We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inventive but disappointing food”
Review of WAQU - CLOSED

WAQU
Price range: $14 - $95
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: WAQU offers a unique dining experience featuring the best of modern Japanese food with a Western influence in the stylish and intimate atmosphere.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Inventive but disappointing food”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Came here for an anniversary dinner after hearing lots of good things. Service was great, and the sommelier was particularly good. We decided to go for the set menu & matching wines. Unfortunately we both felt the food missed the mark. We've eaten at many Japanese fusion restaurants (Tetsuyas, Rise, and others). This one seemed to be trying too hard to be inventive.

The entree was a melon & prosciutto granita - classic flavours served in a new way. Unfortunately the bits of prosciutto ruined the texture of the granita and the dish fell flat.

For main I had the duck with beetroot, parsnip, cherry sauce and a chocolate & coffee crumble. Both my husband and I found it too intense (even though I'd been expecting that, given the flavours) with nothing to lighten or balance the dish.
The dessert was good but overall a disappointing experience given both the previous reviews & also the prices.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ar81Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    45
    12
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
sydney,australia
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“brilliant total experience”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Having over 10 people we were able to book the private room, a great plus if you want to be able to be heard the other end of the table.We had a special celebration and were delighted when this was acknowledged by the staff, our waiter was delightful.
The food was exquisite. Good quality ingredients beautifully presented with an innovative, well balanced menu. I love the way this place changes its menu to fit the season.
For the price what you get is excellent value and we will continue to return. It is quite popular so book well ahead.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hamilstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Went here for an anniversary dinner. Everything was sublime! The staff were very knowledgeable with the menu, and the food was to die for.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UnusualRequest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sublime Japanese fusion food, attentive service”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

From the crispy pastry amuse-bouche and the Thai-inspired pumpkin soup with coconut milk and hazelnut foam to to the duck with braised beetroot, cherry sauce and chocolate/coffee crumbles, to the dessert fruit medley, the food at Waqu is a rainbow of perfectly matched flavors. Beautifully presented, attentively served and creatively combined, our dinner was a wonderful mix of tastes & textures. The atmosphere is quiet, warm and romantic. The staff was happy to substitute dishes due to food allergies. If you're in Sydney, definitely make the short trip north across the bridge to Waqu in Crows Nest--with a changing, seasonal menu and an unassuming, welcoming feel, this place far outranks some of the more 'typical' high-end restaurants.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Meryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great, fresh, quality food. And fantastic value for money. Much better than places such as the Quay, which have crowds drawn to it because of the name, but nothing else.

Well worth the trip if you're in Sydney.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank corash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed WAQU also viewed

Crows Nest, North Sydney
 
Crows Nest, North Sydney
Crows Nest, North Sydney
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing