We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pubic Central”
Review of Lidcombe Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lidcombe Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lidcombe
Reviewed October 22, 2008

I would not recommend this Motor Inn if it was the last place on earth. I booked a group of 24 people in to this place for 6 nights only to find it was a dirty, dungy, overly priced hole. A few of our rooms had not been cleaned from the people before. There was food stains all in the kitchen, [--] on the toilet, mould in the showers, hair all over the couches and worst of all a couple of beds were covered in pubic hair and toilet paper. Even after the owners came in twice to clean it, it was still disgusting and had the cheek to say wait for the cleaner in the morning and tell her what you want done. This ruined 2 days of our travel as we had to find somewhere else to stay. It cost us over $2000 extra to change accomodation and transport at late notice. I thought being charged $1000 for one nights accomodation was wrong. We got accomodation on the Gold Coast beach front for 3/4 the price of this place and it was a mansion. It is a huge embarrasement to have this place under Best Western. Not sure if I can trust that name again. I don't rate Lidcombe Motor Inn any stars.

K. Dorward
New Zealand Martial Arts Academy

Stayed: October 2008
3  Thank KDORWADR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 49 of 49 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2006

The Motel is within five minutes walk of Lidcombe Railway Station from which frequent trains run to Olymoic Park, Parramatta and Sydney City. It is within easy walk of shops and the Lidcombe RSL Club that serves good cheap meals. For value the motel is far cheaper than staying in places such as Olympic Park and Sydney City.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Haveago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2006

We stayed in this hotel for the New year eve 2005. We didn't book a hotel early enough to be in the center so we needed to find a solution. But this hotel was not a good one.

The Hotel is far away from the center, and in spite of being close to a railway station, we needed almost 30 min by train to reach the central station.
The room was terrible, small and dark; the carpet was dirty and burned by cigarette.
Additionally the air conditioned broke down during the night.

Maybe the value for this special day was not so bad, but I think this hotel is so far away from the center, the New Years Eve event is not having any effect on the room rate. You can find a much better hotel for almost the same price in a better location.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Wagga Wagga
14
Reviewed August 30, 2005

From the moment we got there, there were problems. They weren't just minimal problems either, we had called ahead to double check everything and they still messed us around. Once we finally got into it had not been vacuumed and there was cigarette ash on the floor and even in the beds. If you're travelling between places and need a place to crash and will only spend a couple of hours sleeping in the room then maybe this is place for you but I just found it dirty and to much fussing around.

  • Stayed: July 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2004

Stayed here over New Years 2001. Much further from central Sydney than we thought when we booked, but it is very close to Olympic Park and right near the train that can take you right into Sydney or to the Airport. Room was not fancy, but clean and very comfortable. Was a very good value at the time we stayed. (The US dollar was looking very good compared to the Australian dollar then too, though) Hotel staff was very nice! Chatted with us about our travels, gave us some locals tips, and let us wash our clothes in their washer. Would stay there again if we wanted to be west of Sydney a bit!

  • Stayed: January 2001
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravellerStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Номера все одинаковые. Выбирайте на 2 этаже.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Evgeniya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lidcombe
1.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Sydney Olympic Park Hotel
Ibis Budget Sydney Olympic Park ...
#4 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
878 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Enfield
Ibis Budget Enfield
#1 of 2 in Strathfield South
331 reviews
2.8 mi away
Shilla Lodge Hotel
Shilla Lodge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Strathfield
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Novotel Sydney Olympic Park
Novotel Sydney Olympic Park
#2 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
1,292 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis Sydney Olympic Park
Ibis Sydney Olympic Park
#3 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
486 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pullman at Sydney Olympic Park
Pullman at Sydney Olympic Park
#1 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lidcombe Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lidcombe Motor Inn

Address: Corner Mark & Taylor Streets, Lidcombe, Auburn, New South Wales 2141, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Auburn > Lidcombe
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lidcombe
Price Range: $670 - $679 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lidcombe Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Lidcombe Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing