We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Admiral Collingwood Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
“Wonderful”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Found this hidden gem by chance. The facilities are very stylish, and the hospitality is second to none. Will definately return many times.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
averagebloke015, Manager at Admiral Collingwood Lodge, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Wynne and her friends arrived utterly bedraggled as a Sydney rainstorm did its best to drown them. However nothing could drown their enthusiasm. We wanted them to stay for ever as they lit up the Lodge and our lives.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    62
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
65
124
45
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Moree, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this charming lodge for three nights recently and highly recommend it. It is a beautiful building in a quiet street, with very affable hosts. Our room was clean, comfy, well fitted out- (even had bathrobes!), and the bathrooms are easily accessible with modern facilities. A short walk to the supermarket and bakeries, we cooked for ourselves in the fully-equipped lodge kitchen a couple of times.So close to the city and ferries/rivercats this gem will not be hidden for long. We will most definitely be return customers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nella2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
averagebloke015, Manager at Admiral Collingwood Lodge, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
We love our country visitors. So straight-forward and easy to deal with - and they say such nice things. They also kindly fail to mention the wretched onion weed in our garden, against which we are committed to a desperate war of attrition to the death and not (yet) winning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We stayed for two weeks in the Admiral Collingwood Lodge and had a very good time.
Everything is recently renovated and new. The bathrooms are modern and clean. Small lovely details everywhere made us feel like home. To explore the city it is just a few minutes walk to the ferry and a big shoppingcenter is in walking distance too.
We definitly would stay there again!
Bas & Anne from Germany

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bastian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

I go to Sydney fairly often on biz and I guess I get tired of staying in overpriced, generic hotels like the Westin. I was referred to this place by another american friend who had stayed there recently and raved about it.

The room was huge and has real charm. Lots of old world charm but with modern convenience. Incredible views of the city at sunset and sunrise. I would happily stay for months as it felt like a home. Staying there made me realize how awesome Sydney is.

I took the ferry to my firm's offices in Circular Quay every morning. It was a sub-15 minute ride on the ferry and the wifi was super convenient. What a refreshing way to start a busy working day. The ferry is just a short stroll down the hill from the Admiral. Sure beats taking the subway!

The whole stay was relaxed and quiet. Everything available and well maintained - washing machines, kitchen etc. I think it had been renovated recently. The rooms don't have ensuites but there seemed to be plenty of bathrooms and the one I used always spotless and modern. I was the only person using it from what I could tell.

I also went on some great hikes around the harbor foreshore. It's really close to balmain which is full of awesome restaurants and bars.

What could be improved? I guess having a gym there would've been nice, but running along the harbor definitely made up for it!

This place was amazing value particularly compared to staying at a hotel and a million times more relaxing and authentic. Double thumbs up from NYC! Will stay again for sure!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hugh_uws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

The Admiral Collingwood lodge was a relaxing option for my 6 day stay in Sydney. I was extremely jet-lagged the first day and was very pleased to find a comfortable, quiet and clean room to come home to. The building is on a residential street with very easy access to the city via Ferry (it´s only a few minutes walk from Sydney harbor). Staff were friendly and rooms are cleaned daily.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ab2012London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cooroy qld
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2012

The property has been recently renovated. My stay was surprisingly comfortable & the staff were obliging & helpful. Walking distance to everything & ferry to city was great.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malcolm a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
averagebloke015, Owner at Admiral Collingwood Lodge, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
Delighted you enjoyed it, we certainly enjoyed having you stay. Do come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooroy Mountain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I recently stayed in the Admiral Colingwood over Easter, and this delightful old Victorain Mansion, was still having the final touches completed for a total overhaul. The new managers are busy turning this character home into a delightful warm and charming residencei n which to stay while visitiog Sydney. Our room was huge,with high ceilings and the origianl old fireplace.It also boasted views of the city and harbour glimpses. The beds are super comfortable and everything is very clean. Although we did not have an ensuite bathroom, a very attractive large bathroom was available just down the hall, and it seemed that we had it virtually to ourselves. Small attention to details were made, such as providing dilly bags for guests to carry thier necisities to the bathroom. Apart from the facilities provided in the rooms the property has large wide hallways with Persian carpet runners and a very well equipped communal kitchen, with a delightful terraced garden opening off it at the rear. The garden was not quite completed while we were there, but I could see attractive large Italian style pots and sandstone flagging being installed, so I can imagine it will be a charming area to enjoy a cup of coffee when completed. I really felt I had found a home away from home.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prunella A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drummoyne
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#34 of 178 in Sydney
4,096 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#18 of 178 in Sydney
5,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 178 in Sydney
1,184 reviews
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 139 in Sydney
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Collingwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Collingwood Lodge

Property: Admiral Collingwood Lodge
Address: 5 Collingwood St, Drummoyne, Sydney, New South Wales 2047, Australia (Formerly Harbour Breeze Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Drummoyne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Drummoyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Admiral Collingwood Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Admiral Collingwood is an old country-style Heritage-Listed 1888 millionaire’s mansion. It is run as a family-style hotel. We are most highly rated for comfort, cleanliness and location, by all the major web-sites reviewing hotels and lodges in Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Admiral Collingwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing