We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I had a very bad experience.
1. I arrived needing to borrow both scissors and a clothes brush for a few minutes; I was told neither could be provided. How can a 4 star hotel not have a clothes brush on the premises?
2. I got woken up the first night with an early morning wake up call at 430 am. I had NOT ordered this.
3. I tried 2-3 times per day to use the free PCs in the lobby. Only once was I able to get an Internet connection.
4. The room the conference lectures was held in was so cold my feet were like ice by the end of the first session. Others felt equally cold. It took to the third day to get the room temperature right. This greatly affected my enjoyment of the conference.
5. Three days after I returned home my credit card was billed $39, apparently for minibar items consumed. However I used NOTHING from the minibar.

This hotel is sadly lacking for a supposedly 4-star hotel. It is over-priced for what it offers and I would not stay there again. On a positive note, the lunches at the conference were exceptionally good - excellent choice of good quality food. Also the bed was very comfortable (but did not have an electric blanket which I needed to warm up my cold feet).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kjm33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsbb, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment. I am sorry that we did not exceed your expectations on this occasion. I have spoken to the executive housekeeper to ensure that we do have clothes brushes available should any guest require one. We have also checked that the temperature control in the main conference room is working correctly.
Thank you for your kind words about our conference food which I have shared with the kitchen team. We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel for another conference & you will see an improvement in our service.
Regards
Alan Burrows
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,901)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,009 - 1,015 of 1,901 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stopped here overnight from Perth To Dallas.
Very close to Domestic And International Terminals.$20 taxi ride.
Great surrounding Restaurants and a Coles.
Big separate rooms for kids with a sofa bed.
Can't go wrong!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Our_USA_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank LexusPa
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
nsbb, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Bez490
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
nsbb, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Given the cost of these rooms ($300 p/n) I would have expected a better quality room however I was disappointed. There was mold in the bathrooms, the wallpaper was peeling off from the walls. I wanted to watch a video from my media player but was informed that the TV options was locked however for an extra fee I could watch one of the movies supplied. The view from the room was nice however sound proofing would provide a better sleep.
The service provided by the staff was excellent however this does not change the fact that the hotel where I stayed was very very ordinary.
I would recommend that you avoid this place and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Oscmim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsbb, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectation. We were pleased to hear however that you found our staff excellent. I have shared your comments about the general cleaning & maintenance with the relevant departments for their attention.
Regards
Alan Burrows
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed here for a 2 day conference and if I had it my way, I would have stayed elsewhere. Upon arrival, I had trouble managing my bags and was not offered any assistance with taking my luggage to my room. I then entered my room and found the decor to be very outdated and considering that it was $229 a night, I expected much more. Finally, I ordered room service and the order was stuffed up. Additionally, when the correct meal came, the food was of very poor quality and consisted of premade, not freshly made food.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zomp416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsbb, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments. Your feedback about your room service meal has been shared with the food & beverage manager for his attention. I am sorry that we did not provide our usual standard on this occasion. I have also asked the front office manager to investigate the lack of assistance with luggage.
Regards
Alan Burrows
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The rooms furniture is dating and could do with updating but overall value for money, the food was excellent. Service was very good. Would definitely stay again. Location is ideal, across from the water.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Bax5527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighton le Sands
1.8 mi away
Mercure Sydney International Airport
1.8 mi away
Quality Hotel CKS Sydney Airport
2.9 mi away
Pullman Sydney Airport
Pullman Sydney Airport
#2 of 12 in Mascot
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Metro Hotel Miranda
Metro Hotel Miranda
#1 of 1 in Miranda
366 reviews
2.6 mi away
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
1.8 mi away
Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach

Address: Cnr. The Grand Parade and Princess Street, Brighton le Sands, Rockdale, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Rockdale > Brighton le Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brighton le Sands
Price Range: $149 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach is a 4 star hotel situated opposite Brighton Beach in Sydney. With sweeping views across Botany Bay, this hotel is conveniently located only 15 km from the city centre and 5 minutes from the airport. Perfect for businesstrips and holidays, all 296 rooms boast private balconies. The hotel features a bar and restaurant, plus 11 meeting rooms accommodating up to 500 delegates. Leisure facilities include a swimming pool, fitness centre, spa and steam room.Novotel Brighton Beach offers a variety of facilities including landscaped *outdoor swimming pool, indoor pool, steam room, large modern gymnasium, restaurant and bar, Day Spa and Health Centre and 11 versatile function rooms with an experienced conference and events team to facilitate your next function. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach Hotel Brighton Le Sands
Novotel Brighton Le Sands
Accor Brighton Le Sands
Sydney Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing