We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor attempt at 4 stars!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bellagio By The Sea
Gold Coast
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor attempt at 4 stars!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed at the Bellagio By the Sea Dec 28 for one night - So dissapointed! These apartments have so much potential, perfect location opposite the beach and shops. Utterly filthy! I booked this hotel Dec 15 directly with the hotel, by the afternoon, I had an email saying that the total amount for our stay had already been debited! When we arrived the girl at the desk was polite and helped us by finding a car space that our vehicle would fit into! When arriving to our room we were greeted by a stale smell, On placing bags down on a dirty floor, i see the dining table has crumbs all over it, the floor has cereal spilt on it the loung has a huge stain that is still wet.
I was pretty concerned and looked at the bath rooms to see stains all over the toilets (urine), the floor was sticky and the basin drain was - yuk! Anyway, there were numerous other issues that are too many to go into , but I think you see my point. Please Bellagio by the sea, get in some cleaners!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Room out back have no view, but not as noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Govorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    38
    26
    24
    45
See reviews for
67
23
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We have been staying at Bellagio when in Sydney for several years. However, since the present manager took over we have noticed a severe decline in standards and conditions at the apartments. The manager is rude and dishonest; the rooms are quite dirty and dusty; one bed was very uncomfortable (with springs sticking into our backs). We are very disappointed and will not be returning. We will also be informing our network of friends, family and colleagues about our experiences at Bellagio and recommending that they find alternative accommodation.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJHJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Collaroy Beach hotels

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We organised not 1 not 2 but 4 apartments for our overseas guests to our daughters wedding. So disappionting when all were dirty! We had to approach the management several times to come and clean up the mess in each apartment as each guest checked in. Quite disgusting. There was toe nail clipping and tissues on the floor, bathroom scum, and food stuck to pots. No cleaning equipment, no dish detergent etc. The management was rude and unhelpful.
We found the they dont have a star rating yet they have given themselves a 4 star "unofficial" rating. The cheek!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZtrippers_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We rented one of the Penthouse Rooms as a venue for a 30th Birthday Party. I went to look at the rooms 6 weeks prior to the party and was shown 2 different rooms with the same roof top terrace. Where they said they could not guarantee room position they did say all the terraces were the same size and fitted out with he same furnishings and we were guaranteed to have one at the front of the building facing the beach.

Obviously my first question was what was the Party policy, as were were hiring for a 30th so we would be having guests, a caterer etc. They said they were fine with Parties but the music had to be turned down if on the outside Terrace at 10pm.

We were given a Terrace that was around the side of the building facing the main Road, we could barely see the Beach at all. It had one table setting. The Terraces I was shown had a large couch and tables, 2 sun beds and large round couches. The Terrace was about half the size.

At 10.10 the owner of the building who lives on site was knocking on our door telling us he was not licensed for us to have a party and that our guests had to leave.

I have been on the phone with management trying to make a complaint and they have outright lied about initially telling us that they were fine with us hiring as a party venue. They also lied about saying we would have a Beach facing Terrace with all the furnishings as the one I was shown. They hung up on me once and told me that they didn't have the time to speak to me or hear my complaint.

As far as everything else goes for those wanting to stay for a holiday, not intending to have a party... Our caterer was horrified upon entering the first thing she saw was how dirty the floor was and she also found the fridge to be dirty. If you require cooking facilities the draws and cupboards are basically empty. There is basic cutlery and crockery but there was no chopping board pots and pans etc. There are no extra blankets in the cupboards and not a lot on the beds. The car park is frighteningly tight, I would recommend not even driving in it and parking on street.

I would actually recommend going nowhere near this place and not giving your money to a man who is so unpleasant to deal with and employs staff who are dishonest and have no interest into trying to hear and rectify customer complaints. There is no consistency between where the owner, management and other staff stand on policies. They made what should have been a lovely experience an incredibly disappointing and upsetting one.

If you are thinking of hiring for a party venue DON'T!

Room Tip: You can't choose a room, you can request and they will tell you they will try and what seems to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My fiancee and I stayed at Bellagio By The Sea in January 2012, and it was such a lovely experience. Hotel was nice and stylish, rooms were so big and spacios, apartment even had two bedrooms, and two bathrooms which was extra! It was just what we wanted, a laid back, summer holiday. Location was perfect, across the road from beautiful Collaroy beach, 5 minutes drive from Dee Why, and 15 minutes from Manly. Staff were great in every way, and we have alredy booked another holiday in february next year. Great summer holiday.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 11damir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment and other family members stayed in a 3 bedroom. Both apartments were dirty and between the 2 we had no toilet paper, coffee or tea, or a dishcloth or sponge. The kitchen bench, cupboards and stove were smeary, there were hairs in the bath and basin and the mirror was dirty. On arrival at 2pm reception was closed and no one answered the phone. We hung around outside for an hour waiting to check in. I got an email saying check in was from 3pm but the email wasn't sent until after I had left home to travel to Sydney so I didn't get it. We asked for a cot and were told it would be brought up in 20 mins. More than an hour and a few phone calls later putting up with a tired, cranky baby we went and got it ourselves. There were blood stains on one of the doonas, the clock/radio didn't work, the clothes dryer was positioned straight above the washing machine so the lid would only open a fraction. There was an upstairs balcony but it had no furniture so we couldn't use it. We arrived back at our unit during the day to find the door propped wide open with a chair. All our belongings were in full view, including my daughter's jewellery. A painter was working further down the hallway and had left our door open ready to paint it. We were not informed that a painter would need access to our unit. Overall a poor experience and not good value for the price. We paid $219 per night for 3 people plus $15 per night to park.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank knelly45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed at The Bellagio in the three-bedroom penthouse the night before my wedding. We were only there for one night, but we thoroughly enjoyed the spacious living area and the huge roof top terrace! We had ample space for our hair and makeup artists and photography & videography crew to work during our preparations. The entire penthouse was well furnished, and within close proximity to restaurants and a day spa- which we took full advantage of!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shalini A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Collaroy Beach
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Manly
The Sebel Manly Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellagio By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellagio By The Sea

Property: Bellagio By The Sea
Address: 1161 Pittwater Road, Collaroy Beach, Warringah, New South Wales NSW 2097, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Warringah > Collaroy Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Collaroy Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bellagio By The Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bellagio By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing