We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget accomodation. Cheap and cheap”
Review of Addison's on Anzac

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Addison's on Anzac
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kensington
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Budget accomodation. Cheap and cheap”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Addison's is in need of an overhaul. Prices have been creeping up over the last couple of years with little improvement offered to the guests. However, there is free parking and it is close to Fox Studios, NIDA and the Uni. Its a short drive to the city, China Town, Darling Harbour etc and there is public transport on your door step. Basically, you get what you pay for. Its cheap because its cheap! Lots of nice cheap restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieRz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    16
    17
    61
See reviews for
26
22
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This is the 3rd time we have returned to what we affectionally now refer to as the 'The Addy'. It delivers exactly what we need and hasn't let us down. Adequate 'facilities' including a bed, shower and balcony. Our room this time had been recently painted suitably impressing us. Full computer facilities now also available near reception. Whilst we haven't tried the in-house dining or restaurant the local cafe only 50m away is first class. What more could you ask for with the SCG only being a 20 min stroll away? Looking forward to a return trip soon.

Room Tip: Care with getting out if the lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank ECC1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

It's cheap, but tired, very tired, and that's putting it kindly. We needed to be within walking distance of the University of NSW for a business engagement in Sydney, so I booked the Addison on-line because it had location, free off-street parking and a reasonable price, When we arrived, reception staff were pleasant and helpful. But that's where the positives end. Make no mistake, the Addison's best days are behind it. There hasn't been any serious maintenance or deep cleaning for many years. The staff merely attend to the bare essentials - think shuffling the deck chairs on the Titanic.

There are too many examples of shoddy maintenance and cleaning to mention, but a couple of photos will give you the idea. Holes burned in both arms of the sofa, the smiley face of tape residue on the cupboard door, the disintegrating beside lamp and years of accumulated grey fluff almost completely blocking the air vent in the bathroom.

If you're hard of hearing, have poor eyesight and no sense of smell you might just get away with staying at the Addison. Otherwise, take the advice of Monty Python: "Run away, run away!".

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank quasimodo43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kensington hotels

Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Haven't stayed for a while, just logged on to see if this fleapit is still open. And apparently it is despite recent reviews that show nothing has changed. Oh, Yvonne S. from East Sydney liked the place, all very clean and nice and quiet. The fact Yvonne is from East Sydney, you could ask why she would be staying in a run down Motel in East Sydney, when a cab fare from anywhere to anywhere else within East Sydney would be way less than what this dump charges for a night. I would suggest Yvonne has not stayed at this cesspool, she was just asked to say a few nice things.
AVIOD STAYING HERE!

Room Tip: Try any one of the other hundreds of places to stay in Sydney.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maclean, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Booked for two nights as we wer attending a sporting event in the area. This hotel will be on my lost of not to go to again. Can deal with dated furniture and decor but annoying when things are not working. Light switches had the outer side of the casing missing. Bedside lamp did not work at all. Planned to eat at the restaurant in te building to find out that it was closed down. Website still advertises the restaurant and there is also literature in the room giving details and times???Hotel in convenient area but not worth the fee charged for weekends. If we had book it during the week days we would have paid $99 instead of the $148 a night. Possibly if it was $99 a night it may have been more acceptable. Parking is extremely tight as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnD919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney East
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2013

the hotel was very nice, staff were friendly, room was clean. although hotel is close to the main road, the room was very quite. I was very impressed with the room and I will be back to stay again. :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We recently stayed for 2 nights due to an event in the area. After reading reviews I was extremely concerned. On arrival I was very disappointed to see that all the reviews had not prompted management to clean the property. I work in a hotel in Canberra and would not expect guests to pay for old food in the microwave, blood spots on the woodwork in the bathroom, faeces on the wall next to toilet, skirting boards, carpets, glass doors and door tracks that haven't been cleaned in months. On a positive note the breakfast was nice (wouldn't want to see the kitchen though). Staff were nice (though I would be embarrassed to work there). It would be a reasonable property if cleaned up.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kensington
Veriu Randwick
#4 of 11 in Randwick
166 reviews
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#7 of 11 in Randwick
137 reviews
Meriton Suites Zetland
#11 of 179 in Sydney
2,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Inner South
Meriton Suites Waterloo
Meriton Suites Waterloo
#23 of 179 in Sydney
1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Addison's on Anzac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addison's on Anzac

Property: Addison's on Anzac
Address: 147 Anzac Pde, Kensington, Randwick, New South Wales 2033, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kensington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Addison's on Anzac 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Addison's on Anzac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Addison`s On Anzac Hotel Kensington
Addisons On Anzac Kensington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing