We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome, but only for the under-25's/young at heart!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Greenwich Village Accommodation
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome, but only for the under-25's/young at heart!”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Stayed here for three weeks. Searching for accommodation in Sydney is an absolute nightmare, and GVA was our beacon of hope! The location is great: only five minutes walk to Wollstonecraft Station, and the train takes you to the city in less than 20 minutes (plus you get a postcard view of the Opera House enroute). The actual building isn't much to look at, but it's clean, the showers are hot and a decent daily breakfast/dinner are included in the rent. The TV room is probably the nicest room in the building as it's been recently done up, so it's great for watching movies and just chilling out. The wireless can be a bit sketchy at times, especially in the evenings when everyone is trying to check their Facebook, so just be warned!

The people are what make the place: it's a mix of homegrown students studying in Sydney, people learning English and others doing internships, etc etc. People tend to be in the 18-25 age bracket, although I did spot some more mature folk lurking around. It's a much more friendly atmosphere than a hostel, and Tom and Susan really try to nurture the community spirit. If you want to party during your stay, then you will always find people to go out with; if you are looking for a more peaceful stay, then perhaps this isn't the place for you! Having said that, on the nights when I didn't go out, I slept very well and so all that is required is an open mind and a good pair of earplugs!!

In summary: loved my stay and I will definitely stay here when I'm next in Sydney.

Room Tip: Don't get a ground floor room if you are adverse to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krisface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom L, Manager at Greenwich Village Accommodation, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thanks for the review Krisface - so glad you liked it here at GVA. Managing up to 160 students can be a noise challenge sometimes but we hope to strike the right balance between having fun and the necessity of sleep! You'll be glad to hear that the ping pong room is now being renovated in the same style as the TV room so we're all looking forward to some epic competitions later on this year.
As for the mature folk 'lurking' about, I fear that's me! We have had many guests 30+ stay with us over the years including a 60 year old lawyer from Queensland who was here for over a year. I guess your comment about 'young at heart' is a good one.
Thanks again for the feedback
Tom
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    2
    1
    8
See reviews for
2
2
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

I stayed in gva for 6 weeks. At first I wasn't too keen on the place however with time I made a lot of friends and met so many great people that made the stay there so great. Its not luxury but You get used to it and start to love it. They have a really nice tv/cinema room, table tennis and a common room which allows u to interact with other tenants and make lots of friends. The food wasn't that great but the party's were awesome. It's defo a student place. But there are non students there. I didn't want to leave by the end of it!!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Missdesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom L, Manager at Greenwich Village Accommodation, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thanks Missdesi. We didn't want you to leave either! We know we're not perfect but it's great that you had such a wonderful time. That's what we like to think GVA's all about.
Tom
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2009

My boyfiend and I are from Ireland and we booked a room at Greenwich Village over the net before leaving just needed somewhere to go straight to when we landed knew we would be worn out after the long journey didnt want any extra stress!! and the Staff at GVA where very welcoming and helpful to us when we got there.

we ended up staying longer than we had first booked for because the place was clean, comfortable and affordable and the staff where very approachable and friendly

its in a really good location just 15 mins on the train and your in the City with good public transport in the area

Met alot of great people there from all over the world it has a real interntional community feel to the place

Overall we both really enjoyed are time at GVA and next time where back in Sydney it will be are 1st stop!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lornalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2009

As a student in Sydney I stayed at a couple of places before I found Greenwich. They looked after me so well there - the staff are great. It's in such a good position - just a lovely ferry ride to the city (or train if you're in a hurry). If you're looking for a party place then perhaps this isn't the place as they have quite strict rules about drinking etc. But if you're working or studying then it's ideal. Dinner and breakfast are included in the price so it's great if you want to save money and I found the food really good (thankyou Nam - the Thai head chef). I met so many nice people from all over the world here

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammy486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2008

I lived there for seven month. From June 2006 until December. As other people already said, the food is terrible and the people working there are not very vriendly. In the advertisement is described that there are PC with Internet. In fact just one or two of these Personal Computers worked properly and Internet was also only on "special" days. (Perhaps when the Owner stops downloading huge masses of files ;-))
In the Hostel it is forbidden to drink Alcohol. Thats for everybody. As we were drinking one beer in front of the TV we got a dissuasion should we do it another time. In order to live there you need to be 18+, so I think everybody should be allowed drinking if we would like.
Further more there is a "strict" policy concerning the food. Everywhere where little "notes" what is healthy to eat and what is not. So for example "Carrots eat much" "Meat eat less" etc.. But if you likte to choose more Carrots instead of Meat you can t have it. Cause Carrots seamed to be much more expensive that the meat. So I wouldnt be interested in where it comes from. The Compass-Group is the responsible Company.
The Shower Curtains in the bathrooms were full of mold. I will add some photos to make a prove. Moreover there are lots of Cockroaches in the whole building. Perhaps thats normal in Sydney. I dont know, I never stayed elsewhere. For me personally is was not such a problem.
The price for all this is in fact far toooo much. They should take far less in order of this poor service.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MasonBourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 7, 2003

I visited Australia last summer and stayed here for two weeks. It isn't bad for 20 year olds looking for a cheap place to meet others their age but the food is horrible and the people that work there are rude

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenwich
0.3 mi away
Hotel Urban St Leonards
Hotel Urban St Leonards
#1 of 3 in St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Twin Towers Inn
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn North Shore
Comfort Inn North Shore
#1 of 2 in Lane Cove
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments North Sydney
2.0 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Chatswood
0.3 mi away
The Greenwich Inn Motel
The Greenwich Inn Motel
#3 of 3 in St Leonards
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwich Village Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwich Village Accommodation

Property: Greenwich Village Accommodation
Address: 33 Greenwich Rd, Greenwich, Lane Cove, New South Wales 2065, Australia (Formerly Billy Blue Palace)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Lane Cove > Greenwich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Greenwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Greenwich Village Accommodation 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal home for both Australian and International students who are studying in Sydney and looking for:> Single and twin share rooms with some bunk share avaliable.> Three floors of accommodation, one female, one male and one mixed.> Large bright dining hall. Outdoor BBQ's.> Great meal options available.> TV & Video Lounges - including Foxtel.> Kitchenettes, laundry and ironing rooms.> Drink and snack vending machines.> In-ground swimming pool surrounded by relaxing leafy gardens.> Computer room with Internet access, Photocopying and Faxing facilities avaliable.> Wi-fi Throughout the entire building.> PIN security access, CCTV Cameras & Overnight Security.Greenwich Village welcomes students from all corners of the world and offers a safe, comfortable and fun environment for them to best enjoy their Sydney experience. A place where they can study and relax... Greenwich Village. Your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Greenwich Village Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenwich Village Hotel Greenwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing