We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tired, needs upgrade and needs to lift standards to become proper member of Novotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I had an overnight stay here courtesy of a company. Location close to Sydney airport and on the beach, so a bit nicer than the Sydney airport hotels.
Welcoming reception area but quite small, cramped lifts to rooms.
Rooms spacious with antechamber/living area, balcony window facing north to see Sydney airport and bay.
Bathroom had mould growing on ceiling over shower, fan insufficient to keep aerated. Modern looking flat screen TV but no HDMI ports (USB only). Parts of wallpaper peeling off. Bed large & comfortable.
Surprised that I had no benefits here despite being an Accor A/club member, this hotel is supposedly "independent" from Novotel chain despite its name - go figure that one. Both hotel staff and Accor help telephone line confirmed this strange arrangement.
Large breakfast served that should satisfy most despite the price.
Nice outdoor pool (about 15 m long) for swimmers like me, even if a little cold for this time of the year. Also had indoor pool but did not try it out.

I wouldn't stay here if holidaying in Sydney, too far away from city and no nearby train station. Most guests staying when I was there seemed to be Japanese tourists. As in title, this hotel needs to be refurbished to bring it into lone with its Novotel name.

Room Tip: most rooms have sea views if facing north, but not sure how to ensure you get a good room with a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fabsnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsbb, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment. We have shared your feedback about the room with the team. Whilst the hotel does support the Advantage Plus membership we do not offer LeClub points due to an owners instruction. We hope this will be resolved soon. Please do not hesitate to ask for your preferred room style & view on check in. We will always try to satisfy these requests if we are able to. We hope we will get the chance to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Regards,

Alan Burrows
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,875)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,168 - 1,174 of 1,875 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pris84
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
nsbb, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

For the price that you pay to stay at this hotel, you would expect clean, bright and well serviced rooms. However the room was dirty with stains on the walls, the lighting was very dull and when the rooms were serviced, we were left with no towls. The location was great, close to restruants and easy to reach transport and the reception staff were very professional.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Br0wn-S-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsbb, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments. We were pleased to read that you found our reception staff & our location to your satisfaction. We have discussed the lapse in our usual cleaning standards with the housekeeping department to ensure that this error is isolated.

Regards,

Alan Burrows
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We are Accor Advantage Plus members of long standing and have used many Novatel, Mercure, and Sofitel hotels around the World and would say that the room that we were given in this hotel (#643) would have to be one of the lowest standard that we have experienced. The room is one claimed to be Spa Room. The spa is very old and dated like all of the furniture in this room. In the bedroom there is an old and out of date cupboard/wardrobe which used to hold an inbuilt TV. The TV has been removed but the cables are clearly visible. This cupboard is so deep that it almost impedes access to the left hand side of the bed. The best thing for it is to remove it and replace it with a modern sliding door cupboard. The carpet has seen better days a long time ago. The windows/sliding doors to the patio were so dirty that it was difficult to see through them when the afternoon sun shone on them. The patio was equally dirty with large spiderwebs attached to the concrete. A walk around the pool BBQ area show a poorly maintained area with many broken tiles and a bar area that has been left in the weather so long that the bar has split open and looks disgusting. I would recommend that the Manager start systematically sleeping in some of these room and get to see what guests have to accept as the privilege for paying what I consider to be relatively high room prices. Rated 3 star at best.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsbb, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We do discuss funding requirements for refurbishment with our owners & we will share your views with them. We have begun upgrading of the equipment with items such as new televisions but this has resulted in wall mounting the televisions until the wardrobes are replaced.

Regards,

Alan Burrows
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We travelled with another couple, coming to Sydney for a family function. We booked two rooms 3 months in advance. When we arrived, one of our rooms wasn't available and we were upgraded to a suite.The staff at the reception and all the hotel employees we came in contact with were very welcoming and polite.
The bedroom in the suite was spacious, clean and had a balcony facing the bay. The beds were comfortable and the bedding nice quality. The bathroom, although well equipped, could be cleaned better: we found a used cake of soap in the shower left by a previous occupant of this room. We requested bedding for the sofa bed; sheets and blankets were brought in, but not pillows. The staff didn't offer to make up the sofa bed for us. At night there was quite a bit of noise coming from the street; even with the balcony door shut and the air con on we could hear some thumping party music from a venue down the block, but thankfully the noise died down by 11:30pm.
The service at the bar was very slow. It took about 45 minutes to serve us - 3 cocktails and a couple of glasses of beer/wine. There were no other customers at the bar when we ordered. We dined at the Baygarden restaurant and it was the low point of our stay. The restaurant was understaffed for the number of people they catered to. We ordered a la carte and courses were not brought together - some people at our table had finished our mains while others were still waiting for theirs. There were long waits between courses and the dishes weren't cleared promptly.
Breakfast was nice, the buffet selection ample and fresh fruit plentiful, but scrambled eggs tasted powdery.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay, but we stayed at this hotel a few years ago and standards were much higher then. Next time we will go to the Mariott, where we had a much better experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NebulousNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsbb, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Please accept my apologies that some aspects of your stay were below expectation. We were pleased to read that you found the room& breakfast to your satisfaction. Please accept my apologies for a couple of other issues. We have followed up with the staff member about the room cleaning & will be monitoring their performance in the short term. We have also discussed staff levels in the restaurant with the manager.

Regards,

Alan Burrows
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed in the Penthouse room on level 14 for two nights (one night complimentary upgraded) and it was great. Spacious rooms, clean and pretty bathroom. Service was generally tip-top and the staff were professional and very welcoming.

BUT: despite excitement and satisfaction from the Baygarden seafood buffet, within the hour I spent the night in the bathroom throwing up. Considering my fiance ate with me but we did not eat all the same food, I must have eaten something singularly off. We rate the service only at 2 because when we called the night audit for bucket of ice to settle my stomach, he actually forgot about it and we had to call again after waiting for half an hour. Not cool.

That said, the Hotel and Restaurant is really amazing for those looking for a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peaches007_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsbb, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that you felt unwell during your stay. We have taken this feedback very seriously & have investigated all facets of the operation. We did not receive any other comments from the night. We do have rigorous hygiene systems in place & we have conducted a review of these procedures.

Regards,

Alan Burrows
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olipat64
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighton le Sands
1.8 mi away
Quality Hotel CKS Sydney Airport
1.8 mi away
Mercure Sydney International Airport
2.6 mi away
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel
3.0 mi away
Meriton Suites Mascot Central
2.9 mi away
Pullman Sydney Airport
Pullman Sydney Airport
#2 of 12 in Mascot
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach

Address: Cnr. The Grand Parade and Princess Street, Brighton le Sands, Rockdale, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Rockdale > Brighton le Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brighton le Sands
Price Range: $150 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach is a 4 star hotel situated opposite Brighton Beach in Sydney. With sweeping views across Botany Bay, this hotel is conveniently located only 15 km from the city centre and 5 minutes from the airport. Perfect for businesstrips and holidays, all 296 rooms boast private balconies. The hotel features a bar and restaurant, plus 11 meeting rooms accommodating up to 500 delegates. Leisure facilities include a swimming pool, fitness centre, spa and steam room.Novotel Brighton Beach offers a variety of facilities including landscaped *outdoor swimming pool, indoor pool, steam room, large modern gymnasium, restaurant and bar, Day Spa and Health Centre and 11 versatile function rooms with an experienced conference and events team to facilitate your next function. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach Hotel Brighton Le Sands
Novotel Brighton Le Sands
Accor Brighton Le Sands
Sydney Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing