We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious tapas and sangria”
Review of Extra Virgin Fine Foods - CLOSED

Extra Virgin Fine Foods
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Delicious tapas and sangria”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Lovely atmosphere in downtown Crows Nest. Wooden floorboards, pleasant background music, nice decor and dried bulbs of garlic and chillies hanging from the upper walls. The food was delicious during each part of our 9 plate degustation. The quality of the produce was particularly evident. The grissini and ham was divine, followed by kingfish ceviche, grilled vegetable stack, three cheese croquette, patatas bravas, chorizo, lamb sliders, grilled sirloin and potato, and churros. Each one a winner, and we couldn't wait to see what was coming next. We left comfortably full, without being weighed down. Perfect portion sizes, and tasty sangria.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Triptravels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    7
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable dinning experience”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We had a party of 12 for a 30th birthday, so we prearranged a favorite selection of Tapas. The food quality was very good, with an interesting use of accompanying sauces and dips. All food was prepared fresh with quality ingredients. The entree of large green olives, olive tapenade, olive oil dip with grilled sour dough bread, were delicious. The following tapas included a range of roasted vegetables and meats. Individual, mini 'steak sandwiches' were a real surprise. A large version of a house specialty dessert was pre-ordered from the kitchen, which was superb. The Chef has kept the ingredients and method a secret.
The Sangria was OK, but a little too sweet for my liking and could have had a bit more fruit in it. Service delivery for both food and drink was prompt, attentive and efficient.
Seating had been arranged so that we were not being disturbed by the movements of other dinners. Chairs were simple but comfortable. We asked for the music volume to be lowered (to aid conversation) and this was done without hesitation. A very enjoyable dinning experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RetireeBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“worst tapas ever”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Being a Spanish who lived in Spain and France, I've tasted the best and worse the two countries have to the offer. This place is an insult to Spanish/French cuisine.

We were not expecting the Tapas of San Sebastian but this was the worst ever. Truck stops have better food than this in Spain.The food for the 9 course meal with sangria was overpriced and the servings tiny.

The tapas? was basic (in a bad way) with their own interpretation and it destroyed the food. The food tasted cheap/ pre packed and reheated.Even the Patatas bravas and the churros that are traditional and easy to make tasted disgusting. Even though the servings where tiny we choose not to eat it because of the terrible flavours of the meals.

We left disappointed and hungry.
Worst tapas ever, would not recommend anyone to spend their money in this joint.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank 88JBS88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Slow service. Don't come here expecting authentic Spanish food”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

I walk pass this place a lot & as it looked busy I decided it must be good.
We went as a group of five, were seated quickly & didn't have to wait too long to order. The wait staff were friendly.
We waited about 45mins for our tapas to come out! And another 45 for the rest of the tapas we'd ordered as mains.
Not even the potatas bravas tasted Spanish, & my family makes much better croquettes. The ensalada portion was very small as other reviewers have mentioned.
For a $265 bill for 5, wait staff that can't understand or speak the most basic of Spanish phrases (the bill, one one beer etc) and a long wait we will be sticking to out local of Delicados instead!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 665kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
“Dining - Extra Virgin Fine Foods @ Crows Nest”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

A special treat for tonight! Dining at an award-winning Spanish tapas restaurant in Crows Nest.

Verdict: delicious meal with stunning gorgeous presentation.

Price is slightly high for each tapas.
Some are spectacular and some are average.

It also run cooking classes and sell their by-products.
The service was friendly and attentive.

We did enjoyed the night and the meal overall was very pleasant indeed! Please see my photos and blog for full description.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank GMV-GotMyVote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Extra Virgin Fine Foods also viewed

Crows Nest, North Sydney
 
Crows Nest, North Sydney
Crows Nest, North Sydney
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing