We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't bother with the lunch special”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Summer Salt

Summer Salt
Reserve with
Summer Salt is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 145 Restaurants in Cronulla
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't bother with the lunch special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Dont' have the lunch special, it is average, all meals were forgettable, fish and chips on the beach with a view just as good is better, disappointing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    109
    53
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lunch with a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Great position great food knowledgable and helpful staff. Very special.
We had a table in the main window and a waitress who could describe the food properly.
Well done oh, and accessible too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M9MOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Service, food was ok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had dinner at Summer Salt last night. It was a last minute booking and we were seated the furthest from the window which was understandable. Our waitress was very attentive asking us if it was a special occasion. I am wondering though what would have happened if we had said yes. My husband ordered the Kobe Wagyu beef ($65) and I ordered the Barramundi with pork belly ($38). I was told the beef was not served hot and by the time my husband got through it , it was cold. It also came with about 9 thick cut chips and nothing else. Sides were extra. My barramundi was nice. It definitely went a little overboard with the salt run on both the fish and the 3cm cube of pork belly. The pork belly may have been a little overcooked though. We both had the souffle ($29) with toffee and cinnamon ice cream. I found it delicious but my husband said his was too sweet (his preference not necessarily a bad element to the dish.

It wasn't very crowded and the dimmed lighting provided a nice atmosphere. However the lights did keep dimming and brightening so I am not sure what went on with that.

I would recommend it to other people for special occasions but with the high price tag I couldn't see it as a regular place to eat unless you did the set menu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katiec8805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our trip to Sydney”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Nice set out and lovely view, good service, That's where it ends. Too highly priced, average food. Went away very disappointed. Chocolate fondue had no chocolate sauce, and when we complained no comment or apology. Definitely would not return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reginaldgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food, nice view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

The food here is extremely good. I had Dukkah crusted prawns with avocado mousse and harissa mayonnaise for entrée, Crispy skin snapper fillet with smashed salad of peas, mint, zucchini, fetta and pinenuts for main & Chocolate fondant with vanilla bean ice cream and honeycomb crunch for dessert, great value at $68. It's part of the group set menu so the whole table has to be involved - check their website www.summersalt.com.au. I don't quite understand why but them's the rules. I am not quite sure what the sweet treat was that was served with the coffee, it tasted like pear but was a Turkish delight texture, it was way too sweet, even for me. A nice chocolate truffle would have been better.

The venue is right on Elouera Beach so if you're lucky enough to get a window table you get some lovely views of the water, sailing boats & surfers. It was an overcast day but it was still spectacular.

I recommend this restaurant for special occasions, we were there for a special birthday, so I think a complementary drink for the birthday girl would have been a nice gesture.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Summer Salt also viewed

Cronulla, Sutherland Shire
Cronulla, Sutherland Shire
 
Cronulla, Sutherland Shire
Cronulla, Sutherland Shire
 
Cronulla, Sutherland Shire
Cronulla, Sutherland Shire
 

Been to Summer Salt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing