We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor poor service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Liberty Plains Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lidcombe
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor poor service!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

I cant believe they managed a 3 star rating. 1/2 a star at best. Started of by having to wait for ages at reception. No one came even after ringing the bell multiple times. Finally had to call the number. Even then, the manager did not apologise. Bathrooms are so tiny, you had to coordinate opening the bathroom door and the shower door. The door was not even mounted on properly. You had to hitch it up to close it. We had booked for 6 nights earlier but had to cut it short at day 2 due to an emergency. Although it was supposed to be some special which they cant cancel, I was hoping for some empathy and to at least give us some credit for another stay. The manager came up with all sorts of excuses not to give us any money back. "You have deprived other people of booking accommodation here......" when clearly there were so many vacancies. Treated poorly! Was not accommodating at all. Severely overpriced for what's given! Never ever going back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ywf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    17
    7
    12
See reviews for
16
9
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

Room was very clean and standard size...the night manager was very helpful and kind, but was hard to understand. The bed was very comfortable, and one of the best I've slept in a budget motel. Also was able to checkout at 2 pm...nice of them.

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quieter, upstairs left side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

Bathrooms are quite small and clean, comfy beds...

Room Tip: the tiled rooms upstairs are new and cleaner
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prakash j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2011

stayed in the family room, which had a double bed and double bunk. all of the beds are old and made out of wood which creaked every time you moved a muscle. the bathroom has been redone, but is very shoddy, with the taps not fitting the shower wall, sink all dirty and basically pretty gross. Wall mounted TV was great, but that was about the best thing this hotel has to offer.

The only good thing about this hotel is the location, a 5 minute walk up the street to the main shopping area and a large club which had lovely meals.

Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Bec72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
libertyplains, General Manager at Liberty Plains Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,
Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the Liberty Plains Motor Inn. We are in the midst of changing the furniture of the room you speak about, and are doing away with all the bunk beds in our motel. We are also renovating the bathrooms of the rooms in stages. From next month, we will also offer Foxtel television to all our guests. We hope you return and notice the changes, and shall offer you a discount on your next stay.
Sincerely
Akhil Joshi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lidcombe hotels

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

Arrived at the motel reception to find the owner on the phone discussing personal business. We waited patiently for 20 mins and when he finally got off the phone there was no apology or acknowledgment of our wait. If we hadn't been very tired from traveling we would have walked out. Later when we went to reception to ask for a taxi booking he was extremely unhelpful and intimidating to another guest who was there with two young children and her mum.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rodjacdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lidcombe
1.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Sydney Olympic Park Hotel
Ibis Budget Sydney Olympic Park ...
#4 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
3.1 mi away
Shilla Lodge Hotel
Shilla Lodge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Strathfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pullman at Sydney Olympic Park
Pullman at Sydney Olympic Park
#1 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Novotel Sydney Olympic Park
Novotel Sydney Olympic Park
#2 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ibis Sydney Olympic Park
Ibis Sydney Olympic Park
#3 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Burwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Plains Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Plains Motor Inn

Property: Liberty Plains Motor Inn
Address: 5 Olympic Dr, Lidcombe, Auburn, New South Wales 2141, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Auburn > Lidcombe
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lidcombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Liberty Plains Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Liberty Plains Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing