We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A relaxing time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bellagio By The Sea
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A relaxing time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

We picked this up with a Groupon deal. For the price we paid it was very good value. We were on the second floor which is a penthouse suite. The majority of it was very clean. Couple of things which I think need attention. The bin in the bathroom was showing rust on the top, obviously from the salt air. Corner of the shower needs a bit of attention as the rest of the bathroom is spotless. The BBQ needs a good wipe down. These small items would give a much better impression.
Apart from that we had a great relaxing time.
I note the complaints about the road noise, can be a little off putting but as has been mentioned the windows are double glazed & the AC works fine
To me it was an opportunity to stay in a penthouse so I was satisfied

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boothcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    37
    25
    23
    45
See reviews for
65
22
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

We booked into a 2 bedroom unit for 5 nights and quite regretted it. The unit badly need maintenance work done and it was very unclean. The walls in every room were badly marked. The hallway walls were ten times worse. The carpet in the main bedroom had an enormous ugly stain right in the middle of the room which the cleaners tried to hide by throwing a bathroom mat over. The last night we were there we had cockroaches crawling over us. No power points in the main ensuite. Only one A/c unit which was in the living room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Collaroy Beach hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

Stayed here for one night. The rooms were pretty average for the price and the showers had mould in them. Location was good but thought it would be better.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scruffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

We booked a 3 bedroom appt for 6 as we were doing the "Sun Run". So the appartments were handy for us to Dee Why.
We were lucky and had a fantastic penthouse sea view, unfortunately we couldnt enjoy the upstairs after dark as none of the lights worked. After one of our party managed to get hold of the manager he helped us re-set the fuse box so all the lights came on, but then we couldn't turn them off!

The appartment was filthy, especially the kitchen and bathrooms, hair in plug holes and mould growing. The carpet looked like it needed a good clean. We did all the dishes we could on check out but there were no scourers to clean baking trays and pots (we pointed this our on our departure), which probably explains why they were filthy to start with. So obviously no quality control.
It was a shame as such a great location and outlook, but property let down on maintenance.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

I was getting married, and wanted a "room with a view" to get ready in and have professional photos taken.
We visited the Bellagio months in advance and were kindly shown several rooms (which we believe now are their "display rooms!), and advised which Penthouse apartments had the best view. We booked specific room numbers and were told it was all fine.
Upon check in, we were in a "room with no view" on the side of the building, which should NOT be charged at the same rate as the rooms with view... as there is only one small bit of ocean which could be seen from the roof top terrace - if you peer over the neighbours balcony!
My fiance rang the manager to complain - and was told that they "had to re-shuffle and they could not move us!"... although I read on forums (and spoke to another guest staying there who had also been "re-shuffled" by the manager but had complained and were moved to be given a room with view!)...

When we explained, again, that we had specifically booked the room for the view - and would have stayed at the Manly Pacific had we known - he "kindly" offered us a full refund the day before the wedding - leaving us no option to book elsewhere - ZERO SERVICE and an appaulling attitude from a manager of the property.
They explained they do not allow specific room numbers to be booked - which does not really add up with the fact we were shown several rooms, asked which one we preferred, and been booked for that room number.

As for the apartments, the intercom was broken and it did seem the property could really use better management and maintenance - it seems every aspect of the place they have a care factor of ZERO.
The standard of the rooms were OK... but really overpriced compared to other accommodation nearby... the balcony (on the actual ocean front rooms) is lovely - but no point it being there when you have no view for the same price! The service at this property was the real let down!
Save your money and stay in Manly!

Room Tip: No point requesting a room type, as they do not accommodate guests requests!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

A close friend of mine was in need of a weekend away and we booked Bellagio by the Sea. It looked like it was a beautiful haven by the beach that would be a relaxing weekend away for the both of us.

Relaxing it was not. We booked a room 7 weeks in advance with a few simple requests, that we have a room on the second floor, early check in and ocean views.

I should have realised something was wrong when my credit card was overcharged (significantly!). I emailed, they responded with an apology and a refund a week later.

The morning of our check in I was told that the manager would be in all day and so we could arrive when we were ready to check- in. We arrived at 11am and were kept waiting on the pavement outside in the heat for an hour upon the manager stepping out "for 15 minutes". He would not answer his phone or the office phone when we tried to call him during this hour to see where he was.

When we finally got to checking in he told us we were on the first floor, at which point I said I had asked for a level 2 apartment. He then turned around and said "well if you don't like it Lisa, we can cancel your booking"- hardly an option when it was a weekend away we had been looking forward to for almost 2 months!!

We arrived in our room to find it filthy with the cleaner still cleaning (an experience I can see was shared by others on this page). The cleaner looked awkward and upset that we were there, he hurriedly vacuumed the kitchen and left (with the lounges and bathrooms still dirty).

Needless to say we did not end up with an ocean view and were behind buildings. Also, the road outside was busy 24/7 and often had cars in the early hours racing and beeping just outside our windows.

Finally, when we went to cook breakfast for ourselves we found the pots and pans dirty and stained- not what you would expect when you're paying that kind of money.

Ballagio by the sea has lost me- I will never stay there and will continue to actively discourage others from doing the same- terrible all round!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMM129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

We stayed in a 3 bedroom penthouse and it was a great place to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday. The rooftop terrace is spacious and has lots of furniture. The traffic noise was the only drawback but this subsided by evening.
The beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms lovely.
The beach across the road is beautiful and worth visiting even when the weather was disappointing.

Room Tip: Top floor with roof terrace has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen57_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Collaroy Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manly
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellagio By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellagio By The Sea

Property: Bellagio By The Sea
Address: 1161 Pittwater Road, Collaroy Beach, Warringah, New South Wales NSW 2097 , Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Warringah > Collaroy Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Collaroy Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bellagio By The Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bellagio By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing