We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The heart of Balmain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Berlin

Cafe Berlin
Ranked #36 of 120 Restaurants in Balmain
Price range: $13 - $17
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Balmain
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The heart of Balmain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great location - right in the middle of Darling Street, great atmosphere. Good coffee and tasty pastries/cakes

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    16
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
89 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Give up on the diet and enjoy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

OMG the carrot cake is amazing and what do I do have iced coffee. Now I am sugared out, but well with it. Sit out side and face the street, look up and enjoy the beautiful architecture before you.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Colm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star707, Sydney
Level Contributor
419 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 776 helpful votes
“Tight Squeeze”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

There are too many restaurants and coffee shops in Balmain that offer good fare and coffee with enough space to move, for this Cafe to compete. It is best to buy take away coffee and a choose a lovely cake and go sit in the nearby park under a tree.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Star707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glaziers Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Don't pass by.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012 via mobile

You could be forgiven if you walked straight past this cafe. It's small, unassuming front makes it blend in with all the other cafe's, And it's only when you venture inside and try the food you realize why it's different.
I could review it, but it's best if you try it yourself.

Helpful?
1 Thank Longine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4,149 reviews
2,350 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,656 helpful votes
“Good basic German food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

I've been here many times over the years but moreso when I just needed a break from fine dining or fusion food.
It is not great food but ceratinly you know you are eating German food.
I have not had breakfast here as many of the readers obviously have but I too can swear by the desserts - love the strudels.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Berlin also viewed

 
Balmain, Sydney
 

Been to Cafe Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing