We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to usual YHA standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cronulla Beach Backpackers
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Mostly patronised by surfies and working visa travellers, it reflects this in its style. Plenty of atmosphere if you are part of that crowd and enjoy partying. Great VHS and DVD collection, good large kitchen serving as main indoor meeting place. Good outdoor courtyard. Rooms adequate with very large lockers. Showers and loos are Ok. The place is cleaned by guests ...and it shows! The staff are very laid back but don't have that something extra you associate with most hostels.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NomadicmanTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 39 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

This place is full of young people who stay there long term (work &travel) and are loud and dirty, may I say. Room was ok as it had extra storage space, but it was really dirty, it just makes me wonder if those occupants live like this back home? Clothes all over the floor, rubbish on the floor, dirty dishes, pizza boxes, takeaway coffee cups etc. in the room. Seriously Filthy! Feels like summer camp just without any teacher. Kitchen is quite huge and has loads of space, but all these teens/twenty somethings are seriously dirty.
Staff is real nice, I give them that.
The only reason to stay there would be to go and see the Royal National Park, which is only 30min ferry ride away or to learn surfing on Cronulla beach.
This hostel is a lively place, but hey non need to live like pigs just because you are away from home!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank AgataZ186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

O my god, we stayed at Meriton apartments friday night and then to YHA at cronulla on the sat and it was more expensive then Meriton. For some reason when we checked in my credit card would not go through and he said to do on way out. Once we arrived to room we could not believe our eyes. It was absolutely discusting. had not been cleaned for ages. My husband was like no way we are not staying here. there was hairs and dirt all over bed on mattress protector as you had to make your own bed... this was a family room i would not let me dog sleep in there. i honestly beleieve there was an OHNS issue with this place. No No no thank god we found somewhere else nice and clean....the smell was that bad i was gagging. we left and said sorry changed our mind....

Room Tip: no goods rooms unless you are young and travelling with limited money for a dorm room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharonw316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Located 40mins from Sydney by train nice area, close to beach. Hostel has very lived in feel to it. Large kitchen and tv area, nice bathroom/showers. Reception had warned me my room lived in sorry, but I hadn't even room out my bag on floor..halls full of stuff and just whole atmosphere you can tell many people staying here long term.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monamahony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I've stayed here more times than I can count, starting in October of 2011. Whenever I go to Sydney, I always stay in Cronulla. This hostel is AWESOME, full of amazing and hilarious people, and has a great little courtyard where everybody hangs out and gets to know each other. There is a blog with tonnes of information about what's going on in the area and heaps of info about the hostel, you can find it here: http://cronullabeachyha.tumblr.com
It's also less than five minutes from the beach, which is handy if you enjoy the ocean. If you want a job while you're backpacking, there are always jobs going around and the manager of the hostel is great at setting up working holiday visa jobs, there's always a way to make a bit of money if you're running low. Rooms near the courtyard are a bit noisy, but ear plugs do the trick.

Room Tip: Don't sleep in the rooms near the courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I've stayed at many YHAs and only been disappointed a few times, Cronulla was not one of those.

I stayed in a single ensuite (private room) so I can't comment on the dorms. My room was good sized, had it's own fridge (that's awesome, as you'll know if you've backpacked a bit) and the bed was surprisingly comfortable. There was some mould on the walls under the window and a wierd smell when I first checked in but a good airing fixed the smell and a few black spots on the wall never killed anyone. The shower was big and water pressure/spread was very good.

There's wifi and pay-for-use internet with Global Gossip. No complaints about that, seemed to work fine. I also had two chairs, a small table, generous shelfs/drawers for storage and a flat-screen TV.

Overall I'd say that my room went beyond what I expect from a room at a YHA, even a double/single. The walls could use some cleaning and finding chocolate wrappings in the bed was also a little surprise but neither of those things were enough to ruin my stay in any way.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Ivar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I booked to stay 2 weeks & ended staying 6 months, its that good. Its an awesome place with awesome staff especially Mike who goes out of his way to find you work.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulparkhouse21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cronulla hotels
0.2 mi away
Cronulla Motor Inn
Cronulla Motor Inn
#2 of 2 in Cronulla
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eventhouse Cronulla
Eventhouse Cronulla
#1 of 2 in Cronulla
74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quest Cronulla Beach
Quest Cronulla Beach
#1 of 4 in Cronulla
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cronulla Beach House B&B
Cronulla Beach House B&B
#2 of 4 in Cronulla
10 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guesthouse 83
Guesthouse 83
#1 of 1 in Cronulla
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cronulla Beach Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cronulla Beach Backpackers

Address: 40 - 42 Kingsway, Cronulla, New South Wales 2230, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Sutherland Shire > Cronulla
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Cronulla
Price Range: $24 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Cronulla Beach Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing