We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling”
Review of Not Bread Alone

Not Bread Alone
Ranked #96 of 195 Restaurants in Crows Nest
Price range: $18 - $44
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Appalling”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

If you enjoy waiting forever to have your order taken and then waiting forever again for your order to turn up then this is the place for you. Especially if you enjoy watching five waiters running around and still not being able to cope with a handful of tables. The icing on the cake is the tall guy with his appalling and rude comments justifying the slow service.

This joint isn't called "The Bad Service Place" for nothing.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Slump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    28
    9
    1
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, great coffee, friendly atmosphere.”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I love the all-day breakfast here and their other menu items are great as well. I bring all my house guests here and they all love it. Highly recommended!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rob569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Their entrees absolutely rock!”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Although a bit pricey, Not Bread Alone has certainly exceeded our expectations. We were offered a seat outside under the heater and despite the cold winter weather the temperature was very enjoyable and comfortable.

For starters we had goat cheese wrapped in prosciutto with poached pears and it was absolutely the best goat cheese dish we've ever had. The same can be said about our other entree which was duck spring roll - again extremely delicious and surprisingly generous on duck meat.

Our mains were beef stroganoff and scotch fillet with wasabi butter. They were not as unforgettable as the entrees but still very good.

The waiter was extremely nice, we mentioned that we liked their mango sweet chilli sauce and he brought us some more without us even asking.

Unfortunately we did not have any room left for their huge selection of desserts so we'll happily come back some other day.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hudbakanec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“really good food”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Went there for a birthday dinner, was great as allways. Love the bread and butter pudding!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank riggot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Cafe for Sunday brunch”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Lovely outdoor setting, good food, and great coffee

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Not Bread Alone also viewed

Crows Nest, North Sydney
Crows Nest, North Sydney
 
Crows Nest, North Sydney
St Leonards, North Sydney
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Crows Nest, North Sydney
 

Been to Not Bread Alone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing