We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't bother” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stuyvesant's House

Stuyvesant's House
Ranked #47 of 187 Restaurants in Crows Nest
Cuisines: German, European, Austrian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Marrickville, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very rude swearing owner. He was screaming to the poor waitress.
Grabbed my food of my plate and showed me how to do it?? Some people might like it to listen to him. The menu takes about 20 minutes to read, way to many things. You wonder how they keep it all fresh. You never see me again

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    26
    4
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
148 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good German Food and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

I love German food and they will stuff you here if you ask. Get them to pick out your beer and food.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank NomadTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food, Great atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

A good mixture of dishes on the menu - traditional Dutch and German dishes served authentically. Also a good selection of international cuisine.

The maitre d' is a hoot and will definitely make this a dining experience to remember.

Possibly the best and most extensive wine list on the North Shore.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Absolutely terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

I cannot believe the experience I had on Saturday night at this terrible restaurant. Not only were the staff unfriendly but the owner was totally inappropriate with his comments to several of the female members of our party. It was quite disgusting. The service was terrible; it took an hour and a half for our meals to arrive; they couldn't remember where anyone was sitting; got 2 of the meals wrong; the food was terrible and overcooked plus there was an argument in the kitchen that could easily be heard by the patrons. The restaurant and kitchen need a really good clean as well.

It was a very expensive unpleasant experience that I will never endure again and I suggest that anyone who reads this doesn't waste their time or money by going there.

There are some great restaurants in Crows Nest so no need to go to this one.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Karina1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Stylish restaurant with great wine list”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is a restaurant best suited for a romantic dinner with someone special, or to impress someone who knows their wines. You could spend hours poring over Rudi's wine list :-) Not a cheap night out, but the delicious food and great wines make it worthwhile. I'd dine here again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JS231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stuyvesant's House also viewed

Crows Nest, North Sydney
 
St Leonards, North Sydney
Crows Nest, North Sydney
 
Crows Nest, North Sydney
Crows Nest, North Sydney
 

Been to Stuyvesant's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing