We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's what you would expect for $99 a night incl parking” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lidcombe Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lidcombe Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lidcombe
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“It's what you would expect for $99 a night incl parking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

We booked here at the last minute, wanting something cheap and close proximity to Acer Arena. Excellent location for that, with the train station right across the road.
The room was comfortable enough. A bit dusty. I didn't use the shower, it looked a little mouldy in the grout, but the rest of the bathroom was fine with upgraded fixtures. The bed was comfortable, the air-conditioner was loud, but after a late night it certainly didn't keep me awake.
Good size TV and plenty of tea and coffee.
Perfect if you are short on cash and just sleeping there after a concert or event.
Certainly not the kind of place you would 'holiday'.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kathiiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    17
    6
    12
See reviews for
10
13
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

We have stayed at this great little gem a number of times and it is our 'backup' stay for sydney trips. Each time we have booked the family apartments, which are in a separate building behind the main one.

The staff at check in were friendly and efficient. There is secure parking. The apartment was clean and serviceable. The furniture is a little dated, but this isn't the Hilton. The rooms were what we were after ie clean and comfortable, no frills. The washer and dryer is a bonus when you have kids and always gets a workout.

It is a little awkward having to get the kitchen pots and pans from reception, but I understand their rationale.

The best thing about this place is its proximity to lidcombe station: being behind the main building there is no noise at all from the railway, yet it is literally just around the corner. We have stayed here several times and the staff are happy for us to leave our car in the car park free of charge and then we catch the train to the city, do all we have to do there and then get the car and drive home.

I can thoroughly recommend the apartments. Sure, it isn't 5 star, but you're not paying 5-star either. But for self-contained accommodation in Sydney, with free on-site parking and proximity to transport- well, good luck finding that for the same price or cheaper.

Room Tip: the self-contained apartments, but ask for the po.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2011

Room was ok, front window faced the street, a bit noisy but we found dust on the bedside tables and in the kitchenette and toilets, I complained to the reception guy.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snoopy13132008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lidcombe hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

I wish I knew this before I booked, but there are better choices in the surrounding areas (Parramatta, Olympic Park, Rosehill) so only stay here if you have no other choice. Located in what would have to be one of the noisiest places in Sydney, don't expect a decent sleep. The aircon chugs away in the wall and is nearly as noisy as the heavy trucks coming and going from the industrial park across the road at all hours.

The rooms are acceptable - basic but not particularly clean and in need of a bit of TLC....I'm surprised it carries the Best Western name as its not up to the standard you'd expect for a BW. Suffocated through one long night due to excessive use of an overpowering cleaning fluid......I'm not a smoker, but a smoking room may have been better. Made worse by poor ventilation and windows key locked.

Some difficulty communicating with staff as the ones I met didn't speak very good english. Had breakfast (in room only) but quickly wished I'd gone to one of the nearby cafes. One good aspect is the motel's close proximity to Lidcombe Station - a 30 minute train trip to the city. Overall the Lidcombe BW is a basic, noisy, odorous motel reasonably well located to a train station. If you want more, look at other nearby options.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dooragan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
151 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2010

Was looking fir a reasonably priced self-service apartment in Sydney. A difficult task. We finally happened upon this Motor Inn. After reading tghe mixed review, we took a deep breath and took the plunge. Check in was quick and efficient. The apartment we were in was in a building behind the actual motor inn. To have pots and pans one has to specifically ask, give a $100 deposit and they are then availabe in a large plastic tub. Furnishings in the apartment are definitely economy class, but serviceable. There is a washer and drier in a laundry room, which is convenient. Internet has just been switched to cable,and the desk provided a cable to plug it in. The staff were very attentive, and responded quickly to concerns (like a light bulb out in the hallway, which made it dark and potentially dangerous). The train into Sydney CBD is a five minute walk from the hotel, making it convenient to travel around the city without a car. We found a grocery store and a shopping mall a short distance away. Parking was underneath the main Inn, and required a hotel key to open the gates (a nice security feature).There were a few local restaurants and bars around the corner.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs-K-albany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkes Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2008

I would not recommend this Motor Inn if it was the last place on earth. I booked a group of 24 people in to this place for 6 nights only to find it was a dirty, dungy, overly priced hole. A few of our rooms had not been cleaned from the people before. There was food stains all in the kitchen, [--] on the toilet, mould in the showers, hair all over the couches and worst of all a couple of beds were covered in pubic hair and toilet paper. Even after the owners came in twice to clean it, it was still disgusting and had the cheek to say wait for the cleaner in the morning and tell her what you want done. This ruined 2 days of our travel as we had to find somewhere else to stay. It cost us over $2000 extra to change accomodation and transport at late notice. I thought being charged $1000 for one nights accomodation was wrong. We got accomodation on the Gold Coast beach front for 3/4 the price of this place and it was a mansion. It is a huge embarrasement to have this place under Best Western. Not sure if I can trust that name again. I don't rate Lidcombe Motor Inn any stars.

K. Dorward
New Zealand Martial Arts Academy

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank KDORWADR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2006

The Motel is within five minutes walk of Lidcombe Railway Station from which frequent trains run to Olymoic Park, Parramatta and Sydney City. It is within easy walk of shops and the Lidcombe RSL Club that serves good cheap meals. For value the motel is far cheaper than staying in places such as Olympic Park and Sydney City.

  • Liked — The price and the location to train service and RSL Club
  • Disliked — the rooms are in need of renovation and do not have cable TV
  • Tips/Secrets — the higher floors are less noisy
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Haveago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lidcombe
1.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Sydney Olympic Park Hotel
Ibis Budget Sydney Olympic Park ...
#4 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
2.8 mi away
Shilla Lodge Hotel
Shilla Lodge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Strathfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pullman at Sydney Olympic Park
Pullman at Sydney Olympic Park
#1 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Novotel Sydney Olympic Park
Novotel Sydney Olympic Park
#2 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis Sydney Olympic Park
Ibis Sydney Olympic Park
#3 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
3.2 mi away
Parramatta Waldorf Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lidcombe Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lidcombe Motor Inn

Property: Lidcombe Motor Inn
Address: Corner Mark & Taylor Streets, Lidcombe, Auburn, New South Wales 2141, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Auburn > Lidcombe
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lidcombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lidcombe Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Lidcombe Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing