We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Sydney Norwest
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Baulkham Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Went for Brunch on Sunday booked a table for my baby shower . Food selection was excellent and surprisingly had food options for my wieght concious frineds. Staff was very helpful with getting our tables ready when 3 extra people turned up. Weather was beautiful and took a table with pool view.

Room Tip: Must Try brunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qandol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaNorwest, Director of Sales at Novotel Sydney Norwest, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Hello Qandol A,

Thank you very much for your review we really appreciate the fact that you have spent the time to provide this feedback.

Our Sunday brunch is getting really busy and love the fact you enjoyed your time at the hotel. Look forward to being able to see you here again soon. Look out for our Christmas specials coming

Regards,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    133
    66
    23
    14
See reviews for
47
98
25
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Went there for lunch had prawns and bruschetta for starters ,lamb and salmon for the main and pannacotta for desert ,food and service was outstanding ,very friendly and helpful staff.Would defiantly recommend to visit.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ranamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaNorwest, Director of Sales at Novotel Sydney Norwest, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Hello Ranamo,

Thank you very much for the review, glad to see our staff were friendly and you enjoyed your time here at the hotel.

Look forward to welcoming you back sooon.

Kind Regards,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Took 16 people to high tea for mothers day. The service was terrible with an elderly grandfather waiting over 1 hour for a cup of coffee and the kids waiting half an hour just for orange juice. There was no tea pots on table had to rely on jugs of hot water to go with teabags that you had to poor yourself. The price for what you got was horrendous, originally quoted $39pp but told $49 due to mothers day but the service and the food for this price was substandard. The greastest waste of time and money. This caused great embarresment to myself and my mother who also was giving this as a gift to my grandparents. Temmie Gollan

Room Tip: Do not use Crown Plaza for high tea or any special occasion
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaNorwest, Director of Sales at Novotel Sydney Norwest, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hello Temmie,

I apologise that the parameters which did not meet your approval at the hotel this Mother's Day I would like to discuss the events of the day from your side as we had alot of happy customers from our High Tea.

If you please contact myself at smm@crowneplazanorwest.com.au that would be much appreciated.

Kind Regards,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Honestly the general location has little to recommend it. If you need to stay out this way for business etc then this is probably as good as you will get. I can't understand why tourists would stay here though and there were plenty of them at breakfast.
The building is pleasant enough and with the huge parking lot its not boxed in. Upstairs room with a small balcony was nice enough. Room was large with all the usual fittings, bathroom clean and toiletries good.
Breakfast was good but nothing outstanding, though a bit pricey. Service was pleasant.
Charges for WiFi are steep - reflects that this is a business hotel where they think customers will pay the extras once committed to the hotel. WiFi should now be free in any hotel

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper level facing west
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiggerPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaNorwest, Director of Sales at Novotel Sydney Norwest, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thanks DiggerPerth,

We appreciate the time which was taken to advise of your stay at the
hotel. We value all feedback and really appreciate your kind words and insight into the property.

I hope that you are able to stay again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA, USA
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The initial impression of this property were underwhelming. Admittedly it was Good Friday, and the parking lot was pretty empty (hence low occupancy? and I did hear the receptionist telling a colleague that as all guests had checked in before 5pm, there was little to do) As a platinum member, there was NO recognition of status, or any amenities offered. When questioned on something as simple as a bottle of water, was told there were some in the mini bar - available at cost (and like all mini bars, you could buy case for this amount) Wi-Fi was free in the lobby but pay in the room (forget the exact price but either $25 or $30 per 24 hour period) And that makes no sense - anyone can walk in and sit in the lobby and use the service, but paying guests in their room are charged! Breakfast is a buffet at $25 or $30 (again did not use, so not exactly sure of price) But from the large number of tour buses using this hotel - I m sure that this is their primary target group, and as long as the tour opertor is happy, the hotel is happy. If you stay here, because it is convenient for a place you have to be, then I can recommend the Coffee Club which is on the other side of the round about, reasonable, good and convenient. The beds were softer than I like (but this is personal preference) so some may like it. The Seats in the room were 2 very hard upright desk chairs, which were extreemly uncomfortable to sit on. NO lounge chair, you had to go to the lobby if you wish to be comfortable and read. Mind you the lighting was poor and only from perimeter lamps, so reading was not easy. The space in the bathroom vanity was minimal.
The soundproofing and curtains in the room were excellent, and kept out light and traffic noise..
If you have to be in the area, then I guess this hotel is a consideration, but it certainly does not qualify as a Crown Plaza in my opinion - maybe just a holiday inn Express!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snoopy_lh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Sydney Norwest, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear snoopy_lh,

Thank you for being a Priority Club Rewards member and for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please allow me to apologize for issues you had with your room accommodations and Internet Access services fell below your expectations. We are also sorry you we are not able to honor your Priority Club perks. Your feedback are very valuable to us as this assists us in providing excellent services and facilities we have to offer. Rest assured, we have taken note and your comments will be forwarded to the departments involved to take actions accordingly and future improvements. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed one night in a standard room at the Crowne Plaza Norwest on business recently with several colleagues. One of our party had travelled by public transport and indicated that it was relatively easy to get there from the city by train to Westmead and then the T-Link to the hotel. The large carpark is all outdoors (i.e. not undercover), and down quite a few steps as the hotel is on a higher terrace. Both check in and check-out were smooth, easy and friendly. The rooms are large, although somewhat poorly lit - in the main part of the room the light was a bedside lamp rather than a ceiling light. The double glazing works very well - although my room was facing Windsor Road I could not hear any traffic. The bed was comfortable, and the curtains are thick enough to keep out the morning sun. The bathroom has a shower-bath, but I did not not particularly like the flow from the low flow shower rose. The in-room television includes both free to air and some pay-TV channels. While I did not use the in-room internet, the rates quoted indicated a minimum of one day.

We had the hot breakfast option, which included bacon (both American and English), Hash Browns, Chicken Sausages, Mushrooms, Tomato, Scrambled eggs and fried rice (which seemed more like fried noodles as there was no rice in it)! There is a wide range of fruits and yoghursts, and a coffee machine. A couple of little let downs at breakfast:
* Although there is a coffee machine there is no decaffinated option. When one of our party asked for a decaffinated coffee the wait staff made it using packet instant coffee (the same type which is in the rooms), and
* One of our party is on a gluten free diet, but there was no gluten free bread available at the toasting machine. When they asked the wait staff they were able to bring some gluten free bread, although there was quite a delay for it to be brought.

One other little let down was that the 2 lifts serving the rooms are very slow. I would hate to be checking in with a large party staying on different levels.

While I would be happy to stay at the Crowne Plaza Norwest again, to give a true four star service I think the little things above that we experienced at breakfast need to be addressed.

TC

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThinController
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaNorwest, Director of Sales at Novotel Sydney Norwest, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Hello ThinController,

Really appreciate your insight into the hotel and the services we can look at improving during your stays at the hotel. The hotel hopes to have you back in the future and hope that your comments can make a difference to the guest experience for everyone.

Kind Regards,
Ben Jamieson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

One of the most common place my work sends me to stay. Stayed here last Thursday. Not exactly posh or bland. Just meh~ Had their Wagyu beef in the restaurant. Asked for medium rare and got a well done.
Usually I would expect a little more from a 4 star hotel but this place I have to say is a bit secluded from everywhere else. Tourists come through here to get to the blue mountains. Unless you are here at the Norwest business park for business, I wouldn't be here at all.

To be fair, the rooms are quite nice with the Crowne standard. It is clean and well equipped with almost anything you can think of + some extras like if you forget your toiletries, they will provide you with razor or toothbrush. It's a good place for businessmen to stay overnight.

Now for my standard Pros and Cons.

Pros:
- Nice comfortable not too hard bed. Great for a good night's rest.
- Great bathroom and hot water pressures.
- Gym is not too shabby cos nobody uses it.
- Swimming pool is for show.
- Free Shuttle service to business around Norwest in the morning.
- Great service from staff. (It has not always been so. They must have fired those rude ones I encountered every time last year. The new young guys and gals are great and eager to please!)


Cons:
- Overpriced restaurant (my steak was overcooked!)
- Boring breakfast - the same at all Crowne. I am really getting sick of the same buffet menu everywhere in Australia.
- Overpriced internet
- For the price you pay, I would rather live at a 3 star hotel for more days closer to Sydney if I wanted a holiday.
- So far from the airport. Around 1:30 hrs to get to airport. Taxi fare will cost one way is around $170.
- Walking distance to... absolutely nowhere. The shopping centres here are mainly for business people and occasional residents living at the business park.

Room Tip: Choose a room closer to the bottom floor. You might get your the lift faster. The lift is super slow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasper H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Sydney Norwest, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Jasper H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. I am glad to read you enjoyed the room accommodations and had a pleasant experience with our great staff. However. I am deeply sorry to read that our breakfast selections, location and rates encountered were not up to your expectations. Your opinion is very important to us, as it helps us identify areas in need of improvement. Rest assured that your comments have been documented and will certainly be looked into.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baulkham Hills
Adina Apartment Hotel Norwest
#1 of 2 in Baulkham Hills
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PARKROYAL Parramatta
#4 of 12 in Parramatta
872 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney Norwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney Norwest

Property: Novotel Sydney Norwest
Address: 1 Columbia Ct, Baulkham Hills, The Hills Shire, New South Wales 2153, Australia (Formerly Crowne Plaza Norwest Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > The Hills Shire > Baulkham Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Baulkham Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sydney Norwest 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the fastest growing business community in Sydney, and only 40 minutes from the Sydney CBD and only 15 minutes from Parramatta, Novotel Sydney Norwest offers you the best of both worlds. With the peace and tranquility of landscaped gardens and beautiful outdoor settings, coupled with our understanding of the needs of today's businesses, Novotel Sydney Norwest offers the perfect balance for corporate business and leisure travellers. Offering 132 superbly appointed rooms including Executive Spa rooms and Balcony King rooms. All rooms featuring king sized beds, tea & coffee making facilities, work desk, high speed internet access, in-room safe, ironing facilities, and cable television with pay per view movie. Hotel facilities include outdoor lap swimming pool, gym, restaurant and bar as well as conferencing facilities catering for up to 300 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Sydney Norwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Norwest Sydney Hotel Baulkham Hills
Crowne Plaza Baulkham Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing