot over the years and I was interested in something different this time to visit relatives in Manly.. Q station has its disadvantages. The heritage listing means that the rooms are a bit quirky and the absence of aircon could be a problem on really hot days. Parking the car at the gate and then relying on shuttle bus to get around the premises reduces traffic but it does mean that you need to allow another 10-15 minutes to get to another destination in Sydney.
On the other hand, the history is fascinating, service is very good and you get some of the best views in Sydney. Don't forget to check out the guest room on the point near the old isolation ward. What other hotel in Sydney can claim Bandicoots on your doorstep in the evening?

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTSVico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manly
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Manly
Quest Manly
Quest Manly
#1 of 13 in Manly
642 reviews
Manly
The Sebel Manly Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#34 of 178 in Sydney
4,096 reviews
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Mercure Sydney
#62 of 178 in Sydney
4,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel

Property: Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Address: 1 North Head Scenic Dr, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly > Manly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manly
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Manly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on North Head at Manly, Q Station offers unparalleled sweeping views of Sydney Harbour from Manly back towards the City and South Head. With over 70 buildings spread across 33 hectares, bring your walking shoes with you. We offer a shuttle service on site as no private vehicles are given access - so leave your vehicle at our carpark, jump on board and relax. Whilst here we'd recommend that you visit our Luggage Store Visitor Centre Cafe & Museum, as well as the Boilerhouse Harbourside Restaurant & Bar - both areas are very popular here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
q Station Hotel Manly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing