We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy chinese, family friendly, great seafood”

Lees Fortuna Court Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 192 Restaurants in Crows Nest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Busy chinese, family friendly, great seafood”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Lee's is a Crow's Nest gem... busy, lively, noisy and fun. Great for families. Fantastic live seafood including lobster at a sensible price. The breadcrumb prawn fillets are addictive! The pancakes with duck skin are as good as any in Hong Kong. It is a popular venue, so best to book at weekends.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paulsfromyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    39
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An institution that makes everyone feel at home.”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

On a bright sunny Saturday in Sydney, it feels slightly wrong to walk in to Lee’s Fortuna Restaurant, with such glorious weather outside. There are no windows, no glimpse of Falcon Street or any passing traffic. The lighting is the same at midday as it is at 9:00 at night. But this is part of the charm! It doesn’t matter what is happening in the outside world, once inside Lee’s your in for an experience that isn’t reliant on time, weather or anything else really.

We have been going to Lee’s for several years. In fact, most of the clientele that frequent this restaurant have been hosted by Stanley and William Lee for decades. A point that is obvious when you see the personal greetings regular diners receive when they walk in the door.

Lee’s has long been a hang for the surrounding media/advertising industry, bookmakers, powerbrokers and so on. If Stanley Lee ever decided to pen an account of the last 30 years, it would be essential reading for the who’s who of Sydney.

Why so? The food is always consistently good. This is standard chinese food, but done oh so well. Duck, lamb pancakes, deep fried oysters, mustard prawns to name a few. If you’re stuck as to what to order, Stanley will suggest just the right mix and quantity for you. The food is fresh, reliable and succulent every time.

Of course, food is best complimented with wine, something Lee’s has in bucket loads! The wine list is extensive to put it mildly! Pages and pages of wines are on offer and Stanley will remember the wine you drink each visit, even if you forget!

The staff are attentive and professional and nothing is a problem. Many times, people start a lunch at Lee’s that seems to migrate in to dinner. The staff are more than happy to accommodate guests and ensure your experience is a good one. And they do it well.

When we were living in Sydney last year, we would eat at Lee’s several times a week. For work lunches or family gatherings, the service is always first class.

Dining at Lee’s feels like taking a seat at Stanley’s home rather than a restaurant. Forget what’s happening outside, venture in to Lee’s and let the day get away from you.



Shout out to the following staff: Stanley, Winnie, Leo, Alan, William.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An oldie but a goodie”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place is an institution on the North Shore. Having been in business for 25+ years Lee definitely has the recipe for success. The warm welcome, friendly service and great food is a staple of this restaurant. The place is looking a bit on the tired side but i think this simply adds to the overall dining experience.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MichaelarSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“My restaurant”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This has to be the best Chinese restaurant in Sydney. Once Stanley, William and their staff know you, you will never be forgotten!! And the food is fabulous. The Lamb Pancakes are to die for! And the Peking Duck is just a sensation. But then, so is everything else on the menu! SO I just go in and tell Stanley to bring me food. His response is to ask if there is anything my guests don't like, then he presents a wonderful array of beautiful Chinese food. Oh, and if there is a birthday, the birthday person is presented with a huge sword to cut the cake - and the staff thinks it is just a wonderful time! The wine list is just fabulous, too! And if you have a favourite wine, they will probably have the wine on your table and opened before you even sit down! It has happened to me on many occasions. I fell part of the family when I dine here and just look forward to every visit!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent traditional Chinese fare”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

A reunion held in the Function Room brought us recently to this Crows Nest eatery on Sydney's north side where we enjoyed a traditional 8-course Chinese meal amongst longtime friends. With all due respect the north shore is not known for it's ethnic fare but Lee's Fortuna Court certainly exceeded expectations. Each of those 8 courses was freshly prepared, authentic, tasty and served without fuss or fanfare, just as I like it. I'm not sure if these are on the regular menu, but try the Peking Duck pancake, san choi bao, salt&pepper squid on fried rice, roast chicken, and stir fried beef. These are dishes commonly found on the menu of any Chinese restaurant in the world but, as we discovered, the food served at this Chinese restaurant is anything but common.

Helpful?
1 Thank BonzoD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lees Fortuna Court Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Crows Nest, North Sydney
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Lees Fortuna Court Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing