We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood at its very best!”
Review of Garfish

Garfish
Ranked #9 of 192 Restaurants in Crows Nest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $38
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our focus is on serving the freshest fish available at a reasonable price for the ultimate seafood dining experience. Free parking (2 hrs Mon - Sat and all day Sun) is available in the council car park 50 metres from our Crows Nest restaurant.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Seafood at its very best!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Without question Garfish is one of the great seafood restaurants in Sydney. The staff are courteous, friendly and efficient, and there is a wide range of seafood to suit any taste, plus there are daily specials. I can't help myself however - I've chosen the Snapper Pie the last few times and it is brilliant.

The staff deserve a special mention for the way they greet small children - they are made welcome and given coloring sheets and pencils to keep them busy.

Well Done!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OvationGX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garfish_Restaurants, Public Relations Manager at Garfish, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Glad you enjoyed the snapper pie, it is our signature dish and certainly flies out the door! Hope to see you again when you're next in Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    79
    19
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Catch dinner at Garfish - Crows Nest or Kirribilli ... haven't tried Manly yet!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Both the Kirribilli and Crows Nest Garfish restaurants are wonderful, great value, relaxed in easy to reach locations (by public transport or by car)!

I want to highlight the staff and their service as well as the great menu and cooking. Even though these restaurants are always busy (in summer spring and autumn that I know of anyway!), staff are pleasant, realistic about waiting times if no booking and prompt.

I'd always recommend booking though because Garfish is understandably busy! Enjoy the fish pie or catch of the day next time you have a night out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GillOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garfish_Restaurants, Public Relations Manager at Garfish, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thanks for your review, and glad to hear you have been able to try both Kirribilli and Crows Nest. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Seamless dining experience”
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Measuring apples with apples, this is not a fine dining restaurant, it gets 5 stars for what it is, a great seafood restaurant that delivers on all fronts of food, service, wine list, ambience & product information & knowledge. Food is cooked with respect service is warm & friendly. Would I go back? Definitely! Would I recommend? Absolutely! Look forward to going back.

Helpful?
Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garfish_Restaurants, Public Relations Manager at Garfish, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thanks so much for your review, we're glad to hear you had a great time with us! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
131 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“always worth a visit”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Not cheap but is an excellent seafood restaurant. A great range of fish speciaes, cooking ways and variations in accompaniments. Sometimes too hard to decide! Always well cooked and a great range of dishes to share as well. Wine list is extensive.
Definately reccommend.
Phone them for resevations as it depends on the time.
Parking station nearby.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sydneydavid56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“really good food”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

i went there recently on a wednesday night; it was really busy- usually a good sign.
Service was impeccable and the food was delish. well worth a visit. cheerio

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ash w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garfish also viewed

Crows Nest, North Sydney
Crows Nest, North Sydney
 
Crows Nest, North Sydney
Crows Nest, North Sydney
 

Been to Garfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing