We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Sydney Norwest
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Baulkham Hills
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overnight stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

A La Carte overpriced, food undercooked, the duck breast, $34.00, came with a poached pear and no vegetables. My wife's rack of lamb $38.00, was almost raw and came with mashed potatoes. Buffet breakfast ridiculous, cost almost the same as dinner the night before. $30.00 a head. I had a small bowl of meusli with a spoonful of youghurt and a glass of tomato juice and my wife had a glass of orange juice, scrambled eggs on toast and a cup of coffee.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lionel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Sydney Norwest, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Lionel T,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are constantly looking for ways to improve our service. We apologize for falling below your expectations with the food served. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We all hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    129
    64
    23
    14
See reviews for
45
93
25
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Recently stayed at the Crown Plaza Norwest for a Christmas shopping trip. On arrival at reception book in was quick and friendly. We booked a king balcony room which was just perfect. The room was fresh modern and clean. For dinner we booked into the hotel restaurant. Service was good and food great. A good selection and child friendly.
Breakfast next morning was the same just perfect. No complaints very friendly and nothing a problem to staff. Book out time is 11am at the Crown Plaza.
I have stayed at this location before and found it the same. a good quality friendly hotel. there is a coffee club across the road and also a shopping centre a couple of minutes away. You are also very close to Castle Hill and major shopping centres, which was great for our intended stay.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are on the car park side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Algrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaNorwest, Director of Sales at Novotel Sydney Norwest, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Hello Allan,

A pleaseure to read over your review and great to hear that we continiue to leave a great impression for your stay.

We are looking to more further into the country shopping market, do your feel people are still open to doing the 5 hour drive from Forbes/Dubbo to get good shopping done.

Is there anything which we could do better to look after your friends and families shpooing needs in the future?

Please feel free to contact myself at smm@crowneplazanorwest.com.au when you are next in town.

Kind Regards,
Ben Jamieson
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
465 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed here for one night, rooms are very spacious. They seem empty with the basic furniture, bed, desk, small table, two chairs. Perhaps some more furnishings would make the room seem more comfortable. The hotel has a nice outdoor pool and small gymnasium. Breakfast at the restaurant was mediocre, at best. Inadequate range of cereal, hot food buffet was nearly empty, and not replenished in the 30 minutes I had breakfast. Coffee is from self serve machines - bland and tasteless. While this hotel is branded as a Crowne Plaza, it doesn't feel like a Crowne Plaza. It has the feel of one of the big American chains, that always seem to be situated on the edge of a Freeway and Strip Mall. Perhaps I will stick with the Intercontinental in Sydney next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigRuss1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaNorwest, Director of Sales at Novotel Sydney Norwest, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Hello Big Russ,

Thank you very much for your honest assessment of the hotel. I have forwarded the review onto the Food and Beverage team I would hope that we would be able to replenish the buffet quicker than you saw.

We are looking to make this a better experience in the future by adding A La Carte breakfast options to the menu and hope this looks after everyones needs in the future reducing the pressure on the buffet of large groups. Should you wish to discuss anything further I would be more than happy chat via email please contact myself on smm@crowneplazanorwest.com.au .

Kind Regards,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Lovely place to stay it is a a hidden jewel in the west .the rooms are nice and well maintained .the food in the whispers restaurant is very delicious and we thought it was one of the best culinary experience that we had after a long time .the service was great too the young man who served us was very professional and polite unfortunately we could not get his name .the lobby looked great .the only suggestion that we have is to have a proper business centre with some privicy

Room Tip: Higher floor is well look after with no smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaNorwest, Director of Sales at Novotel Sydney Norwest, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Morning Michael,

Thank you very much for your review of a great stay you had at the hotel. We are looking to make everyone's stay at the hotel respectful and comfortable.

I appreciate the time you put aside to give a positive review of the hotel and look forward to the opportunity to have you back at the hotel in the future.

Respect you comment about the business centre and hope you were able to enjoy the complimentary WiFi Network on the ground floor.

Kind Regards,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I'm currently staying here, as my employer has a corporate arrangement with this hotel.

I have stayed here a couple of times, and have consistently found the staff to be very helpful, and the rooms quite comfortable - especially a great quality of sleep in their beds.

However, the quality of their restaurant is deplorable. I had room service provide dinner on my first night, and couldn't eat half of it. Further, when I entered the restaurant for breakfast the following morning was asked to fill in a form before entering - nominating whether I wanted a full breakfast or continental. Luckily for me I said that I first wanted to check out what was available. I found the choice available very poor, and what was available looked as if it had been recycled for a week. Also found one dish with a dried stain (possibly soup) - which was the last straw for me.

Disgusted I decided to visit the Coffee Club right across the road, and gladly spent $25 on eggs benedict with smoken salmon and a large mocha. Good service, and a clean restaurant.

If you only need a room, and aren't planning to eat here go for it. If you're looking for a meal, find somewhere else to go!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaNorwest, Director of Sales at Novotel Sydney Norwest, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Hello Dean,

I am sorry for your dining experience at the hotel and recent comments like yours have facilitated a review of the food and beverage experience of all of our travellers. Would you mind letting me know which company you are travelling with.

You would also be happy to know that we are now offering an A La Carte breakfast option for the hotel which is proving popular.

I will keep all correspondence confidential if you wish you can contact myself further re these matters on smm@crowneplazanorwest.com.au .

Kind Regards,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We had a great time we stayed two nights at this hotel and overall we had a quality stay. The food was very delicious and the presentation was lovely. We had dinner our steak was coked to our liking and the accompaniments were very tasty. The restaurant staff were very friendly and looked after us. The rooms were lovely with nice view to the pool side.

Room Tip: Must try the whispers restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johns S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaNorwest, Director of Sales at Novotel Sydney Norwest, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Hello John,

Thank you for your fantastic review of the hotel I am very happy to see that everything at the hotel was to your liking. We apperciate the time you have taken to spend time on the Trip Advisor site to help give a perspective to all future travellers.

Regards,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Rooms are OK, had a balcony room which was a good decision, room & bathroom OK but nothing special. Bathroom gets steamed up because you are asked to keep the door closed to stop the fire alarm going off!!
Reception staff were good & helpful but the dining room (we had dinner & breakfast) was very poor - food below average, staff disinterested, very pedestrian experience, won't eat here ever again. Need a car however as no other restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaNorwest, Director of Sales at Novotel Sydney Norwest, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Hello Itburns,

Thank you for your review of the hotel and your constructive feedback. Was there any specific parameters of the hotel service which you found glaringly alarming?

We continually strive to better our product and would appreciate an email to ellaborate further on your experience at the hotel.

If you have time please contact myself on smm@crowneplazanorwest.com.au it would be much appreciated.

Kind Regards,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baulkham Hills
0.3 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Norwest
Adina Apartment Hotel Norwest
#1 of 2 in Baulkham Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge
5.9 mi away
PARKROYAL Parramatta
PARKROYAL Parramatta
#3 of 11 in Parramatta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Blacktown
7.9 mi away
Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill
Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill
#1 of 1 in Rooty Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
5.8 mi away
Novotel Sydney Parramatta
Novotel Sydney Parramatta
#8 of 11 in Parramatta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sydney Norwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney Norwest

Property: Novotel Sydney Norwest
Address: 1 Columbia Court, Baulkham Hills, The Hills Shire, New South Wales 2153, Australia (Formerly Crowne Plaza Norwest Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > The Hills Shire > Baulkham Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Baulkham Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sydney Norwest 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the fastest growing business community in Sydney, and only 40 minutes from the Sydney CBD and only 15 minutes from Parramatta, Novotel Sydney Norwest offers you the best of both worlds. With the peace and tranquility of landscaped gardens and beautiful outdoor settings, coupled with our understanding of the needs of today's businesses, Novotel Sydney Norwest offers the perfect balance for corporate business and leisure travellers. Offering 132 superbly appointed rooms including Executive Spa rooms and Balcony King rooms. All rooms featuring king sized beds, tea & coffee making facilities, work desk, high speed internet access, in-room safe, ironing facilities, and cable television with pay per view movie. Hotel facilities include outdoor lap swimming pool, gym, restaurant and bar as well as conferencing facilities catering for up to 300 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, ACCOR, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Sydney Norwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Norwest Sydney Hotel Baulkham Hills
Crowne Plaza Baulkham Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing