We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed opinions. ”

Maharaja's Lakeside Indian Restaurant
Reserve with
Maharaja's Lakeside Indian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mixed opinions. ”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Butter chicken was too sweet, beef vindaloo was not "spicy", rogan Josh was nice and punjab I prawn I liked but Mum hated it.

The platter for 2 was nice.

Tables wobbled...

Service was polite and wanted feedback negative or positive and genuinely listened to our concerns and I saw them advising chefs.

I will return as I feel they would improve in this dinner another time.

Thanks guys

Helpful?
Thank Damien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    19
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent location and ambiance”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Great ambiance and fantastic location. Awesome food. Cant comment on how expensive this restaurant is as it was paid by someone else. Overall it is a great restauran for all types of people.

Helpful?
Thank Arpan2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
290 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Authentic Indian in the suburbs”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Went with a group of friends, had one of the banquets good variety though the Vindaloo was Australianised (only medium heat) plenty of food you wont leave hungry

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food, average service”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We went to Maharaja Palace on a Sunday night. Even though the place was half empty and there were 3 people serving the customers, we were standing at the entrance for about 3 min before anyone paid any notice. And only after the owner (who was having a meeting with his accountant) came and greeted us, did we get a table.

The food is excellent but a bit pricey.

We ordered 2 plain naan and 2 garlic naan. They served us 1 garlic naan and 1 plain naan, but forgot about the remaining naans. Until we asked for the remaining naans, they had no clue that they made a mistake. They did apologize and quickly served the remaining naans.

I can see that all reviewers of this restaurant have commented about the deplorable service they have experienced in this restaurant. While it was not deplorable for us, we believe the service at this restaurant needs a lot of improvement, as demonstrated by all the comments regarding the below par service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rkibria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle NSW
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Indian”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Great service, good prices excellent food. One of the best indian restaurants I have been to and so handy to the hotel.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank jeddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maharaja's Lakeside Indian Restaurant also viewed

Baulkham Hills, The Hills Shire
Baulkham Hills, The Hills Shire
 
Baulkham Hills, The Hills Shire
Castle Hill, The Hills Shire
 

Been to Maharaja's Lakeside Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing