We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from home...welcoming neighborhood...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Newly updated Master room Master room closet
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Newly updated Master room
Master room closet
Master room
Second room, light and airy
Ready for your stay
Master room
Interior designer designed kitchen
View from Master room to the front of the apartment
Rainbow lorikeets/parrots, frequent visitors
Living room baths in sunlight
Dining room
View from Living room to Master room
Open plan kitchen
Australian marble kitchen countertop
Four sets of towels
Four pillows per bed
Quality brandname bed linens
Balcony, side view to North Sydney
Visiting cockatoo/Native Australian white parrot
Four sets of towels
Bathroom: newly renovated - crisp and clean
Plants throughout the apartment
Night view of North Sydney from the balcony
Famous Darling St, one block away
Darling St - boutique shops, cafes, restaurants, pubs.
Heritage protected terrace houses, in the neighborhood
Balmain Wharf, nearby. 5-10mins walking
Perfect way to see Sydney - on the ferry
Nearby Mort Bay Park, 10mins walking
Balmain, with the City/Downtown behind
View of Sydney Harbor. One block down, 5 mins walking
Park and playground for kids, with water view. 5-10mins walking
Ballast Point, 10mins walking
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Balmain, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
WorldTrav...
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Home away from home...welcoming neighborhood, great flat”
Reviewed March 10, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Three of us stayed in Jen’s AMAZING apartment the last week of February. Let me start out by saying that the Balmain neighborhood is a really great base for exploring Sydney. It is a wonderfully charming and friendly neighborhood with a grocery store, butcher, pharmacy, bank, bars, cafes, shopping and transportation literally steps from the front door. It is a 5 minute walk to the ferry which takes you straight to Circular Quay in less than 10 minutes, or you could walk 5 minutes up to Darling Street and catch the bus into the city, which is also a very short trip. We all felt the neighborhood was very welcoming and every person we encountered was friendly and interested in chatting with us. The architecture is fantastic, with lots of heritage homes and great pubs. There is a good mix of people living here, with a park and a couple of schools nearby, so streets and sidewalks were always bustling with activity. The vibe was great and we felt right at home.
Jen’s apartment is spacious, bright and airy, with large windows that open in all rooms. The apartment is large enough to accommodate 4 adults very comfortably. The bedrooms are both good size with comfortable beds and pillows, and plenty of room to store your stuff. Sheets, blankets and pillows are provided. The bathroom is large and well-ventilated, with good light and great water pressure. All towels and washcloths are provided. The living/dining area is large, open and comfy with a large sofa and a large dining table to gather around for breakfast or evening meals. The kitchen is bright and well-equipped. There is a full-size refrigerator, a four burner cooktop, an oven, a microwave, a toaster and an electric kettle. Utensils, dishes, pots and pans, dish towels and dish soap are provided. There is also a countertop bin for composting all organic matter, which is part of the neighborhood recycling effort. We were impressed with how seriously this neighborhood takes recycling and composting. We were able to achieve zero landfill waste while staying here. A major bonus was the washing machine. I did laundry during our stay and used the large drying rack to hang our clothes dry, with no issues. Laundry soap is provided, as well as an iron and ironing board. The apartment does have two portable air conditioning units which we used in the bedrooms at night, since it was warm during our stay. They cooled both bedrooms to the point where we needed to use the duvets on the beds….so we slept soundly and comfortably. Jen’s apartment also has a small outdoor balcony where you can either sit and enjoy a cocktail amongst the greenery, or discreetly dry your laundry behind the brick wall. Be advised that this is a residential neighborhood and it is quiet on this street. We conducted our conversations indoors to avoid disturbing the neighbors. And the neighbors were all lovely to us. We saw them almost every day during our stay and chatted with them.
There is Wi-Fi in the apartment and the signal is strong. There is also a flat screen TV with a good selection of channels to watch. The apartment is on the top floor and you must walk up four flights of stairs to reach it. There was a free parking space available to us during our stay and we used it for two days while we had a rental car, but I’m not certain if it’s always available, so please ask Jen.
As for Jen, she’s an awesome hostess and a lovely person. She was at the apartment when we arrived, offered to help carry our bags up, and sat down with us to tell us about the neighborhood and map out where everything was. She made herself available if we needed anything during our stay. Before the trip she answered all of my questions promptly by email and sent me a list of bars, cafes and restaurants in the area upon my request. We could not have been more pleased with how everything was handled. We made a new friend in Jen, and her kind hospitality (and that of everyone we encountered in Sydney) makes us want to come back to Australia soon. I highly recommend a stay in Balmain and in Jen’s amazing flat. Thanks again Jen! I hope to visit you again in the near future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 12, 2017
Dawn, it was a pleasure to have you at the apartment! I'm so glad to hear you ended up loving Sydney as much as I do, and you have enjoyed your stay at the apartment. Please, do com back again. We would love to host you again any day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarynP101
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“"Home Away From Home"”
Reviewed October 9, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Felt very welcomed and appreciated having vital information on hand regarding maps, relevant websites and useful local public transport information. Great location and so nice to be in quiet surroundings.Kitchen, bathroom, laundry all very functional.Handy to shops, a nice walking distance of approx 10 minutes or less to get groceries.Lovely to receive follow-up emails from Jen during our stay, ensuring we were finding everything to our satisfaction.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet Surroundings
Liked least: Stair access
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2016
Thanks Karyn, it was lovely to have you over at the apartment. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Sydney!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poppy N
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely appartment”
Reviewed September 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Great apartment so near to the shops and ferry terminal.
We were greeted by our host and shown everything we needed to know, the apartment was very clean and well equipped.
We had a lovely 5 day stay.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2016
It was lovely to have you at the apartment! We hope to see you again in the very near future!
Jen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn G
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable and excellent location”
Reviewed June 21, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed staying in this apartment. It was clean and comfortable with all requirements for a happy stay. Thank you to owner, Jen for your welcome and ease of communication . Apartment is in a great location with very quick access to public transport and pleasant travelling to the city. Made our trip to "Vivid " easy to enjoy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Quiet and very convenient location
Liked least: Need to be able to manage stairs as no lift available.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 22, 2016
Robyn,
It was an absolute pleasure to host you. We hope to welcome you back in the very near future! Cheers, Jen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwbirch
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for us”
Reviewed April 19, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay. Jen was a welcoming and very helpful host, happy to help with any questions. The location was excellent for us, a short walk and ferry ride to the city but away from the hustle and bustle. We really enjoyed the local park with views of the water, city and bridge; so relaxing. The apartment was perfect for us, with everything we needed. It was particularly nice that their were some toys, which our 16 month old could play with. Thank you for our stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajiv0917
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Feel at home”
Reviewed November 22, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
4
people found this review helpful

This rental is well connected yet offers you complete privacy. Frequent buses to city centre, however I am sure if you stay there the best connection is ferry which takes you to circular quay in a jiffy offering you magnificent view of bridge and the famous Opera House. I would say Jen (the owner) is very kind and generous. Her well appointed apartment will make you feel at home. The only drawback is it is at top floor so elderly people, especially with luggage may find it difficult to climb.
Good luck Jen, you are unlike most other rental owners.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness and fragrant linen
Liked least: top floor
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travel668...
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2016
It was great to have you and your friends staying with us. I'm glad you had a wonderful time in Sydney. We hope to see you again soon! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing