We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and service”
Review of Toriciya

Toriciya
Ranked #6 of 29 Restaurants in Cammeray
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing food and service”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We have been going to Toriciya for a number of years now - since it first opened. The food is amazing, consistently so, and the service first class. As others have said, uncomfortable chairs, however the mood and decor is lovely. We have visited as a couple, with family and friends, and have never been disappointed. One of our favourite restaurants in Sydney.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mauiindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    10
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
555 reviews
395 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Great Japanese in sleepy Cammeray”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Very good Japanese food - the real deal - and reasonable prices. Nice atmosphere. Had a lunch plate that was really good - see photo.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LassiComeHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A cosy little place”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

This cosy little restaurant has got to be my favourite Japanese restaurant in Sydney.

While the seating may not be very comfortable but the deco and the great atmosphere certainly makes up for it.

Their special menu offers the freshest food on that day, uni (sea urchin), o-toro (fatty tuna belly sashimi) are amongst the best I have eaten in Sydney. If you are lucky, you may be able to order foie gras sushi.

The standard menu also offers great food, my favourite is a very simple dish - miso onigiri (miso rice ball). The big blob of miso on the onigiri may seem daunting but it I absolutely yumolicious.

However, I find their grilled (skewer) items to be very mediocre. So it's not a shame if you don't order them. (Just focus on the daily special and other great food on the menu)

Dessert is great too, the rice dumpling (with red bean filling) or the green tea brûlée.......

Overall, this is a the place to go with a couple of your best mates and have a great night.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Uncle_KenKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
123 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Lovely little local place”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Had dinner here in early May. Parking along the street across the road was pretty easy. A local place and very attentive to customers. They were all Japanese and they employed a local English speaking guy to serve and explain the dishes as well. All food made to order and good value for money. Shoould try the toro and sea urchin sashimi. Would visit again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mushroom12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Transported back to Japan”
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

This little gem of a restaurant with it's rather uncomfortable seats is so like many of the restaurants in Japan that you just have to like it immediately when entering the venue. Since today was my third visit to the Toriciya, I was again impressed with the excellent, smiling and friendly service we received and as always the food was outstanding and varied. We had a number of dishes we shared and each and every one was tasty and beautifully prepared. Their Sashimi was fresh, beautifully presented and one of the best I have eaten anywhere. They have my vote!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 31Extensivetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toriciya also viewed

Cammeray, North Sydney
Cammeray, North Sydney
 
Neutral Bay, North Sydney
 

Been to Toriciya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing