We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everyone has a bad Day , Maybe this was it” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spice Market

Spice Market
Ranked #18 of 65 Restaurants in Double Bay
Price range: $13 - $13
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Double Bay
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Everyone has a bad Day , Maybe this was it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Have been going to Spice Market for years , always had great service and Consistently great food.
Tonight was not great.
The person on the phone took longer than usual to understand what we ordred.
Amazingly the were unable/out of ingredients to make their signature dish , No Massaman to make a curry and no Rice paper to make rolls at 7 0 clock on a sunday night.
We were told 20 mins to pick up . When arrived they had not started our order yet.
Apology accepted , but the food well it just wasn't the same.
Bad day or has something changed?

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FFishatwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    17
    3
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quite remarkable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

It doesn't look fancy, just a narrow fronted shop with a few wooden tables down one side but we heard that we might have to queue up to get a seat ... or make a booking. We tried our luck and got a table and such food! The table service seemed to be a bit slowed by the steady stream of take-away orders but it was worth waiting... very good food, very pleasant and caring service. Double Bay is a great place, with much to offer visitors, and Spice Market is one of its special places.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ktho2318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Thai in the area. Consistently great food and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Everything above is all it is this has been a favourite for a number of years. My favorite is the pumpkin lamb , just as good is the Choo chew or the pad see you

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FFishatwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
2 reviews
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Beautiful food at Double bay Prices for a Thai meal, quality of food was great and location very handy to hotel

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank sn0wcr0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“most amazing green curry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Best thai food in all of sydney, the curries and service cannot be beaten. I would come here everyday if i could

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ildole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Market also viewed

Double Bay, Woollahra
Double Bay, Woollahra
 
Double Bay, Woollahra
Double Bay, Woollahra
 
Double Bay, Woollahra
Double Bay, Woollahra
 

Been to Spice Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing