We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marvellous French cuisine with wonderful hospitality and good will” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Larousse Restaurant

Larousse Restaurant
Reserve with
Larousse Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Marvellous French cuisine with wonderful hospitality and good will”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a delightful family owned French restaurant a stone's throne from the Novotel and Botany Bay in the Brighton-le-Sands area of Sydney and a short taxi ride from Sydney's Kingsford-Smith International Airport. We have visited there on two occasions and both have been memorable for the genuine kindness shown to each member of our family and for the wonderful French cuisine. The escargots were a first time treat for our ten year old son, who had been longing to try them for ages. I enjoyed the filet mignon and my wife enjoyed the duck a l'orange. You can get a great meal for four for under AUD200.00, which I think is excellent value for money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DRH000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    33
    11
    14
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Local French eatery hidden in Brighton”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Not as good as when I was there last year.
Menu really unchanged but certainly not
The same as before
Service could be friendlier

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Why did I wait so long to visit?!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Been living in the area for 15 years, but dont eat out in Brighton as our friends all live far and wide. My wife and I have often talked about dining at Larousse, so last night when we were both home early we decided to go. Both are very glad we did. Food was hot, fresh and super tasty. I had the garlic prawns and duck ( both great ), my wife had the 2 course mon-thurs special menu which she really liked too. Generous servings so no room for dessert. We will definitely be back

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sanil k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Old Fashion Service and the food - Oooh la la.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We walked past this place on Friday night and it was packed! Took down phone number and booked for Sat night, got in by the skin of our teeth. Thank God. My advice just go but be quick because the locals have this place under wraps. Thank you for putting up with my partner's repartee.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“C'est magnifique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have eaten here a number of times over the last few months and never disappointed. Good food, friendly service and generous servings. You don't leave hungry. Highly recommended

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ricardopauly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Larousse Restaurant also viewed

Brighton le Sands, Rockdale
Brighton le Sands, Rockdale
 
Brighton le Sands, Rockdale
Brighton le Sands, Rockdale
 
Brighton le Sands, Rockdale
Brighton le Sands, Rockdale
 

Been to Larousse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing