We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely lunch on a warm sunny day”
Review of Zimzala

Zimzala
Ranked #8 of 145 Restaurants in Cronulla
Price range: $14 - $26
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Bulli, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch on a warm sunny day”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Visited the restaurant on a Sunday, the menu is limited and quite pricey but a good mix of vegetarian , seafood and meat.
I had the prawns with mango salsa $34 and my husband the prawn linguine $31. Both meals we really nicely presented. Both lacked seasoning and could have done with some extra salt, pepper or even parmesan cheese on the pasta dish.
We enjoyed the lovely view , as we did have a great window seat.
The coffee was good , but we didn't order dessert as nothing really took our fancy.
The service was awesome , wait staff really friendly , except for the manager/ lady who organised the bookings and who could improve her people skills- with a smile or pleasant responses when being spoken to
Would definitely come back for another visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maryado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    157
    67
    53
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely food at Zimzala”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband had a lovely lunch with family recently at Zimzala. The truly waterfront restaurant had a limited menu but what they had was excellent. It would be a fantastic place on a sunny day when all the shoring up council work is done. Maybe finished in time for summer of 2013 fingers crossed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robbiebago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
292 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Nice view but disappointed with food”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

I had lunch at Zimzala today with five girlfriends. I have eaten here before and was not terribly impressed but the 'birthday girl' chose this restaurant. The fish and chips was served on a big board and was very average. Some of us had the cheese burger which was not much better than McDonalds.
The waitress was friendly and apologetic for the delay. We had to ask twice for some water which should have been put on the table when we sat down. Unfortunately the view is spoilt by the refurbishment of the walkway in front. We could hardy hear as the bull dozer went up and down, up and down the whole time we were there and apparently it will continue for another three months. There are much better options in Cronulla. Won't be back again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank astra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“great food, great view and nice staff”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

nice atmosphere, great food, gets really busy in summer due to location, just on the beach, nice outside area for eating or just having a drink,

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank katiebiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Schocking Mothers Day”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

As a glorified cafe I never expect an exceptional meal at this venue but the position is nice. On phoning to make a booking for mothers day 2013 was advised of the $75 set menu price and was happy to proceed. Arriving a our agreed 2pm slot we were seated and some 20mins later were asked if we would like to order a drink, after finding the wine we wanted was not available another 15 mins passed and finally we were presented with 3 glasses for five people and left to unscrew the bottle of white ourselves????

Entree was delivered either Luke warm or cold at 3.15 pm, main courses delivered cold at 4.10 pm after some disgruntled carry on from the table with one persons missing. Somehow there's which " was taking a little longer as the beef was ordered medium" also arrived cold. At this stage 2 of the guest had to leave and miss dessert as the time lag had being myself and partner. The bill was adjusted to reflect the appalling lunch but really the point of paying for a good day out is to recieve it. Lunch was ruined by an over booked Resturant with inexperienced staff and a kitchen working beyond its capacity.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CraigBun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zimzala also viewed

Cronulla, Sutherland Shire
Cronulla, Sutherland Shire
 
Cronulla, Sutherland Shire
Cronulla, Sutherland Shire
 
Cronulla, Sutherland Shire
Cronulla, Sutherland Shire
 

Been to Zimzala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing