We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, lovely relaxing ambiance, staff very welcoming.”

Our Place on Darling
Ranked #3 of 131 Restaurants in Balmain
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $24
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Balmain
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, lovely relaxing ambiance, staff very welcoming.”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Myself and 2 friends came here for dinner at 8pm on a busy Friday night, with no reservation and managed to grab a table pretty much immediately (a couple had just left). Staff were prompt and cleaned the table immediately, got an extra chair and gave us the menus. We got a bottle of wine, and 3 courses each. We had to wait a while for our mains as it was so busy, as such they weren't very hot, but everything tasted delicious. The honeycomb cheesecake for dessert was devine!! We will definitely be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RedlovesRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    47
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great service and terrific meal”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This restaurant is a terrific find. We sat outside and ate the most beautifully cooked fish with fresh beautifully prepared vegetables and our dog sat beside us and was welcomed by staff with a bowl of water. A great experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 255060Lovetotravel56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Delicious food and fabulous service”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had dinner here last night (a Sunday) and the food and service were fabulous. All of the food was so fresh and homemade, presented beautifully. We had the stuffed zucchini flowers to start, which was a healthy portion so I was glad we shared. Main course I had the lamb with lentils, which was incredibly tasty and cooked perfectly (pink lamb, really tender). For dessert we shared the frozen cappuccino with churros... again delicious. Wines were also good, pleased there was Hunter Valley Little Wine Co. on offer (great verdelho) and various other good vineyards and ales. Great find!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BritishMigratoryBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great friendly dining”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is a fantastic place to dine inside or out.
The regular menu is extensive and great value , and the speciality nights are really a dining experience the tapas night is fun and excellent in every way.

Congratulations on your service and yummy food , and no we are not locals in balmain and are happy to travel to this favorite restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good quality every time”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

A great place for a nice dinner on a yummy brunch in Balmain. Our Place is one of my regular visits!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jase W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Our Place on Darling also viewed

 

Been to Our Place on Darling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing