We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An interesting experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Manly
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“An interesting experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were warmly welcomed at Reception. Had been unaware that the car parking area at the entrance was as far as our car was to go. Shuttle bus drivers were very helpful so clients could adjust to the different organisation for moving around the grounds at Q Station.
In hot humid weather it would have been awfully uncomfortable..our room Q48 was very, very hot when we arrived so fans and open doors were welcome-thankfully the past weekend was raining and cooler.
Best part: Meals served were excellent at breakfast and lunch We commend all of those working there especially, Vicki serving us and the chef working on Sunday at lunch time.
We would appreciate the room we are staying in to be at a normally comfortable temperature when we arrive. The room was stuffy and very, very hot when we first walked in. Making us feel as if it had not been used for.......It took quite a while to cool the room down by opening the doors and switching the fans on quite strongly. Thankfully, there were no flies..mosquitoes...noticed when cooling the room..
In summary, staff and food excellent. Thank you

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Accor-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    400
    146
    63
    31
See reviews for
177
500
32
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Had a fantastic time in the 1st class accommodation (as it was at the time of being a quarantine station) but, as we knew at the time of booking, our bathroom was a few staps awway in order to keep the original feel of this particular building, 'P2.' It was so quiet as no crs are allowed but, after parking the car at the check-in facility, a shuttle bus, which run 24 hrs, transported us to our room. Room was very clean with all the amenities and a few steps away was a beautiful lounge room with free coffee and the daily papers, books etc. We did a short tour of the historical buildings but, in the main, we did our own thing - lots of walking amongst the bush and enjoying the magnificent views; relaxing, eating, swimming and snorkelling, and we even sat and waited and were very lucky to see a penguin come ashore at dusk. The staff were all lovely and the food waas great - having the Advantage Plus card made it reasonably priced. All-in-all we thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay and I can't wait to go back again......

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda-of-Coogee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great escape, great view, great proximity to Sydney. Very enjoyable.
The history talk was very enlightening, so much happened on this site (if only the walls could talk).
The evening meal was perfect and breakfast by the beach was amazing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenWSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

I had wanted to stay at q station for a long time mainly due to it's unique location and the history surrounding it and i was not disappointed. We had a lovely room with a large verandah with beautiful harbour views. dinner is recommended in the boiler room. top class fine dining. the guest lounges with free tea and coffee are a nice touch and furnished in keeping with the hisory of the station. i would also highly recommend the ghost tour. Also the ensuite rooms for convenience and privacy.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manth10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in Sydney hotels a lot over the years and I was interested in something different this time to visit relatives in Manly.. Q station has its disadvantages. The heritage listing means that the rooms are a bit quirky and the absence of aircon could be a problem on really hot days. Parking the car at the gate and then relying on shuttle bus to get around the premises reduces traffic but it does mean that you need to allow another 10-15 minutes to get to another destination in Sydney.
On the other hand, the history is fascinating, service is very good and you get some of the best views in Sydney. Don't forget to check out the guest room on the point near the old isolation ward. What other hotel in Sydney can claim Bandicoots on your doorstep in the evening?

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTSVico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

we only spent a night at the Q Station but we have already planned our next stay. It is a fantastic site with plenty of space to explore - perfect for families and outdoor types. Being so close to Manly was great as we could duck down and grab some dinner.
The room was comfortable and although the bathroom was separate it really was not a big deal - in fact added to the charm of our stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCD111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This heritage listed site holds an amazing part of Sydneys history. They have done a wonderful job maintaining the style of the old Quarantine Station while incorporating very comfortable rooms with excellent ensuites and a great restaurant - The Boilerhouse. You cant take your car onto the property so everything is done by mini bus. You either wait for it to do the rounds or just call and they will collect you. There is an excellent museum, that you must visit to put the place in context, down near the restaurant. Reading some of the other reviews, yes, there is no air conditioning however, we went in January (with out children) and didnt struggle with the heat, the fans were just fine. It was a reasonably pleasant night though. Our room slept 4. We had one room with a fold our sofa bed that was very comfortable indeed (the room also had a tv, amenities etc) then a small corridor to the other room which had a king size bed and a good size trundle bed. We all fit in really well. The bathroom was between the two spaces. The good design of this was you can shut two doors between the room, which helped with noise (ie you could have a quite read in one room and have the TV on in the other and you wouldnt hear it - great for families.) Breakfast is a good standard, even though the lighting in the breakfast room could be improved. The sitting rooms with coffee machines are fantastic. All rooms have outside comfortable chairs for you to sit and take in the remarkable view of Sydney Harbour. Make sure you go to the Middle Head lookout. We spent an hour their at dusk and it was remarkable. We watched a massive cruise liner leave the harbour with its lights on. I have stayed at this property once before in winter and the heating worked really well. I have also attended conferences there and they are a very high standard. Amazing for a day or a few days. I honestly believe if you decided to stay for a few days you would feel like you had a seriously relaxing holiday in a remarkable location - quite and classy. My daughter even found a rabbit bouncing around and was thrilled.

Room Tip: The family room suited our needs very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucindaarmour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manly
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Manly
Quest Manly
Quest Manly
#1 of 13 in Manly
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Manly
The Sebel Manly Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#47 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel

Property: Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Address: 1 North Head Scenic Dr, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly > Manly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Manly
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Manly
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on North Head at Manly, Q Station offers unparalleled sweeping views of Sydney Harbour from Manly back towards the City and South Head. With over 70 buildings spread across 33 hectares, bring your walking shoes with you. We offer a shuttle service on site as no private vehicles are given access - so leave your vehicle at our carpark, jump on board and relax. Whilst here we'd recommend that you visit our Luggage Store Visitor Centre Cafe & Museum, as well as the Boilerhouse Harbourside Restaurant & Bar - both areas are very popular here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
q Station Hotel Manly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing