We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid B&B!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Admiral Collingwood Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Bruges, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Splendid B&B!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

A stay at Admiral Collingwood Lodge starts at Circular Quay. With the right amount of romance you get yourself a spot on the Titanic-bit of the ferry (the “I’m the king of the World”-end, not the suicide one). After passing underneath Harbour Bridge and past islands your host can (and will) tell you about later on, you’ll be welcomed at the lodge by a most adorable couple of hosts and their friendly staff, and – not to forget – a stone dog. There’s Rob, who without knowing has a PhD in Douglass Family History (minored in Governor Macquarie anecdotes), and Jennifer, who warns you about all this.

The Lodge is spotlessly clean. I was there in times of full occupation and never had to wait at the bathrooms for a wash or a wee. I was enormously glad I could take a shower and get the 24 hours of British Airways off me, at my arrival at 9 am! Rob & Jennifer give you all the advice you need, and all is there for a great breakfast to start the day, including vegemite (smells like a bar, tastes like an armpit, but is aussie so smile).
The location is convenient, with bus & ferry transport links and a lot of food stores in the neighbourhood, and a little bit more local than the central B&B’s & hotels. Luggage could be left there for pick up on the last day, and I left with the best of memories.

Rob, Jennifer, Stuart, Marina, all the best & kind regards from Bruges!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HansMemling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
averagebloke015, Owner at Admiral Collingwood Lodge, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
This is a wonderfully funny and clever review of our Sydney hotel by a wickedly sly guest, who charmingly mocks while he covers us with praise, for which we thank him. It is a pleasure for us to know a guest has fully absorbed the joy of living at the “Admiral Collingwood” and its wonderful environs and recorded it fairly.
It was a joy listen to and to entertain him here, even knowing that the price would be his poisoned dart going straight for the chink in one’s armour – in my case an obsession with recounting Australian history to foreigners, ignorant of it, on which subject, as Hans has so pungently pointed out, I could and do “Bore for Australia”, to say nothing of Admiral Collingwood's victory at Trafalgar.
Beware, Australian visitors, when you visit Bruges, Hans's guided tours are renowned for their romance, in Europe's "most Romantic city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    63
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
65
124
46
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Spent a few days in Sydney and used this as a base. Hosts were all friendly and offered advice on local area, help yourself breakfast was a leisurely affair with feesh fruit too!! Added bonus if getting the ferry to the city can be there in 15-20 mins with good timing and bus stop aroind the corner.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wendieshmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
averagebloke015, Owner at Admiral Collingwood Lodge, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you wendyshmit for your kind and relevant review of the "Admiral Collingwood". We agree with you that we are located in a lovely spot and so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Even lots of people in Sydney do not know Drummoyne and its charms (although house prices here are skyrocketing). Our proximity to the City Centre, Birkenhead Point Olympic Park and the various universities is only part of the charm of the area, which grows as we get to know it better. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

This place is beautiful, all amenities are very close, owners are lovely, really friendly and helpful. The room was impeccible the same as the rest of the Lodge. Breakfast on the patio was lovely every morning such a beautiful setting. Would highly recommend a stay here!! The added bonus of 30mins by ferry into the fabulous Circular Quay and the Drummoyne Wharf is a 10min walk (dependant on agility).

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve the pomme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
averagebloke015, Owner at Admiral Collingwood Lodge, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Steve the Pommie and his wife were wonderful people to have staying at the "Admiral Collingwood", always easygoing and enjoying the place for what it is. And like dutiful guests have now written a lovely review, for which Thank You. They struck us as being fairly agile, but they must have taken the long way to the Drummoyne ferry wharf. We usually allow eight minutes and even though not very agile, have done it in six! What a privilege is is to travel to the City centre by ferry thru Sydney's incredible harbour. The trip is not long enough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surin, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This really is a "Lodge". Help yourself to breakfast, cook your own lunch or dinner. Very clean comfortable rooms, almost like being at home. Easy walk to the ferry to get to Circular Quay. Parking on the street is OK though depending in time of day you might be 250 meters away.
Overall - excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yeongogangsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
averagebloke015, Owner at Admiral Collingwood Lodge, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of the "Admiral Collingwood". Oddly, the very reason you could not park directly in front of the hotel, on occasion, was due to our location being so close to Sydney and so well served by public transport. We have people from further out from the city parking here to take cheap transport from here to the business centre of the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is a great place to stay.

Much better than most hotels, unless you want to pay $500 a night. Here, for a very reasonable price, you get a beautiful room with fridge and sink (I was in the double room). And you are treated like a person, not a number. The hosts are extremely friendly and pleasant. This is a home that you are welcomed into, not a lifeless high rise.

I found the room clean and well maintained - and the same for the bathrooms. This place makes it all easy. You don't have to pay for wifi as an 'extra' - it is free. Fruit and toast for breakfast - and eat it out in the peaceful garden area. Great kitchen if you want to cook something. Shared bathrooms but they are beautiful, very clean, and there was always one free.

There is also free parking, a very regular bus service to the city and major interchanges - but the best of all transports is walking down the hill (5-10 mins) to the ferry.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
averagebloke015, Owner at Admiral Collingwood Lodge, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Mark B's assessment of the "Admiral Collingwood" is most comprehensive and precise, as one would expect from a Harvard-trained Law Professor and very generous. Thank you. The funny thing about this was I wrongly thought this review of our Sydney hotel was written by another Mark B from NZ, whom I thanked profusely to his considerable bemusement. Now waiting to hear from you Mark B 2 !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed at this delightful B&B with my 14yr old son during our recent shopping spree to Sydney. It was perfect with a convent walk to Birkenhead Point Outlet Shops and regular ferry& bus service into CBD. For the scenic view take the ferry.Rooms were very comfortable and clean, loved all the extra little touches fresh flowers, scented bathrooms and being able to squeeze fresh OJ for breakfast. We hardly saw other guest except for pleasantries exchanged over the divine fig almond fruit toast.Kitchen was well appointed. Our hosts Robert & Jen were informative and welcoming. Set in peaceful surrounds this will be our families first choice of Sydney accommodation from now on.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
averagebloke015, Owner at Admiral Collingwood Lodge, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Merric and her son were great guests. They were so happy here enjoying the shopping in Sydney, so easy of access from the hotel. Their comments about us are most kind Our good value prices at the "Admiral Collingwood" allow a bit left over for shopping, We are very close to the now excellent Birkenhead Point shopping mall. It has over 100 famous brand-name outlets, plus restaurants, cafes with a superb view, a great Deli & a food-hall. With Aldi & a huge Coles, superb butcher and fruiterers, we do nearly all our own shopping here for our hotel. With luck, you may even see Birkenhead's most famous denizen, colourful former NSW Politician, Eddie ("We are innocent. We've done nothing wrong") Obeid, who has always had a taste for luxury.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2013

"What a find" We have been travelling to Sydney for many years to visit scattered family and friends in NSW. Everything about Admiral Collingwood Lodge was faultless. The owners and their staff are so welcoming and make one feel at home straight away. The city is so easy to access by ferry or bus and it is a pleasure to return to Admiral Collingwood after the day out - it is so comfortable.
Jenny and Gary R.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
averagebloke015, Owner at Admiral Collingwood Lodge, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Many thanks Jenny & Gary for your succinct, flattering and (in our opinion) accurate summing up of the "Admiral Collingwood" as a great accommodation for visitors to Sydney

However my saying that, as Mandy Rice Davies said of Lord Astor's evidence in a rather different matter "He would say THAT, wouldn't he!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drummoyne
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 179 in Sydney
4,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#18 of 179 in Sydney
5,735 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 140 in Sydney
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Collingwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Collingwood Lodge

Property: Admiral Collingwood Lodge
Address: 5 Collingwood St, Drummoyne, Sydney, New South Wales 2047, Australia (Formerly Harbour Breeze Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Drummoyne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Drummoyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Admiral Collingwood Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Admiral Collingwood is an old country-style Heritage-Listed 1888 millionaire’s mansion. It is run as a family-style hotel. We are most highly rated for comfort, cleanliness and location, by all the major web-sites reviewing hotels and lodges in Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Admiral Collingwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing