We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dirty, we found dust everywhere”
Review of Lidcombe Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lidcombe Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lidcombe
NSW
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very dirty, we found dust everywhere”
Reviewed April 9, 2011

Room was ok, front window faced the street, a bit noisy but we found dust on the bedside tables and in the kitchenette and toilets, I complained to the reception guy.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snoopy13132008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    17
    6
    13
See reviews for
10
14
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

I wish I knew this before I booked, but there are better choices in the surrounding areas (Parramatta, Olympic Park, Rosehill) so only stay here if you have no other choice. Located in what would have to be one of the noisiest places in Sydney, don't expect a decent sleep. The aircon chugs away in the wall and is nearly as noisy as the heavy trucks coming and going from the industrial park across the road at all hours.

The rooms are acceptable - basic but not particularly clean and in need of a bit of TLC....I'm surprised it carries the Best Western name as its not up to the standard you'd expect for a BW. Suffocated through one long night due to excessive use of an overpowering cleaning fluid......I'm not a smoker, but a smoking room may have been better. Made worse by poor ventilation and windows key locked.

Some difficulty communicating with staff as the ones I met didn't speak very good english. Had breakfast (in room only) but quickly wished I'd gone to one of the nearby cafes. One good aspect is the motel's close proximity to Lidcombe Station - a 30 minute train trip to the city. Overall the Lidcombe BW is a basic, noisy, odorous motel reasonably well located to a train station. If you want more, look at other nearby options.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dooragan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lidcombe hotels

Albany, NY
Level Contributor
159 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Was looking fir a reasonably priced self-service apartment in Sydney. A difficult task. We finally happened upon this Motor Inn. After reading tghe mixed review, we took a deep breath and took the plunge. Check in was quick and efficient. The apartment we were in was in a building behind the actual motor inn. To have pots and pans one has to specifically ask, give a $100 deposit and they are then availabe in a large plastic tub. Furnishings in the apartment are definitely economy class, but serviceable. There is a washer and drier in a laundry room, which is convenient. Internet has just been switched to cable,and the desk provided a cable to plug it in. The staff were very attentive, and responded quickly to concerns (like a light bulb out in the hallway, which made it dark and potentially dangerous). The train into Sydney CBD is a five minute walk from the hotel, making it convenient to travel around the city without a car. We found a grocery store and a shopping mall a short distance away. Parking was underneath the main Inn, and required a hotel key to open the gates (a nice security feature).There were a few local restaurants and bars around the corner.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs-K-albany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkes Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2008

I would not recommend this Motor Inn if it was the last place on earth. I booked a group of 24 people in to this place for 6 nights only to find it was a dirty, dungy, overly priced hole. A few of our rooms had not been cleaned from the people before. There was food stains all in the kitchen, [--] on the toilet, mould in the showers, hair all over the couches and worst of all a couple of beds were covered in pubic hair and toilet paper. Even after the owners came in twice to clean it, it was still disgusting and had the cheek to say wait for the cleaner in the morning and tell her what you want done. This ruined 2 days of our travel as we had to find somewhere else to stay. It cost us over $2000 extra to change accomodation and transport at late notice. I thought being charged $1000 for one nights accomodation was wrong. We got accomodation on the Gold Coast beach front for 3/4 the price of this place and it was a mansion. It is a huge embarrasement to have this place under Best Western. Not sure if I can trust that name again. I don't rate Lidcombe Motor Inn any stars.

K. Dorward
New Zealand Martial Arts Academy

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank KDORWADR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2006

The Motel is within five minutes walk of Lidcombe Railway Station from which frequent trains run to Olymoic Park, Parramatta and Sydney City. It is within easy walk of shops and the Lidcombe RSL Club that serves good cheap meals. For value the motel is far cheaper than staying in places such as Olympic Park and Sydney City.

  • Liked — The price and the location to train service and RSL Club
  • Disliked — the rooms are in need of renovation and do not have cable TV
  • Tips/Secrets — the higher floors are less noisy
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Haveago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2006

We stayed in this hotel for the New year eve 2005. We didn't book a hotel early enough to be in the center so we needed to find a solution. But this hotel was not a good one.

The Hotel is far away from the center, and in spite of being close to a railway station, we needed almost 30 min by train to reach the central station.
The room was terrible, small and dark; the carpet was dirty and burned by cigarette.
Additionally the air conditioned broke down during the night.

Maybe the value for this special day was not so bad, but I think this hotel is so far away from the center, the New Years Eve event is not having any effect on the room rate. You can find a much better hotel for almost the same price in a better location.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 30, 2005

From the moment we got there, there were problems. They weren't just minimal problems either, we had called ahead to double check everything and they still messed us around. Once we finally got into it had not been vacuumed and there was cigarette ash on the floor and even in the beds. If you're travelling between places and need a place to crash and will only spend a couple of hours sleeping in the room then maybe this is place for you but I just found it dirty and to much fussing around.

  • Stayed July 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lidcombe
1.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Sydney Olympic Park Hotel
Ibis Budget Sydney Olympic Park ...
#4 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
2.8 mi away
Shilla Lodge Hotel
Shilla Lodge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Strathfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pullman at Sydney Olympic Park
Pullman at Sydney Olympic Park
#1 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Novotel Sydney Olympic Park
Novotel Sydney Olympic Park
#2 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis Sydney Olympic Park
Ibis Sydney Olympic Park
#3 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
3.2 mi away
Parramatta Waldorf Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lidcombe Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lidcombe Motor Inn

Property: Lidcombe Motor Inn
Address: Corner Mark & Taylor Streets, Lidcombe, Auburn, New South Wales 2141, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Auburn > Lidcombe
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lidcombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lidcombe Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lidcombe Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing