We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Penthouse” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bellagio By The Sea

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Bellagio By The Sea
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Penthouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

We stayed in a 3 bedroom penthouse and it was a great place to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday. The rooftop terrace is spacious and has lots of furniture. The traffic noise was the only drawback but this subsided by evening.
The beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms lovely.
The beach across the road is beautiful and worth visiting even when the weather was disappointing.

Room Tip: Top floor with roof terrace has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen57_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    36
    23
    23
    44
See reviews for
61
22
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

The hilariously pretentious name should be the first giveaway. Vegas it ain't. And it's by the highway not the sea. But that's not the problem.
Arriving at 4pm and finding the cleaner still in the room was not a good start. It's one thing that our room isn't ready but later we find that none of our groups rooms are ready, including that of the groom who is to be married that afternoon. Pathetic ( and unrepentant) management.

Bland, cramped stuffy rooms and narrow hallways reminiscent of saunas. Smelly carpark charged at an extraordinary $15 night... all a bit out of kilter really.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AcmeSpecial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Collaroy Beach hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed in the Penthouse for a family short break. Great apartment however very tired and in need of a paint. The furniture in apartment needs to be replaced and the cleaners need some tips on cleaning to a suitable standard. Time for an update as its very tired. Top floor entertainment deck was fantastic and the view is amazing. Overall it's a nice place to stay. Staff were friendly and helpful. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

Our family of four adults stayed 10 nights in a 3 bedroom apartment with a rooftop terrace. It was great for us as there was plenty of room and the furniture on the terrace, as well as the fantastic barbeque, added the 'wow' factor to our stay. The beach and the great cafe on the beach are so handy as is the IGA and various coffee shops.

Service was excellent, we had a problem with a door not shutting properly and it was fixed that day.

The bus service to the city was easy too - just across the road.

Our stay was very pleasant and we would consider booking again!

Room Tip: If you like to have a bit of space, I recommend a unit with a rooftop terrace. We were able to rel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellagio_sydney, General Manager at Bellagio By The Sea, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Hi Georgina,

I would like to thank you for your great feedback on your stay in one of our lovely penthouses.

We are in the process of currently in the process of arranging new painting of the insides of our apartments since the furniture on all of our penthouses has just been replaced last month.

Regards,

Jono
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

It should be called Bellagio by the highway. We paid for a sea view room, but got the ground floor unit which has a view of parked cars. We were moved the next day, but that was one less day of relaxing. We stayed 5 nights, but I was ready to move after two nights. The road is four lanes of constant traffic, it is so noisy. It doesn't abate late at night or on weekends. I will stay in the CBD nexttime, and drive to the beach, which is pretty much what we had to do given the trouble crossing the road by foot. We couldn't open any of the sliding doors because of the noise, and we couldn't get phone reception until we went onto the balcony, then you couldn't hear anyway. It has some four star touches, but the paint of a youth hostel. I'm glad I'm home. The beds would be OK for people who have floor boards or cartons for their usual beds. People actually live there too.

Room Tip: Stay on floor 1 or 2 if you want to see the sea. It looks a bit like Port Phillip Bay though.Stay fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellagio_sydney, General Manager at Bellagio By The Sea, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Hi George,

Being a two storey building, some rooms are on the ground floor. The windows are double glazed, and you can still see the ocean. Unfortunately we are not a large storey building, and neither are any of the buildings out here due to council laws in place.

We are in the process of currently in the process of arranging new painting of the insides of our apartments during the month of February. However the wall just have normal wear and tear, and are painted every 12 months.

We have changed the mattress of one of the beds in the apartment you have stayed in. Our beds are made by Sealy and now and then there may be one that needs to be changed. Apologies for this. If you had advised during your stay which was for 5 nights, we would have been more than happy to change it the very same day.

Regards,

Jono

Regards,

Jono
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

Our first impressions were how run down the apartment looked. If we were to paystandard rate of $1200 a night I expected something lovely, not a dirty apartment that need to be cleanned again. The Manager assured us that the cleanner had been in earlier that morning, if this being true I think they should empty the vaccumn bag after cleanning each room as our room had hair every where, used tissues and the dust I could have written my name in it. The bedding was gross, the valance underneath WAS BROWN!!! Upon bring this to the Managers attention he seemed either uninterested or used to the complaints about cleanliness. It was ashame that our first impression was tainted as this apartment has potential if things were not so run down.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynette p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellagio_sydney, General Manager at Bellagio By The Sea, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Hi Lynette,

I can advise that in the first week of January we received brand new valances for all apartments, and these have been changed over in all apartments. In addition we have also purchased a feature cushion and bed throw for each bed in the hotel. They look amazing.

Unfortunately during the month of December we had our housekeeping contractor walk out on us, so there were some teething times during this busy period as we recruiting our own staff to take over housekeeping. Applogies for the inconvenience caused here.

We are in the process of currently in the process of arranging new painting of the insides of our apartments during the month of February. However the wall just have normal wear and tear, and are painted every 12 months.

Regards,

Jono
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in a 3 bedroom apartment. Very nice and modern. Secure underground parking, a little cramped so make sure you're good at parking! A short walk to the local IGA. Beach is directly across the street and there are a couple of pubs and a few restaurants within walking distance. The rooms were nice, although could be a little more on top of the housekeeping. Bathrooms were clean and modern, although felt a little cramped and the shower screen wasn't the easiest to get open and into. The kids had a big bath which was nice. There were laundry facilities in the room, which they provided a couple of sachets of laundry powder which was really good, being at the end of a long holiday we needed to do washing! The upstairs private balcony and bbq area was fantastic and we made use of it. 15 minute drive to Manly (on a Sunday morning) where we got the ferry down to Circular Quay, which made a really fun day trip. Only downside was the traffic, trying to get in and out of the hotel was sometimes a nightmare as it's on a really busy street. My tip would be to always turn left, then do a u-turn down the road! Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellagio_sydney, General Manager at Bellagio By The Sea, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Afternoon Casey,

Great to hear you had a good stay with us in December. We have replaced the penthouse terrace furniture since you have last stayed. Hope you are back to see the great changes next time you are out this way!

Regards,

Jono
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Collaroy Beach
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manly
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Manly
The Sebel Manly Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellagio By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellagio By The Sea

Property: Bellagio By The Sea
Address: 1161 Pittwater Road, Collaroy Beach, Warringah, New South Wales NSW 2097 , Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Warringah > Collaroy Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Collaroy Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bellagio By The Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Bellagio By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing