We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treasure in Homebush”
Review of Darcys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Darcys Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Homebush B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Treasure in Homebush”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

What a great find. Usually stay in stuffy expensive hotels while in Sydney so was thrilled to find Darcys. All the reviews sounded great, so decided to stay there for five days. Kevin was very accommodating with my early arrival. The suite was fantastic. Beautiful furnishings, excellent bathroom (girls, no need to pack the hairdryer - the one supplied was top of the range), great bed and pillows. Really couldn't ask for better and will be staying again when in Sydney.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Alvean_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    14
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
37
6
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Loved this motel, usually at motels i find the people rude and try to hurry you along well not this place as we walked in the front door we were greeted to kevin what a lovely guy he was he showed us around to the kitchen laundry etc then took us to our room were there was not a thing out of place best nights sleep iv had in a long time i didnt want to leave :/ fresh fruit ceral juice for breakfast just fantastic absolutly loved it here will stay again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank happyholidayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Such a lovely location - quiet and whilst away from the hustle & bustle of Sydney it was well within reach to travel into town. The place was lovely - immaculately clean, the host was very pleasant, our stay was relaxing and one that will be repeated. We had a King size room with ensuite - there were also 2 single beds in the room so maybe our kids might get to join us next time! The breakfast was great - Continental - anything more would have seen us over eat.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank ShezM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

All the reviews pretty much sum up Darcys. Clean, comfortable, close to transport & amenities.
Sydney CBD is only 30 mins away. Rooms are huge, ensuite spotless, kitchen spotless, free wifi. Nothing more to say. Host was gentle and accomodating. Great place, will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CrunchyMilkshake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was a fantastic find. Very peaceful, great for my husband to recuperate after surgery. Our room and bathroom was spacious and very clean, breakfast was more than adequate, and the general atmosphere of the place was beautiful. Kevin was an attentive and caring host and his staff (who were very discreet) were friendly and accommodating. We will definitely be back to stay, and we are telling all our friends. I can't believe it's been a secret for so long!

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be equally quiet and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 59Kathy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Darcy's is superior accommodation for singles or couples on business or leisure travel in a very convenient location, easy walking distance to Strathfield railway station, 8 mins drive to Sydney Olympic Park & ANZ Stadium, easy drive to Rosehill Racecourse, easy access to M4, easy walk to Strathfield Plaza shops and restaurants in Homebush and Strathfield. The hotel is a gem, I stayed in a room with ensuite, everything spotless, couldn't find fault with anything. Onsite parking is available and a continental breakfast is included. It would be remiss not to mention the wonderful attention and care given to us by Kevin, he even drove my wife to the railway station to help her get her bearings. We have never stayed anywhere in Sydney where we were looked after so well and felt so comfortable in our accommodation. Would I stay there again, definately!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank thedoultonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

We were stunned by the beauty of this heritage building which combines classic architecture with all the modern conveniences. Darcy's was fresh and clean throughout. The room we stayed in was elegant and had a beautiful modern bathroom, refrigerator and kettle. The beds were very comfortable.
A generous breakfast was supplied each morning in the heritage dining room and we were invited to use the modern chefs kitchen for our other meals anytime we liked.
There is a coin-operated laundry for guests on site which was very useful. A wonderful sitting room is at the front of the building and is well-stocked with books and reading material.
There are some shops a short walk away, including great coffees, post-office and a small supermarket, as well as the local library. The local people were particularly friendly.
The staff at Darcy's were efficient and friendly and made our stay even more relaxing. We can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TravellingAussieMuso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Homebush
0.5 mi away
Shilla Lodge Hotel
Shilla Lodge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Strathfield
11 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pullman at Sydney Olympic Park
Pullman at Sydney Olympic Park
#1 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
1,496 reviews
1.9 mi away
Novotel Sydney Olympic Park
Novotel Sydney Olympic Park
#2 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ibis Sydney Olympic Park
Ibis Sydney Olympic Park
#3 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
468 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Sydney Olympic Park Hotel
Ibis Budget Sydney Olympic Park ...
#4 of 4 in Sydney Olympic Park
850 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Burwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darcys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darcys Hotel

Property: Darcys Hotel
Address: 2 Abbotsford Rd, Homebush, Strathfield, New South Wales 2140, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Strathfield > Homebush
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Homebush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Darcys Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Darcys is centrally located in a beautiful heritage tree-lined street, 14 km by road or 15 mins by train from Sydney CBD. We are a short stroll to either Homebush or Strathfield town centres. Strathfield is a major transport hub for both trains and buses where connections can be made for both suburban and country link destinations. Darcys is close to local restaurants, cafes and shopping outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Darcys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing