We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good pizza and friendly service”
Review of Flynn's Food and Wine - CLOSED

Flynn's Food and Wine
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very good pizza and friendly service”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We've just moved and this place is just around the corner. It looks nice from the outside and checking the menu on the window, was reasonably priced, so we decided to give it a try.
We were also lucky as we had chosen a Tuesday night to visit, all pizzas were $15. Well, we both like pizza so gave that a try and also the chef's surprise calzone.
We had the seafood pizza which was delicious and a nice thin and crispy base. Nice juicy topping with plenty of garlic just the way I like it.
The calzone shall remain a surprise in case you order it, but it was definitely very nice and rather large. I didn't have room for anything sweet after our mains.
They appear to have a reasonable wine list, along with a few beers, so most would find there is something to their liking on the drinks menu.
The staff were friendly and the service was quick. It was nicely laid out inside, although I would have preferred the tables to be slightly more apart as a couple of ladies who came in after we had started to eat were obviously smokers as we could smell it on their clothing. They were close enough to us at the next table that we were able to smell them. Slightly put us off our food but we were mostly done so we didn't worry about it too much.
Would go again but would try and score the corner table by the window with the hope that no one else would sit as close as the smokers did.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OzzieMuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    11
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Family run pizza/pasta/fish etc - very good”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Bobby and Fara run a tight ship here and Ben the chef has high standards. It's a stone's throw from where we live but we have eaten here many times and have never been disappointed.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JanKind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A pleasant enough experience”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I had dinner with a bunch of friends on a Saturday night. The meals were well sized and reasonably priced. My friends had the steak with thick cut chips which looked delicious. I had a white fish - which was pleasant enough but didn't knock my socks off. The atmosphere end decor is very pleasant and quite modern but inviting. The lighting was soft and the noise levels were very good for a busy Saturday night. The service was really quite excellent and we had no complaints whatsoever. I wouldn't rush back - mostly because I guess the meal was not outstanding, but I wouldn't say no to going back either.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJloveparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food but let down by service”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This has the potential to be a great little bar and restaurant. The decor is charming and the food was really good. Unfortunately it was let down by the service. The staff were very friendly and, when we got their attention, helpful, but they had absolutely no concept of anticipating our needs or just generally being available and keeping an eye on things. At one point, I asked for the wine list to choose another bottle. The list arrived promptly but half an hour later, no one had bothered to come back to see if I wanted to order anything. This is just one example - the same thing happened a few times. It was a real shame as it did make the evening a bit frustrating.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KittyMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sloppy on all fronts”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Second visit , will be the last . Had high hopes for this restaurant after having a drink and snack previously . Booked Wednesday morning for Friday night for four people, despite this we were shoved into the very back on the end of a table for ten, in this prime position we were totally ignored and had to get up and bring someone over to order drinks and food . A cocktail was a warm glass of peach juice with a whisper of prosecco. Starters were good . The mains were worded in a vague fashion, maybe that should have been a warning, slow cooked pork served with chat potatoes was a couple of spoons of a pulled pork ragu with more vegetable than pork and icy cold potatoe salad on the side. The goat was actually a real piece of meat but served in a bowl of soup with nothing else. We ordered fries , soggy and clearly frozen and poorly recussitated. Two pizzas were okay but not amazing . Desert of waffles and tiramisu were fine but sadly took an hour from asking for menus for desert to receiving them .
The decor is great , the atmosphere is great , Crowsnest badly needs a restaurant pitched at what this aims for . It is clear from the menu that the food has been designed to be prepared in advance as much as possible , three 'slow cooked' specials , pastas , cold sides , fries that were clearly refreshed rather than cooked to order .
Sadly the amateur status of the Kitchen lets down the front of house .

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adeona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flynn's Food and Wine also viewed

Crows Nest, North Sydney
 
Crows Nest, North Sydney
Crows Nest, North Sydney
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing