We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Admiral Collingwood Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Satisfactory”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This lodge is easily located from public transport so wasn't any trouble to find by bus from the city. We found the large staircase (although lovely to the eye) a little difficult to carry our bags up and down, but got there in the end, with a bit of help from the owner! Our twin room was ok, but not anything special. The shared bathroom was kept very clean and comfortable to use. I personally really liked the spacious shower! Was overall a nice stay, but for the same price have stayed in much better.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kirstie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
averagebloke015, Owner at Admiral Collingwood Lodge, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Many thanks Kirsty F for your positive review - we agree about you comment regarding value for money and have adjusted out prices downwards accordingly. Please try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    62
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
65
124
45
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed for 2 night in the Admiral lodge. The property itself is not bad but i thought for the daily rate we paid we could expect our own bathroom!!!. The unit is very small ( smaller than standard hotel room) and did not have A/c - so it was very hot! The managers were polite and try to help but what can you do if you have to wait for a toilet room after midnight?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daleguy255115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
averagebloke015, Manager at Admiral Collingwood Lodge, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
DaleGuy,

We find it difficult to understand why you chose stay at our lodge which clearly advertises share bathrooms, a selection of various sized rooms with ceiling fans then unfairly criticize what we offer so blatantly on Trip Advisor.

Admiral Collingwood is a gracious heritage listed building built to be comfortable during summer and with the addition of variable speed ceiling fans it remains so and more importantly, seems to be acceptable to most of our guests.

We offer a selection of rooms from extremely large such as the City View rooms, large such as the Garden View rooms and now we also offer a 2 room Garden Suite with private bathroom and separate lounge.

Our shared bathrooms are mentioned in most Trip Advisor reviews as NOT being a problem and in fact are always described as being spotlessly clean, bright and plentiful. This is a small lodge and It is hard to imagine that there was a queue for our 4 bathrooms with toilets and 2 additional toilets at midnight!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I arrived late but getting in was no problem with clear instructions were left for me. Walter, the manager, is really helpful. The room I had was at the front with a brilliant view of the Sydney skyline. It was a double room, beautifully decorated with a kitchen and fridge within. The shared bathrooms are clean and spotless with extra towels. The showers are great!

The lodge is outside the city which makes it very restful to come back to after a day's exploring. Full kitchen is on hand for you to use and there is a garden and patio area too. There is some traffic and airplane noise but I didn't find it obtrusive. No air-conditioning but the windows open and there are variable speed fans. Good TV reception too.

Travel to the city is great via the ferrys at Drummoyne wharf or buses from Central, Circular Quay or the QVB. I'd go back again.

Room Tip: You can look at most of the rooms to choose. Mine was a city view double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guitar73girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Our recent stay for 5 nights was very enjoyable. We were made to feel welcome and the room and bathrooms were very clean and well presented. We had the City View room which did indeed have a lovely view of the city and was very pretty at night. Unfortunately, we stayed there on the hottest week on record so did swelter on the top floor..but The Admiral never claims to have air conditioning. Have no fear of the shared bathrooms...they are immaculate and there are enough of them that you never seem to bump into other guests. Nice touches are shampoo, body wash, bathrobes and even a little bag to carry your toiletries in...the kitchen is very well stocked and outside garden area very pretty and inviting....large tables as well as small mean that all variations of groups can have a meal or a drink..even a BBQ. The Admiral is a lovely place to stay..oh and the bus to the city or Ferry is really just minutes away making it very easy to travel. Certainly give it a go..we would return without hesitation.

Room Tip: Top room lovely view but hot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyGirlTravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We arrived on Christmas night straight from the airport and were greeted by a nice note on their board outside the main door. The instructions regarding key etc was very clear and our room was really nice. Next morning the manager whom we found very friendly and helpful asked if everything was OK. We originally planned to stay 2 nights but extended it to 4.
The bed was extremly comfortable and the room room was spacious with a small area that had a kitchen sink and fridge etc. The lodge itself has a lovely atmosphere with very good kitchen facilities allowing you to prepare your own food for breakfast etc. The staff are friendly and helpful.
Overall a very nice place and I would have no hesitation recommending this accomodation to other travellers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOD505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I was expecting to be alone for this trip so I wanted to stay at somewhere safe and had good reviews since I had never been to Sydney before and wasn't sure what to expect. I saw the rave reviews on Tripadvisor and went with Admiral Collingwood Lodge.

When I first arrived, I fell in love with the open kitchen that leads to a porch. There was lovely soothing music playing and how I wish I could get my hands on that playlist! I also like the fact that there were herbs growing in the garden.

Pros:
1. I had to make changes to my reservations because my friend decided to join me afterall and changing the reservations was simple and easy (Thanks Walter!).
2. It is obvious that this lodge is extremely clean. Although the bathrooms were shared, I was impressed with how clean they were and there was no problem with the availability. Basic toiletries were provided (shampoo, conditioner and showergel) and you can also get clean towels from the bathrooms if needed.
3. You can easily get a bus at the main road to get to Sydney downtown. I thought transport was going to be a headache but in fact even getting to Bondi beach was simple (2 buses was all it took).
4. It is a safe neighbourhood. I had no trouble there at all and I am a stickler for secure environment.
5. You can get food from the restaurants at the main road and there is also a post office just right at the bus stop.

Warning:
There is no aircon at the lodge. I assumed that there was and I didn't check specifically. However it didn't pose any problem for me since the weather was cool enough for me to do without aircon but I suppose you might need to take that into account if you are going to stay there in summer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themerrytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2012

This lodge is a wonderful home away from home. We were greeted with open arms and were given lots of advice on what to do on our short time in Sydney. Rob and Jennifer took very good care of us on our fist night stay at the beginning of our Oz adventure. We were so pleased with the service, price and hospitality that we stayed there on the last two nights in Australia. Thank you for making us feel at home! We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: All rooms have shared bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drummoyne
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#33 of 178 in Sydney
4,092 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 178 in Sydney
5,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 178 in Sydney
1,181 reviews
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 139 in Sydney
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Collingwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Collingwood Lodge

Property: Admiral Collingwood Lodge
Address: 5 Collingwood St, Drummoyne, Sydney, New South Wales 2047, Australia (Formerly Harbour Breeze Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Drummoyne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Drummoyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Admiral Collingwood Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Admiral Collingwood is an old country-style Heritage-Listed 1888 millionaire’s mansion. It is run as a family-style hotel. We are most highly rated for comfort, cleanliness and location, by all the major web-sites reviewing hotels and lodges in Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Admiral Collingwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing