We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place in Balmain”

Our Place on Darling
Ranked #4 of 127 Restaurants in Balmain
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $24
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Balmain
australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“great place in Balmain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

We ate here a week ago and were very impressed. We were taken by some local who love the place and we were warmy welcomed. The staff were attentive, friendly and had that special way of ensuring guests feel special. The menu was interesting and we all chose beautiful meals. All well seasoned and plentiful. Certainly deserves the reviews it gets and we would definitely return when next visiting.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank helsie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    45
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place to eat with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

We have eaten here on many occasions and every time the food is exquisite and the service wonderful. The menu changes regularly and it's also a BYO. If you are in Balmain try this place you won't regret it

Helpful?
Thank LPandHowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What an experience...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

I had such a bad day at work but this dinner changed everything. What a treat. That hanging steak was the best thing I had in a long time. Thanks!

Helpful?
Thank V4LV3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Bustling restaurant serving fantastic food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Attended 'Our Place' for dinner on a Saturday night.

Food was delicious! Stands out where:

The scallops with black pudding, Pork Belly (beautiful crackling!). I loved the dessert! We had the honeycomb cheese cake with lemon curd. The cheese cake was full of flavour and light like mousse. Also loved the presentation of the cappuccino semi freddo.... it was served in a coffee cup with saucer to look exactly like a cappuccino! It satisfied my dessert and coffee craving in one hit!

The only thing to note is that the food may take a while to come out when it is busy. We arrived at 7:30pm and by 8:30pm we had only finished our entrees. By the time we finished dessert it was 9:30pm.

The place is also 'bustling' and bursting with action, so don't expect a quiet one. We were sitting on the inside and I sat against the wall while my husband sat opposite me where there was a lot of through fare. We ended up dragging the table and his chair closer to me as every person walking past was brushing or hitting against him.

All in all a good night - a great place to dine with mates.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“delicious food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

fantastic little cozy restaurant in Balmain, great service! Food was sooo yuuummm! definitely coming back! honestly we had 5 different meals and I can't fault any of them, oh and also - wine selection was top of the range! we had a child with us - he was entertained with a kids pack and free ice cream once he finished his meal :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Our Place on Darling also viewed

 

Been to Our Place on Darling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing